RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Comparison - Look KG486 - Trek 5900(21 posts)

Comparison - Look KG486 - Trek 5900phread
Jul 24, 2003 7:04 AM
I am trying to compare these two with the goal of buying one or the other. Any commnets - i.e.: OCLV vs Monocoque carbon fiber process.

I read that the 2nd of two of Lance's crashes (the other day) resulted in a broken chain stay, but the OCLV held up well enough for him to finish. Pretty good recommendation, but I still am trying to keep an open mind before purchasing or or the other
re: Comparison - Look KG486 - Trek 5900268generation
Jul 24, 2003 9:49 AM
Lance was riding the new prototype 5900 lighter than the current 5900 and Madone 5.9.

Bicycling mag. did the review on 486 goto there website and read. But I perosnally dont believe a word they say.

I rode 5900 for a test ride, it was nice and stiff but all the OCLV bike had that woody feel.
re: Comparison - Look KG486 - Trek 5900sparklenuts
Jul 24, 2003 10:19 AM
I think the "woody feel" comments are, in general bandwagon dribble. I tried alot of high end bikes when shopping for a new ride. I didn't even consider OCLV until I rode one. I actually rode it for a while to make sure that there was not some other factor that was making it so great. I had a Serotta CSI and a Colnago before. both of these rides are steel and have a great feel, but the TREK felt even better! I love high end gear and really turned my nose up at TREK. Bottom line is that every manufacture who dabbles in carbon fiber or full on makes carbon fiber bikes is chasing TREK and for good reason. The bikes are that good! I rode a C-40 and it was great, still for pure ride quality I would pick the TREK. The Look bikes are nice, but nicer than the TREK? There is so much snobbery in the roadie world (first to admit being involved) that superior products sometimes get overlooked for the 'guch. Ask people from Europe what bike they want... You would be surprised at the lust over Trek and the like. As it stands right now, everybody is in severe catch-up mode to OCLV frames. Read some reviews. You will be hard-pressed to find a negative review on ride, quality or weight from OCLV owners. I have heard the "woody" comments from people who don't own (and have probably not logged many miles on) an OCLV frame. Every person that I have actually met that owns one is very happy with it. I would suggest looking into the frame set (cheaper than the Look) and setting it up component wise just for you. I love mine, even though I hate the postal paint scheme.
I have nothing against Trek OCLV's other thanDave Hickey
Jul 24, 2003 10:31 AM
there are so many of them on the road. I'm sure it's a great frame but I like to ride something different. I ride LOOK's because I don't see a lot of them on the road. Since I ride 99% by myself, snobbery is not the issue. LOOK, Colnago, Calfee and , yes, Trek all make great frames. It boils down to a personal choice.
Sounds like "personal snobby" to me...sparklenuts
Jul 24, 2003 11:37 AM
I am with you, but there is no denying the quality of the Trek. If you would ride something different in spite of performance etc. there is somerthing else going on there. I didn't want to like the Trek, but it is great. The original post was looking for opinions on both. The Look is different, but I have never heard of any reviews, opinions etc. that really say it is better. the Trek is a major benchmark. As for Calfee, if you need a custom size then by all means. I still think that the Trek will be a step up (don't flame just because you spent alot of money). The Colnago is sweet, but better? different - yes, better - It is probably better to the buyer who ponied up the cash! There is a reason you see so many on the road - they are great frames!!!
Look in the mirror pal...collinsc
Jul 24, 2003 1:23 PM
I dont think Ive ever seen anyone deny the QUALITY of the Trek bikes. They are top notch for sure. They do, however, have a distinctive ride.

As far as performance is concerned, anything in the comparable range is essentially equivalent. There is no such thing as a faster frame.

Better in this price range is entirely subjective. We'll not discuss geometries as that makes your entire point ridiculous. The best bike is the one you like the most. No one ever said the Treks were crap, but you seem to be trying your hardest to say that Colnago, Look & Calfee are sub standard.
I would bet you frequently stick up your nose and sneer at those "bike snobs" who could have bought the "better" Trek, but were too concerned with image to make the right decision. You dont have to be promoting the expensive stuff to be a snob.
I'll deny the quality,TJeanloz
Jul 24, 2003 1:39 PM
The OCLV, while currently one of the best bikes going (and I do own one, err, did own one), was not always that way. The original versions had serious problems with cracks developing, which really were not cured until the OCLV120 came out in 2000. Pre2000 Treks had suspect craftsmanship. Of course, so did a lot of ti Colnagos from the same era, but Trek was not always the paragon of quality.
Question?sparklenuts
Jul 24, 2003 7:25 PM
What did you reoplace it with? Unless the original poster is looking for a used bike, the quality of pre 2000 bikes doesn't matter, although I know several high mileage riders who have older OCLV bikes. I'm not sure of the Look warranty, but if an OCLV frame cracks in the way you are describing, it has a lifetime warranty to the original owner.
That's true,TJeanloz
Jul 25, 2003 5:07 AM
Trek went to a lifetime warranty on OCLV's (it used to be three years) because the reputation for cracking got out there, and people were leery of buying them. With the lifetime warranty, it was an easier sale, because the customer says: "I hear these crack", and you (the salesperson) say: "then Trek just sends you a new frame - and that wouldn't be so bad, would it?". My experience with them (from selling them) was that if they were going to crack, it manifested itself pretty quickly (in the first 2,500 miles or so), and if they made it past that point, they weren't very likely to crack.

In terms of what happened to mine, I didn't really replace it, I had just accumulated to many high-end bikes (these things happen when you run a bike shop), so I gave it to the father of a friend of mine who was just getting into the sport. Oddly enough, I loved the way it rode, but I don't think I put more than 1,000 miles on it.
Pal... Wow you seem angry!sparklenuts
Jul 24, 2003 7:15 PM
Wow, you seem like an agry person!

I love and respect Colnago's. I think Calfee makes a great cutom option bike (although I really wouldn't pick one in the same size or geometry over the Trek or the Look) The Look bikes are also great. I had a hard time choosing between a KX Light and my current ride. I don't remember writing anything about a "faster" frame? Maybee that is the anger getting in the way of your reading?

I LOVE great bikes - period. I would not deny being a bike snob! Your presumptions, however, are un-founded. I really don't think twice about what kind of Trek other people ride. In fact, like I said - I never even considered a Trek until I rode it. I did however consider a Look, but did not find the ride quality and dimensions to my liking. My point is that because a bike is very popular and the masses own it does not in any way make it sub-standard. There is a good reason so many riders are laying down their hard earned money for OCLV frames.
angry not agry - oops!sparklenuts
Jul 24, 2003 7:16 PM
re: Comparison - Look KG486 - Trek 5900268generation
Jul 24, 2003 4:14 PM
As matter of fact i do ride a Elite 9.8 Mtn bike and yes it feels woody other than that its great bike. Ive been on 5900 test ride and feels exacly same, that woody feel other than that its great ride.
Where to ride a wood bike?sparklenuts
Jul 24, 2003 10:23 AM
The other comment about a "woody" feeling ride, is... Where do you go to test ride a wooden bike. Get the point?
Trek vs LookCARBON110
Jul 24, 2003 1:03 PM
I put 16k on my 5900 before I got hit by a car, and I even dumped it once in a race. It held up perfectly. No flex after countless 18%+ climbs 56mph downhills and riding in the snow,rain and sun for 2 years. I ordered the Madone 2 weeks ago and it will be here in Sept. It was a hard decision to make. When I found out about the X-light 5900 they might produce next year I called my inside buddy up and said...get me one frameset in addition to the Madone. Trek reps and big dealers are going to trek in August to find out what will be available next yea. There was suppose to be and might still be another new frame coming out in addition to these 2 above. The 5900 rocks...just for your info I am riding my girlfriends 5500...but I like the feel of the 5900 better...I am hoping the Madone knocks my socks off...it will be my 9th OCLV of which I only broke one... OCLV Mtn bike 6 years ago and Trek replaced in 3 weeks no shipping or questions
Where to ride a wood bike?xcandrew
Jul 24, 2003 9:27 PM
Here's something that is pretty similar to wood: http://www.hydromedia.com/gallery/showphoto.php?photo=16&password=&sort=3&thecat=506 I hear that it rides very well, so maybe "woody" should be a compliment.
KG486/Trek 5900Bixe
Jul 24, 2003 5:50 PM
I've ridden a bit more than a thousand miles on this KG486 since putting 10k miles on a 5900. The 5900 had a few component problems that Trek stumbled over, but were eventually addressed by Trek and by upgrading beyond the supplied hardware. These problems aside, the frameset itself is really a fine ride.
Obviously, Trek has considerable experience with their OCLV design (good and otherwise) and has invested in substantive refinements in that time. Sure, the OCLVs are everywhere, but there's actually a pretty good reason for that..

While Look has a lot of experience in carbon frames, the KG486 is a relatively new design. Mine hasn't hiccupped once..

Regarding the ride, I prefer the Look. My preference is exactly that though, a personal preference. It's worth mentioning here that I prefer long, all-day rides over pretty decent pavement with a fair amount of vertical, though in my advancing years I'm not in the mountains as much as in younger days. PS: I sold the 5900....
Beautiful bike Bixe!.. Great job...........................nmDave Hickey
Jul 25, 2003 3:44 AM
helloooooooooooooooo nurse! (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Jul 25, 2003 6:30 AM
That pic should be in the Look catalog!High Gear
Jul 25, 2003 7:23 AM
Very nice set up. How do you like your Aliante?
AlianteBixe
Jul 25, 2003 3:26 PM
Thanks.

This Aliante is the first titanium rail version I've ridden. I have carbon rail versions on two other rides. I couldn't tell the difference in the ride between the two models; both are quite comfy. As mentioned above: All Day rides....

KG486/Trek 5900phread
Jul 31, 2003 5:57 AM
Well ... You apparently have the same riding preference as me ... long rides on decent pavement with somewhat of a vertical challenge. The only question a have now is that I heard that the ...486 is VERY responsive. Did you notice any difference (in the rsponsiveness) between the Look and the Trek?