RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Best Bike Shop in Manhattan(10 posts)

Best Bike Shop in Manhattandsweiss
Jul 18, 2003 7:27 PM
Coming to visit, which is the best bike shop in NYC?
Gotham Bikes!rkalik
Jul 18, 2003 7:44 PM
I've been to them all....and without a doubt, Gotham Bikes is the best! TOGO, its sister store on the UWS has a much bigger inventory, but Gotham has the best staff.

P.S...try to stay away from Metro, there are six of them around NYC, usually staffed by kids etc...Sid's Bikes is OK, but they have an attitude problem.
re: Best Bike Shop in Manhattantrout_bum
Jul 18, 2003 8:00 PM
In general shops in NYC aren't that great but here's my opinion. I didn't list addresses but you can find them easily by searching.
Toga bike-friendly, good inventory, decent mechanics
Sids bikes-ok customer service, selection
Conrads: Not alot of stock on the floor but good if you want to purchase that that special bike. Nice attention to detail-i.e fit etc. Good mechanic

If you want to see high end frames up close in person, and like attidude and poor service try:
Bicycle Renaissance or
R&A in Brooklyn.

Outside New York City
Piermont Bicycle in Rockland County is friendly and has a great selection of everything on the floor.
Cycles Plus in Huntington, LI-good prices, service
None are worth visiting.Sintesi
Jul 18, 2003 8:22 PM
New York has the worst bike shops of any big city I've ever visited. Don't waste your time there's nothing to see.
None are worth visiting.rkalik
Jul 18, 2003 9:03 PM
Despite my opinion of Gotham bikes, you are right. they all really suck.
LBS: Bring money. Lots. Prepare to be dissed. (nm)geeker
Jul 19, 2003 5:53 AM
It depends...ss-nyc
Jul 19, 2003 8:45 AM
Conrads:
Have cash to burn and want the best service and equipment money can buy

Toga, Gotham, and Sids:
Decent service and normal stock of mid-range bikes

BikeWorks:
Small shop, great service, no new bikes, all the old parts you can ever dream of needing, and THE BEST shop to go for Track and/or Single-speed bikes/service
bike works: cult lbs!colker
Jul 20, 2003 5:15 AM
any bike shop whose owner writes a classic encyclopedia/ book on cycling and still cares to build wheels and tune bikes and is a cult cycling shrine in my book.
Gotham, Sid's and R&ABergMann
Jul 19, 2003 11:30 AM
You looking to buy something big?
Like all New Yorkers, Manhattan shop employees only respect the big $$$.

Give them the feeling you're browsing, or not ready to buy that very second, and they'll ignore you or worse.

Gotham/Togos have a good selection. Sids has some knowledgeable (yet _very_ opinionated) employees.

R&A out in Brooklyn has a great stock of high-end frames, etc. But employ some of the biggest clowns this side Cirque d' Soleil.
I was in there trying to buy $200 cycling shoes and got the brush off for so long that I just grabbed a ladder and started to search the hundreds of boxes of shelved inventory myself.
The bozo being paid to "help" customers was too busy singing his own praises as "da best bike fittuh in New Yawk" to customer with cleavage to give anyone else a hand...

I agree with the other posters that for the New York's size and amassed buying power, the bike shop scene is _pathetic_.
Give me Supergo or a Performance shop any day over these gougers!
Toga/Gotham, but that's pretty sad...peter1
Jul 19, 2003 3:03 PM
...as others have mentioned, there aren't any really terrific shops here. I've often wondered why it is that tiny out of the way towns have shops that will blow your mind but New York has diddly...maybe the rents are too high? And there really isn't a huge cycling scene here like in Boston or Tucson or Boulder--people are too busy earning money to pay their own rent...

But back to the subject at hand: Toga/Gotham have a comprehensive, if not overwhelming, selection of bikes and gear. Maybe because Gotham's in Tribeca, they seem to have more exotic parts and bikes. Toga is around 10th ave and 59th st, behind Lincoln Center.

I've always had good experiences at Bicycle Renaissance, at 82nd and Columbus, and the local Metro shop at 96th st. I don't know about the shops downtown like Sid's but friends recommend them. Same for Larry and Jeff's on the Upper East Side.

My advice would be not to go to any shop on a weekend when people are bringing in their 10-year-old Royce-Unions to get a flat fixed. I can guarantee you won't get good service unless you start waving a wad of fifties around.