RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's your opinion on this?(31 posts)

What's your opinion on this?ridenaz
Jul 25, 2003 7:16 AM
What do you guys think about this jersey? I think it's cool, but I wouldn't buy it if the rest of the club would think that I'm wearing a jersey with the gay pride rainbow flag on it, instead of the world champ colors. What do you think?
right now, i think you're an idiot...The Human G-Nome
Jul 25, 2003 7:22 AM
... but since i don't know you from adam, i could easily change my mind.
Don't wear the rainbow unless you won it...TJeanloz
Jul 25, 2003 7:22 AM
Wearing a rainbow/stars&strips/yellow/polka dot/green/pink jersey an ultimate fashion faux pas. Most winners even feel wierd about wearing them around.
re: What's your opinion on this?Fred2000
Jul 25, 2003 7:28 AM
People who hate cyclists anyway will think you are gay (with or without the jersey). People who cycle will think you are a poser unless you look a lot like Mario, then you might fool them. But even if you look like Mario I think the first group may think even worse things about you.
Very bad form.OldEdScott
Jul 25, 2003 7:34 AM
But what the hell? If you like it, wear it. Everyone's looking down on you for various aspects of your bike/clothes anyway (that's what roadies DO) so what's one more faux pas?
i'd wear a replica WC jersey, but not that oneJS Haiku Shop
Jul 25, 2003 7:36 AM
and i wouldn't feel strange, 'til i got dropped, at which point it would be humorous and entertaining.

wear what you want. don't ask us.

btw i never considered "gay pride", but it wouldn't concern me, either. if you are genuinely concerned with portaying yourself as homosexual, you have bigger problems than what jersey to wear. no offense intended.

my take on "fashion" is, if you don't like what i'm wearing, then you shouldn't wear it. my response to critics is usually, "f@#$ you".
don't wear itDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 7:37 AM
My opinion is you don't wear it unless you are a former world champion.

Don't turn this thread into a gay bashing thread or it's gone (speaking as Moderator).

Doug
Sorry Doug. I posted before I read your reply nmDave Hickey
Jul 25, 2003 7:41 AM
Always pains me to agree, Doug, but thanks...cory
Jul 25, 2003 8:06 AM
I have to admit, though, that the gay aspect of the rainbow never occurred to me. Now I have to decide if I'm tolerant in an un-neoChristian way or just hopelessly out of touch....
I don't want to look gay.Poseur
Jul 25, 2003 1:27 PM
I don't care what men, gay or otherwise, think. I care what Da Honeyz think! If they interpret the rainbow jersey to mean I'm not "available," hearts will be broken and innocent young hotties will mourn. We don't want that do we?
like you have a chance anyway ;-) nmDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 1:28 PM
You're worried about looking gay?Dave Hickey
Jul 25, 2003 7:39 AM
You wear tight bright colored spandex. Trust me, 99% of the general public already thinks we're all gay...
If you like it, why care what anybody else thinks?CRM
Jul 25, 2003 7:59 AM
Blanket statementthatsmybush
Jul 25, 2003 8:10 AM
anyone who needs assurances on fashion awareness
from faceless "names"
on the internet is frikking clod.
Blanket statementposer
Jul 25, 2003 8:28 AM
as is anyone who names themselves after a retarded tv show
Blanket statementSpunout
Jul 25, 2003 8:33 AM
We're all dreaming Fred/Poseurs here. I suppose real cyclists wouldn't be caught dead here.
Worthy retort...thatsmybush
Jul 25, 2003 8:36 AM
Unless you are over six years old.
You're a homophobic twit.Alexx
Jul 25, 2003 8:52 AM
If you're so damn insecure with your sexuality, then don't wear it! In fact, maybe you should wear some of those baggy "long-shorts" so popular in urban areas.
BTW, the gay flag has 6 colors, not 5. Besides, nobody wants your booty that much, anyway
Hey Doug, what if it truns into HETERO bashing? nmOldEdScott
Jul 25, 2003 8:57 AM
No yellow, Polka Dot, Green or Wolrd Champ jersey's......BIG RING
Jul 25, 2003 9:10 AM
unless you won them. Any one of these jersey's should come with a sticker on back that read's, "I invite all of you to try to kick my ass on a bike." They imply that you think you are an excellent overall rider, climber or spinter. Everyone will try you on for size, unless you average 12 mph and are just waering them for the spirit of cycling. Just my opinion.
how about no bashing at all? nmDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 9:14 AM
lame very lamePack Meat
Jul 25, 2003 9:39 AM
I saw a group of 5 Fred's wearing that jersey at the Triple Bypass. I had a good laugh.

As for your unstable sexual identity, if you're not comfortable enough with your own manhood to wear this jersey then I'd say you probably shouldn't be wearing lycra either. Come on man, grow a pair. Are the people you ride with so uneducated in cycling and the alternative lifestyle culture that they would think that it's some sort of gay flag. Where do you live?
Wear what you like....t0adman
Jul 25, 2003 10:01 AM
If you like the look of the jersey, WHO CARES! So the elitist snobs think you're a Fred, or a poser, or gay. Do they know you? Do you know them? Do you care?! Remember why you ride your bike and try to have fun doing it. I've found that real cyclists don't act snobbish - they're confident in themselves and they're above that elitist crap. Just like real gangstas! (Damn it feels good to be a gangsta...sorry, couldn't help it). You like it, get it. Maybe you'll be world champ some day.
Wear it!Fredrico
Jul 25, 2003 10:29 AM
For any guy who can ride a bike 50 miles at a shot, climb mountains, or hang in a 30 mph paceline, why worry about wearing a rainbow jersey, or being taken as gay or possibly having a weird sexuality not necessarily based on an attraction to the opposite sex?

Generally, the good ole boys who get outraged at seeing a guy in lycra, are the same ones who hoot and holler at women similarly attired. They're generally overweight and out of shape, aren't getting the women, or leave their fat wives back at the trailer park while they're out male bonding.

Ironically, these guys love football, or wouldn't admit it if they didn't, a game in which muscular young men attired in shoulder pads and lycra tights, grab and tackle each other in mock 18th century battle formations. Gays go bonkers watching the players' tight butts moving in skin-tight lycra, jumping around in those cute little cleated running shoes.

No self respecting gay would assume a man wearing the rainbow colors is secretly putting out a signal that he's available.

Riders who wear team jerseys only seem to offend the most serious competitive types. I think forbidding wearing of the world championship rainbow colors is ridiculous, in any riding situation other than USCF sanctioned competitions. What's next, yellow jerseys? A great jersey is like a great bike: it'll inspire you to live up to its heritage and ride better.
The Rainbow Jersey (rant)mapei boy
Jul 25, 2003 11:07 AM
1. If you can purchase the rainbow jersey at a store; in other words if you don't have to steal it off a world champion's back in order to have one; it seems obvious that the folks who own the World Champion/Rainbow trademark are encouraging folks to wear the thing. Thus, there is no inherent shame or onus to donning the rainbow stripes whenever you desire.

2. It drives me nuts that only by winning one particular race (be that race a road race, time trial, track race or pursuit race), can a rider be officially declared World Champion. It seems ridiculous that a rider could theoretically win every single spring classic and every single major tour, but that he can't be called World Champion unless he wins one specific race. By making it so a World Champion is determined by the results of a single contest, it denigrates the entire concept of "World Champion."
yes, but Olympic Gold Medalist is pretty much the same nmDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 1:23 PM
re: What's your opinion on this?TheJoker
Jul 25, 2003 11:11 AM
I don't see why people on here think it's so offensive to wear it. It's not as though you're actually trying to pass yourself off as the world champ. It's just a nice jersey. My Sidis have little rainbows on; should I draw over them with a marker pen incase anyone sees?

tut!
re: What's your opinion on this?Trent in WA
Jul 25, 2003 11:14 AM
It's a pretty ugly jersey, methinks. If you're around people who know the significance of the WC rainbow stripes, the biker logo in the middle is redundant and stupid. Why not go all out and get the Domina Vacanze WC jersey?

Trent
Trust mejtolleson
Jul 25, 2003 12:03 PM
the colors are all wrong... there is no black in the pride flag, and the WC stripes lack the Pride Flag's signature purple. Anyone who knows enough about the pride flag to recognize it as a gay rights symbol won't confuse the two.
my suspicionDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 1:26 PM
While you are right on the money, as usual, I suspect the "fear" is of the rednecks confusing the two, assuming they are even clued in enough to know anything about it.

Doug
I think they know...t0adman
Jul 25, 2003 2:30 PM
There's a pretty substantial difference between the two "flags". The last thing I'd be worried about is whether it might be misconstrued and an indication of sexual preferance. My bike has the WC flags at the color transisitions and I've never once worried about it. I do live in a pretty aware city though. Personally, I'd go for the second jersey on this thread. Much cooler.