RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Felt bikes?(13 posts)

Felt bikes?lemmy999
Jul 19, 2003 8:09 PM
I have been a mtn biker for years and my wife has taken up road biking in the last few years and I am thinking about getting in to it now. I have been hit by a car before on a motorcycle before, so the idea of cars coming up behind me kind of freaks me out...but I think it is worth a try....
Anyway. I have been looking arond and found this bike brand at an LBS. They seem to be well made and much cheaper than other bike with the same components. Does anyone know anything about them or why they are significantly cheaper. Are they made in china or something? I can't find any reviews or info (besides at feltracing.com) and when I searched on here, all I got were other people asking why there are no reviews of these bikes. I am also a bit skeptical because their nicer bikes (like F50, F45, F35 and better) only have a 3 year warranty, but the cheaper bikes have 5 year warranty. It kind of makes me think they don't expect them to last that long (like they have cut a little too much weight off of the frames?). I am thinking of either the F35R or the F50. Otherwise I have looked at a Lemond Zurich and a Specialized Allez Comp.
re: Felt bikes?rkalik
Jul 19, 2003 8:29 PM
Last month, I looked at them also. I was attracted to the value and the component set for the reduced prices. Didn't know the warranty info though....

From what I got earlier on this board, some guy previously with Easton is behind the Felt name and bike. Felt has long been in tri-bikes, so their racing line is a foray into the other market.

If I were gonna buy another bike, I'd jump on a Felt racer without thinking twice.

It's cool to be different!
got an f50r. love it.bm
Jul 19, 2003 9:38 PM
i've posted here about the felts before. can't say much more about my felt. i think i got a great frame and component group for a great price. just raced it today in fact, at a triathlon.
got an f50r. love it.lemmy999
Jul 20, 2003 5:50 AM
Is there a difference between the F50 and F50R? There is not F50R listed on their website. I am a little more interested in the F35R than the F50, but I don't know if I want a double. The F35R is a double with a 12-23 rear, and the F50 is a triple with a 12-23. The F35R has the FSA crank and bottom brackets, carbon handlebars, and Mavic Ksyrium Elite wheels instead of the ALEX model 320 wheels (which I know nothing about). I guess I could always change the cassette from a 12-23 to a 12-27 on the F35R.
What type of riding will you be doing.Mel Erickson
Jul 20, 2003 7:08 AM
Felts are good bikes. I wouldn't be afraid of buying one. They have a very good component selection for a good price. 3-5 year warranty on an alu frame is not uncommon these days. Ask Felt why they warranty they're higher priced frames for a shorter time. The Zurich is also a good choice. Is there a particular reason you're considering a triple or wide range cassette? Do you live in a particularly mountainous region? Is it because of your MTB background?
What type of riding will you be doing.lemmy999
Jul 20, 2003 8:01 AM
I live in East TN. There are plenty of rides that would be fine with me on a double, but there are some rides that have some fairly extreme elevation change. This is the main reason I thought I would want a triple. It would be there if I needed it. And I guess coming from a MTB background does have something to do with it. If I had a double and decided I wanted a triple. I know the shifters are ok with both and you have to change the fr. der. and the crank set (can you just change the rings?), but would you need a different BB to keep the chainline where it needs to be?
If you think you need itMel Erickson
Jul 20, 2003 8:19 AM
get a triple from the start, rather than add it later. There'd be alot of monkeying around and cost that you wouldn't have to do if you bought it up front. I'd go with a triple over a wide range cassette as shifting will be better. Welcome to the dark side!
I have the F75.niteschaos
Jul 20, 2003 8:47 AM
I race Cat 4 and it has never held me back. Have 9 races under my belt and the frame has withstood crashes and bad weather like a champ.
another great bang-for-your buck option: Giant TCRBergMann
Jul 20, 2003 9:39 AM
Felt has a good reputation for performance, but IMO, their high-end aluminum frames are overpriced. In the $1500+ (bare frame/fork) category, I'd rather have carbon or titanium frame for a better mix of performance and durability.

That said, for mid-end Ultegra bikes, aluminum is a great weight and cost saving option -- just don't expect to get 10 years out of an aluminum frame like you can with Ti or steel.

Another _great_ performing, reasonably priced frame & fork is the Giant TCR aluminum (around $700) which is also available as a complete bike. With the same geometry, albeit for twice as much cash, you can find the TCR carbon frame & fork for $1400 if you shop around.

And yes, the foreshortened warranty is a sign that the bike has been whittled down to prioritize performance over durability. If durability is a major issue for you, choose another frame material or go with a more robust aluminum frame (the Giants come with a 5 year warranty, I believe).

Test ride everything in your price range to see what suits you best!
I have the f35rmunchydoan
Jul 20, 2003 12:22 PM
This is my first serious roadbike (I mostly mtn bike with a Kona Kula) and it hasn't taken me any time to adjust at all.
I've put on about 300 miles in my first few weeks with the bike and I absolutely love it. Component spec is very good for the price- people ask me if I paid $2500 for it when in fact I got it for $1779! I'm 5'6" and ride a 52cm and it fits me like a glove. Rode a 62 miler last weekend and hit 45mph down this hill and felt fully in control. Take one out for a test ride.
I have the f35rlemmy999
Jul 20, 2003 3:19 PM
I plan on going to ride one very soon. But I am not like most of the people here that only want to keep a bike for 3-4 years and then get a new one just becaue they are tired of the old one. I have had a Klein MTB bike since 1997 and I still like it fine and have no plans to get a new one in the next few years. I know I won't bike as much as most of the people on here (since I will be spending more time off road), but I still want a durable bike frame. This article did make me feel a bit better:

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/rinard/EFBe/frame_fatigue_test.htm
demo..?marcoxxx
Jul 21, 2003 8:11 AM
can the lbs not let you demo it? i would demo 2 or 3 bikes that you like. my lbs will let you take a bike out for couple hours to demo. if they say no way, then i would look for another shop or go online.

marc
demo..?lemmy999
Jul 21, 2003 8:36 AM
I am having a problem finding a bike shop that has any in stock. They say they are out of '03 and don't know when '04 are coming in. One bike shop told me they weren't selling them anymore because they had trouble with Felt because they were always out of everything. I have called about 6 shops. Felt also doesn't allow online selling of their bikes, so unless I can find some shop to bend the rules, I can't go that route either.

BTW, as expected Felt bikes are priced so good because most of the frames are made in Taiwain.