RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Phil Ligget needs to spend a summer in St. Louis (no spoil)(15 posts)

Phil Ligget needs to spend a summer in St. Louis (no spoil)vindicator
Jul 18, 2003 8:13 AM
Please don't take this as a complaint, as I'm greatly enjoying the Tour coverage, but I do get a chuckle whenever Phil comments on the weather. He talks about how hot it is when it's in the high 80s and into the 90s, which is fair enough, but then he also mentions the "massive humidity," which has been in the 30s percent to the 50s percent each time I've noticed him mentioning it.

Around here, we call 95 with 30-50% humidity a "dry heat"...

Anyone else get a chuckle from this?
Houston would be hell to Phil (nm)52-16SS
Jul 18, 2003 8:35 AM
Houston would be hell to Lucifer ;-) (nm)js5280
Jul 18, 2003 11:56 AM
re: Phil Ligget needs to spend a summer in St. Louis (no spoil)mmaggi
Jul 18, 2003 10:11 AM
Well, I like the fact that he factors in the weather. But I must agree that 50% humidity is a little humid and it could be alot worse.

FWIW, I'm not a huge Phil Ligget fan. He's OK as a cycling announcer. Paul Sherwen is OK as a color man too. At times their broadcasts border on boredom.

I also don't like OLN's coverage. Too many commericals and too pro-USPS. Also, it appears that the producers don't allow the programming to get too technical. The interviews are too few and too short.

RAI's coverage of the Giro d'Italia is excellent. Great coverage and commentary with ample amounts of tech talk. Tons on interviews after each stage.
But isn't this weather pattern pretty unusual for France94Nole
Jul 18, 2003 11:32 AM
this time of year? This is the impression that I have gotten.
Evidently the heat isvindicator
Jul 18, 2003 11:45 AM
they're saying it's the hottest tour in anyone's memory, and I'll agree with them that temps in the 90s count as "hot" and I'll take their word for it that it's the hottest in memory.

And I have no idea what their typical humidity is over there this time of year, so I don't know if 30s to 50s is unusual or not.

But humidity percentages in the 30s to 50s just don't strike me as "massive" or "oppressive" or whatever Phil has called them, no matter what is normal. I mean, someone who lives at a high elevation in a polar climate may rarely see 70 degrees, but that doesn't make 70 "massively hot" just because it's unusual for that climate. Hence my amusement at what I consider relatively low summer humidity being described with such words. As the other poster said, I'd like to hear what he'd say about Houston!

And again, just a chuckle, not a complaint.
Amen to that !!!coonass
Jul 18, 2003 1:17 PM
A typical St. Louis summer day will be 75-100% humidity (no kidding) and if it's in the 90's......it's hotter than hades...HYDRATE, HYDRATE, HYDRATE!!!!!
Amen Brother!!!shoalin
Jul 18, 2003 2:06 PM
Yep, but we get use to it.
On those days....,coonass
Jul 18, 2003 5:16 PM
I like to ride to St. Alban's via Wild Horse Creek Road.....20° cooler in some areas....and nice scenery too.
Sunday morningvindicator
Jul 18, 2003 7:34 PM
Doing the far West County country roads - Strecker, Pond, Melrose, Allenton, Bouquet, Ossenfort, Wildhorse, etc.

Love diving down into those valleys when the temp drops 20!
Humidity definedKerry Irons
Jul 18, 2003 5:16 PM
You guys are confusing the morning humidity you hear on the weather report with the actual daytime numbers. Even a dew point of 80F translates into around 50%RH at 95 degrees F (I don't have my psychrometric chart handy, so I'm going a bit from memory - could be off a bit). 80F dew point means that there is fog at 79F. Those days are not that common, even on the gulf coast - it's about as bad as it gets. If Phil is quoting actual numbers (50% RH at 95 F), then it's damn oppressive.
Well...vindicator
Jul 18, 2003 7:29 PM
The displayed rh when Phil described it as "massive" in today's ITT stage was 30% at 97 degrees F.

Morning dew points notwithstanding, I stand by Coonass' assertion that our afternoons are often 75% rh at 90+ F.
re: Phil Ligget needs to spend a summer in St. Louis (no spoil)russw19
Jul 18, 2003 8:19 PM
Today, in Gainesville, Florida... 95 degrees at 1pm, 98% humidity.

Stats for G'ville... average number of days in July above 90 degrees, 27.
Mean relative humidity in July at 10am, 88%

There's a good reason that UF's football stadium is nicknamed "The Swamp"

Russ

oh, and by the way, today in the tour, the temperature on the road surface of the ITT was over 106 degrees. That's hot for France.
Being from the South, I can agree with youcoonass
Jul 19, 2003 2:01 PM
but at 4:35pm today, (we just had this storm/cold front come through yesterday) it's: 81°F, Dew Point @79° and 79% humidity....tomorrow at 9am, the prediction is: 76°F, Dew Point @ 69° and humidity @78%.....so it should be a better-than-normal day for riding....When I lived in the South, I had to begin riding at Sunrise and after 2.5 hours, I was toast....(In the summer of 1979 [or 1980?]) I can remember that the South (we) had over 30 continuous days of over 95°, and that includes the night...(Texas was over 100° continuous during this period) and I was playing in a co-ed outdoor soccer league; practing twice a week and a game on Sunday....Hell, I've got to have a cold beer to cool off....
Hellish Humidy in St. Louis...crosscut
Jul 18, 2003 10:08 PM
I agree...there is nothing worse that a 95 deg. day with 90% humidity like we can get here in River City. Other top ranking hell-holes...Houston, and New Orleans. Here in St. Lou you can sweat through your clothes getting the bike out of car and pumping up the tires. Unbelievable. Takes your breath away.