RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tandem owners - opinions on this used tandem(10 posts)

Tandem owners - opinions on this used tandemUncleMoe
Jul 18, 2003 11:03 AM
2001 Burley Rumba - list price $1699

- 400 miles
- Upgraded with 105 shifters and Selle Italia seats that I would swap out (too narrow)
- Seller says Adjustable stoker stem is an upgrade too, but currently Burley has that listed as standard on the 2003 Rumba, so I'm not sure that is an upgrade.

Seller has it listed for $1500 firm.

I know only I can judge the value for me, but $1500 sounds a little steep for a 2 year old bike, but do used tandems demand a higher resale value?
There's nothing wrong with that tandemMel Erickson
Jul 18, 2003 11:46 AM
that a price drop wouldn't cure! He's asking 90% or more of what he paid? That's nuts. A 2002 Duet recently sold on Ebay for $1200. The Duet and Rumba have the same frame but the Duet has 105/XT/Velocity components and the 2001 MSRP was $2399 (according to the ebay listing). I'd say $1000 is in the ballpark.
Thanks...UncleMoe
Jul 18, 2003 11:55 AM
I offered $1300 which I thought was generous and it was declined. Wasn't sure though if Tandems held their value that much more than a regular bike.
Hmmm.Spoke Wrench
Jul 18, 2003 12:26 PM
Assuming you're average size, for $1300 I think that you could generally find a better bike through the tandem Club of America newsletter. I could give you some better information, but I'm not at home right now.
re: Tandem owners - opinions on this used tandemgregario
Jul 18, 2003 12:39 PM
I'd say that's pricey for a used bike of that level, and I don't think tandems hold their value over 1/2 bikes anyway. I sold our 10 year old Trek T-200 last year for $800 which I thought was fair if not pretty good for me.
re: Tandem owners - opinions on this used tandemdavet
Jul 18, 2003 12:53 PM
Post a WTB ad here: http://www.tandemmag.com/classified/ and see what kind of response you get. Or here: http://www.bikeforums.net/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=44

I think the bike you're looking at is somewhat overpriced.
Thanks for the links, I'll take a look (nm)UncleMoe
Jul 18, 2003 1:18 PM
I agree with the others, and...MrCelloBoy
Jul 18, 2003 1:32 PM
I believe tandems experience heavier wear for given miles due to the added stresses.
It's a bummer when you're trying to sell one, given the narrow market for them.
Way too high.MXL02
Jul 18, 2003 1:58 PM
I just tried to sell a Santana Sovereign, list price $4700, less than 1 year old, about 200 miles on it. Had it on ebay with a $3500 reserve, and couldn't get a bid above $2800. I think 50-60% of original price is what most people want to pay for a late-model used bike.
Where are you & how big are you?Spoke Wrench
Jul 21, 2003 8:30 AM
Tandem&Hobbs has a current listing for a Santana Cilantro, complete with a Yakima tandem roof mount, for $1,250. That's a LOT better deal. It's located in Glendale, Ca. Email address is JHESTERLY@aol.com.