RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone see this article(10 posts)

Anyone see this articleSkooter
Jul 20, 2003 6:38 PM
about lance/cycling hating.I think he NEEDS to get a few emails.

http://espn.go.com/page2/s/armstrong/030718.html

Skooter
re: Anyone see this article268generation
Jul 20, 2003 7:07 PM
Plus he writes for Denver Post. If he thinks Lance should retire he should ask every athlete to retire cause they won too many tournament or competition, man what a tool.
There are two kinds of men in this world...fbg111
Jul 20, 2003 7:38 PM
Those who ride 1000 miles in three weeks through the French mountains and countryside, and those who sit a desk writing shrill and forgettable articles about the former while waiting for Monday night football to come on...
Here is his email: jmarmstrong@denverpost.comdpazos
Jul 20, 2003 8:44 PM
What a fool. I sent him an email to not report on subjects he obviously knows nothing about.
With a face like this, are you surprised?AllUpHill
Jul 21, 2003 3:42 AM
Sure, this guy's a moron, but what's the point in writing him? It's not like he's advocating that drivers mow us down. And I don't think the press will cut cycling coverage just because of his thoughts on the subject. Unless he's arguing on behalf of something that directly harms you, opinion columns are just opinions.

Didn't you learn years ago it's useless to contest things with meat heads like this? It just blows oxygen on their flames. These guys live to rock your boat and will say anything with a macho tint to it. A few emails from cyclists won't sway his opinion (some phone calls from Barry Bonds might stand a chance). The next article he writes will be about these "loser Lance lovers that filled up his inbox ..."

And I have to admit, following cycling coverage is a bit like watching paint dry if you don't participate in the sport and know nothing about it. You simply can't appreciate what is playing out on the roads. Not that you should write an article imposing your view on everyone else, though.
The thing is...fbg111
Jul 21, 2003 1:34 PM
Most true athletes can appreciate any sport, especially one as physically demanding as cycling and the TdF. I don't play baseball, never have, yet I have the utmost respect for the absolute athletic precision required in that game. Every sport has certain aspects about it, that at the top levels weeds out all but the most highly accomplished athletes. Even if you don't play the sport, if you're an athlete or sportsman at all, you should at least appreciate that. It's a shame when a so-called sportswriter can't or won't make the mental effort to recognize the lifetime of intense effort that goes into just qualifying for the TdF, much less winning it. I don't think that writer could have come across as more petulant and childish if he had tried.
So how does he feel about football?Spoke Wrench
Jul 21, 2003 10:42 AM
Now there's a silly sport. Twenty two fully grown men, wearing Star Wars outfits, gropeing around in the mud and fighting over a ball that isn't even round. Who'd ever pay to see that much less pay somebody to write about it?
So how does he feel about football?lemmy999
Jul 21, 2003 12:21 PM
And they call it a pigskin, and it is made out of cowskin.

I have respect for other sports even if I don't like them. However, I think sports writers/commentators are the most worthless people on earth. I just don't understand sports talk radio and the like. What is there to talk about?
Forget football!SpoiledBikeDaddy
Jul 21, 2003 12:46 PM
"If I'm going to watch a sport, it's going to involve a ball, thank you very much, not a ball bearing." This seems to imply that if it doesn't involve a ball (and I'm lumping pucks and footballs into that category), it ain't a sport.

How's he feel about track & field, swimming, car racing, horse racing, boxing, wrestling (greco-roman, not "professional"), skiing, shooting, hunting, etc. etc. etc etc.?
Hey SuckerSkooter
Jul 22, 2003 3:14 AM
At least I dont have a mullet!!!