RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone named their bike?(42 posts)

Anyone named their bike?caniaitalia
Jul 25, 2003 6:09 AM
My girlfriend decided my Pinarello needed a name, so she calls it Catalina. I liked it so it's stuck. Anyone else?
sureDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 6:23 AM
The Old Bianchi
The EV2
The Milano
The Alloro
The Pista
The Tandem
The Stumpjumper

;-)

Guys don't do this, do they?

Doug
surecaniaitalia
Jul 25, 2003 7:30 AM
man u really are an a$$hole. i wasnt lookin to get flamed. why dont u go get layed or something you f@cking troll.
oh, come onDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 7:34 AM
You think that was a *flame*? While maybe a very weak attempt at humor, absolute no ill intent meant. Besides, you asked the question, and I answered truthfully.

Compare your reply to mine, and I think we can see who really got up on the wrong side of the bed this morning.

Lighten up, Francis. ;-)

Doug
oh, come oncaniaitalia
Jul 25, 2003 7:46 AM
ok
Lighten up Francis - nice, one of may favorites!t0adman
Jul 25, 2003 9:45 AM
So appropriate when people get bent out of shape for no reason. Plus it still makes me laugh when I think of the scene.

My bike isn't old enough to be named yet but I intend to come up with something clever. My GF would probably love the name DorkMachine.
well, if the wives/girlfriends are naming themDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 9:57 AM
My wife has called it "that f***ing bike" many times. I can't really get into that one, though.

Doug
but which bike is she referreing to? (nm)Fender
Jul 25, 2003 2:52 PM
whichever one I'm riding or working on nmDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 5:13 PM
Named my bike as a joke.bluesteel
Jul 25, 2003 7:30 AM
I named my bike "Blue Steel". It's a Cannondale R2000 double which is kind of a steel blue color. I decided it would be my screen name since I just registered and this is my first post.

I'm a newbie road bike guy and am enjoying reading and learning from some seasoned veterans.

bluesteel
ha!mohair_chair
Jul 25, 2003 7:38 AM
Isn't "seasoned veterans" just a euphanism for old, fat, slow guys?

P.S. As a newbie, know that Fridays here can get a little wacky. Roll with it.
Named my bike as a joke.caniaitalia
Jul 25, 2003 7:45 AM
same here, converted mtb'er. kinda turns ya off reading some of this sh!t coming outa guys like doug huh?
Personal attacks are not welcome here. nmDave Hickey
Jul 25, 2003 7:51 AM
explain, pleaseDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 7:56 AM
I'm really at a total loss here to understand what you believe was aggravating about my post. Actually, your same question has come up about 10 times in the last 3 years, and I posted nearly identical responses with no problems whatsoever. I really don't get it. What's annoying about it?

Doug
explain, pleasecaniaitalia
Jul 25, 2003 8:17 AM
hey sorry man i was just kinda aggrivated this morning. no ill will toward you. sorry :(
that's coolDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 8:20 AM
I really didn't mean any harm. It's cool. I've had bad days, too.

Doug
Well, welcome aboard, then!Humma Hah
Jul 25, 2003 8:28 AM
Do you have a pic of Catalina to post?
explain, pleaseDuc9
Jul 25, 2003 9:24 AM
...hope I don't offend anyone:

names -
my mountain bike
my road bike
your bike (wife's mtb)
Excuse meMel Erickson
Jul 25, 2003 8:03 AM
This is meant to be helpful and I'm not trying to defend Doug, he can do that very well himself. I just find it kind of out of whack that you appear on a discussion board with such exteme opinions about long time posters. Maybe you should take a little time to get to know the community before posting. I think you'll find Doug and most others are knowledgeable, courteous and helpful. Now, maybe you've lurked for awhile and that's your informed opinion. If so, don't be surprised if you're not received well here. There are a few posters that turn many off, but I don't think Doug would be on that list. If he's on yours you'll probably find many others to add to the list pretty quickly, maybe even mine.
Actually, he's probably the nicest guy here ...Humma Hah
Jul 25, 2003 8:09 AM
... the single person most responsible for keeping this forum far more civilized than most.

Which is why he was made forum moderator.

I'm amazed you still have access to the forum, as a matter of fact.

Doug said nothing mean to you at all.
Humma Hah is the cruiser.Humma Hah
Jul 25, 2003 7:36 AM
Its a Laguna Indian phrase, meaning, in essence, "Once upon a time." I have a custom decal on the chainguard that proudly announces that name to the world.

Bikes should be at least 10 years old before getting names.
that one fitsDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 7:38 AM
When you've had a bike 30 years, it deserves a name, especially one so fitting.

Doug
...bikes should be at least 10 years old...Steve_0
Jul 25, 2003 7:41 AM
period.
It's apparently name Fata$$, everyone who goes by says "move it Fata$$" :-) (nm)Scot_Gore
Jul 25, 2003 7:42 AM
Best post of the day. Thanks Scot. I needed that(nm)Dave Hickey
Jul 25, 2003 7:49 AM
LOL nmDougSloan
Jul 25, 2003 7:50 AM
First post that ever made me LOL! (nm)cory
Jul 25, 2003 8:08 AM
Its one thing to call it a name, its something else to attach itFez
Jul 25, 2003 8:02 AM
onto the frame via paint or decal.

Sure I call it a bunch of things at various times, but I haven't painted or decaled it with one.
dearest CANIAITALIA,JS Haiku Shop
Jul 25, 2003 8:31 AM
welcome.

I suggest reading the forum guidelines before you and Catalina are voted off the island.

http://www.roadbikereview.com/guidelinescrx.aspx
Sure didTUT2222
Jul 25, 2003 8:35 AM
I called my Trek mtb every name in the book while trying to convert it to a road singlespeed, but none of them are printable here :-) .
Cat, switching to decaf might also help...nmmdehner
Jul 25, 2003 8:43 AM
Bernardo (It's a DeBernardi Aelle) nmKristin
Jul 25, 2003 8:43 AM
I didn't, but my wife...SpoiledBikeDaddy
Jul 25, 2003 8:57 AM
... calls it a variety of names: Dork Machine/Mobile, Time Thief, Family Abandoner, Moneysucker, That F*ckin' Toy of yours...

I dunno, I get the impression she's not all that sympathetic to my (relatively) new-found hobby...
My wife can't tell my bikes apart, so she throws a broader net,bill
Jul 25, 2003 2:04 PM
damning the entire activity.
"Your BIKING. You and that f*cking BIKING."
That my wife can't tell my bikes apart carries a distinct advantage -- I recently replaced an unpainted ti Litespeed with a black CF Fondriest. With big white letters -- "FONDRIEST". I mean, these two bikes look nothing alike. I put the Fondriest together while she was standing next to me in the basement folding laundry. She never noticed.
wow, guess I am one of the only people who has named...dante
Jul 25, 2003 9:28 AM
his bikes...

my two mtn bikes are Durandal and Halteclere, and my GF's mtn/road bikes are Artemis and Athena. My road bike is nicknamed TAS, short for The Anorexic Slut... GF came up with that one, something abuot it weighing 1/2 what one of my mt. bikes weigh.

dante

anybody else know offhand where Durandal and Halteclere come from? just want to know if I'm really THAT much of a geek... :)
?...JS Haiku Shop
Jul 25, 2003 9:39 AM
song of roland?

you *are* that much of a geek. i couldn't remember exactly where, so i had to look it up. f@#$ lit class, i say.

stranger things have been known for passwords and names. some things only having meaning to a handful of peeps.

word up.

-J
re: Anyone named their bike?Pinarelloparis
Jul 25, 2003 9:34 AM
dude, I know I'm new and it looks like you are too, so maybe I shouldn't comment much. Just don't go giving Pinarello owners a bad name please!

no offense, but I couldn't help to think of catalina salad dressing. haha
Oh yeah. Why not?Steve98501
Jul 25, 2003 9:56 AM
Not very imaginative, but functional:

The Rodriguez is Rod,
Guerciotti is Gertch,
Rambouillet is Rambo,
Eddie Merckx is Ed.
re: Anyone named their bike?mapei boy
Jul 25, 2003 11:09 AM
I call my Colnago "Il Signore."
I call my Somec "Angelica Turbo."
same name as Dante's (not TAS)CritLover
Jul 25, 2003 7:00 PM
Hey Dante, very interesting, my Seven Axiom's name is also Athena. My Litespeed Orion is waiting to be named, hasn't come to me yet (though I can tell it's a dude). I highly doubt that it will have the words anorexic or slut in it.
I read on another message board that there are rules...kidrn
Jul 26, 2003 5:43 PM
and that the "rules" for naming your bike is: if you are a guy then your bike should have a female name... and if a woman your bike should have a male name... and it can't be anyone you lust after........?
I read on another message board that there are rules...arztin
Jul 28, 2003 4:14 AM
As a female I must say I never even thought of naming my bike,although my husband has a few of his own ideas for it(non printable).As fond of the bike as I am I think naming it may just be too much for others who already think I am obsessed enough with the sport as it is:-)