RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Do any of you TRUELY like the 2004 Dura-Ace?(34 posts)

Do any of you TRUELY like the 2004 Dura-Ace?OPUSsum
Jul 22, 2003 1:54 PM
Honestly, do you like the appearance of the 2004 10-Speed Dura-Ace cranks and STI levers (besides tour riders most of us can't say much about performance yet)? Personally I like the looks of the 03 and older Dura-Ace.

For my next bike (just bought an new one)I'm going to consider Campagnolo much more seriously.

From what I hear Record rules!
no, becauseDougSloan
Jul 22, 2003 1:55 PM
It doesn't say "Campagnolo" on it. ;-)

Doug
Yeah, go ahead and feed the flames... (nm)CHRoadie
Jul 22, 2003 2:01 PM
nm
what? something I said? nmDougSloan
Jul 22, 2003 2:03 PM
you probably say too muchwink
Jul 22, 2003 2:11 PM
DougSloan why don't you give it a rest? You are the most opinionated sob on this board...you are supposed to be a moderator not an "opinionator". Really, most of your post are very annoying and unsubstantiated. At the end of the day few of us give a hoot about your campy snobisms.
Wow, out of the blueMel Erickson
Jul 22, 2003 2:24 PM
Where'd that come from? He's an unpaid moderator who has just as much right to express his opinion as the rest of us. Before he was given the unenviable task of moderator he was just one of us, and still is. I've been reading his posts for a long time and wouldn't consider his posts annoying or overly opinionated. If anything Doug bends over backwards to acknowledge and consider others opinions. Can someone say too much on a public discussion board? Kinda begs the definition, doesn't it?
humorDougSloan
Jul 22, 2003 2:27 PM
You are taking this waaay too seriously. That was supposed to be humor, and a bit self-deprecating at that. It's a dirty little secret that I own and have owned lots of Shimano parts, too. Imagine that from a dyed-in-the-wool Campy Snob?

Annoying and unsubstantiated? Annoying, maybe, but I always substantiate, mostly from personal experience.

Besides, yes, I'm a moderator, but I have been granted full opinion powers, too.

Doug
you owned shimano parts? THE HORROR!!! ;)(nm)ColnagoFE
Jul 22, 2003 2:43 PM
we all have a dark side, don't we? nmDougSloan
Jul 22, 2003 2:49 PM
you owned shimano parts? THE HORROR!!! ;)(nm)High Gear
Jul 22, 2003 6:38 PM
He keeps them buried in the backyard.
Did little winky wake up grumpy today?nmgtscottie
Jul 22, 2003 2:34 PM
He's a lawyer ,what do you expect :-) (nm)TREKY
Jul 22, 2003 6:15 PM
opinions on a message board, what a concept...gala7516
Jul 22, 2003 6:29 PM
you are an idiot
Sometimes the truth hurts. (nm)Fredrico
Jul 23, 2003 1:04 PM
No, and not because of Doug's reason.KG 361
Jul 22, 2003 3:57 PM
The crank set is just plain UGLY. The new levers look nice and so does the rear derailer. If I were to get the new stuff, I'd likely wait for a 10-speed FSA crank or something else, or, (gasp!), get Campy.
nomoschika
Jul 22, 2003 2:24 PM
on a completely aesthetic level it doesn't do anything for me. the older DA stuff to me is some of the finest looking machinery you can put on a bike. i like how it looks more then the carbon Record stuff. that's partly why i got DA on my new incoming bike. and i also checked to make sure it was the 03 gruppo and not the 04 stuff.
the brake levers are no good..desmo
Jul 22, 2003 2:31 PM
they get caught on spectators.
but campy...Fender
Jul 22, 2003 2:54 PM
has no acceleration. Just ask Jan. ;)
yes, but they survived the fall : ) (nm)fz4vgq
Jul 22, 2003 3:43 PM
nm
1988 Dura Ace was a good yearaerox
Jul 22, 2003 3:48 PM
As a owner of 1988 Campy Chorus, 1988 Dura Ace was awesome for its time.
Eight speed SIS (indexing), freehub & 8 spd cassettes
1988 Dura Ace was a good yearaerox
Jul 22, 2003 3:51 PM
More 1988 DA
1988 Dura Ace was a good yearaerox
Jul 22, 2003 3:53 PM
The skinny 7-11 guy is...Bob Roll!!
I admit I'm a little disappointedgtx
Jul 22, 2003 3:19 PM
Those cranks are kinda ugly, and will look best on high tech AL frames with big tubes. For the more classic steel rides looks like Campy is gonna be the way to go. Notice, however, that stuff is so good now we are only talking about aesthetics, not function.
re: Do any of you TRUELY like the 2004 Dura-Ace?amlpeterson
Jul 22, 2003 3:24 PM
I like the the new Dura ace group. The crankset is really light, so it will get plenty of attention from those who condsider weight. But personally, I like the look the the carbon FSA Team Issue crankset. That beats out campy, and shimano. As far as levers go, I've never had any problems with mine. I also perfer the shifting action of shimano to campy. The levers fit my hands nicly, as if they were costum modeled for my thumbs.
I've always thought Campy is prettier...fbg111
Jul 22, 2003 3:26 PM
than Dura Ace. Those curved arches around the front chainring have a classic aesthetic that Dura Ace just doesn't match. The new Dura Ace looks strange, and if I find Shimano has some brilliant engineering reason for making it such, it will probably grow on me...
Coming from a Campy fan...mapei boy
Jul 22, 2003 3:27 PM
I dig the new Dura-Ace look. The older Dura-Ace looked too sober and undistinguished. The new stuff is wilder and bolder. It looks sort of like '80's era Campy...
Truely or TRULY...My DA 10 spd gets here in Sept :DCARBON110
Jul 22, 2003 4:57 PM
I will let you know but if its anything like the XTR YOU GOTTA LOVE IT ! By the way, whats with all the bishes raggn Doug lately? He is one of the most sane people here...and one of the originals...I thought everyone enjoyed dry humor...perhaps when people get on this board they forget to remove themselves emotionally from whats going on in their life? Shiat if I know....here is my advice and I say this only cause I care....there are alot of de-caffinated brands on the market that taste just like the real thing :P
Coming from a Campy fan...koala
Jul 23, 2003 2:26 AM
I agree and I have Campy. I think the crank has that form follows function stiffness look. Getting used to the look of the different levers too. I will definitely try it to see how it is functionally before I build my next bike.
Change is good!CritLover
Jul 22, 2003 6:40 PM
I think those cranks are the shizat! Big, bold, and beautiful. You gotta move with the times. Change is good. I couldn't handle components looking the same for another 10 years!

And Campy aesthetics? Like that stupid thumb shifter sticking out the side of the lever looks good? Puh-lease!
YesMR_GRUMPY
Jul 22, 2003 7:16 PM
I wish that they put a hole in the right crank arm, but beside that, that bad part is that my present Dura Ace bikes won't wear out for quite a few years.
re: Do any of you TRUELY like the 2004 Dura-Ace?kai-ming
Jul 23, 2003 12:03 AM
I don't like the look of the new DA. However, the idea of putting BB bearings wide apart + lighter crank set is brilliant.
Yep, but I'll wait a couple of years. n/mfracisco
Jul 23, 2003 8:19 AM
re: Do any of you TRUELY like the 2004 Dura-Ace?brider
Jul 23, 2003 9:04 AM
I like the looks of the levers and the RHS crank, but the LHS looks to blockish -- I don't care for teh pinch-bolt look.

Just my opinion.
Be serious--there was no excuse for 9-sp...The Walrus
Jul 23, 2003 11:04 AM
...and now we'll be getting this 10-sp crap shoved down our throats. It's all been downhill since 8-sp (the pinnacle of drivetrain development) was killed.