RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Have you seen BestBikeBuys.com?(9 posts)

Have you seen BestBikeBuys.com?Kristin
Jul 17, 2003 8:11 AM
Just incase there are some who haven't encountered this site yet, its a great resource.

http://www.bestbikebuys.com

Enjoy
Use it quite often...Frith
Jul 17, 2003 8:27 AM
I really like it for finding the best price although I think they should add a couple more online stores to their db. Sometimes if I see a really good price on something I want I go there and see if any of the search results can beat it. Often the store with the best price isn't in the database.
Yeah, I'm hoping they'll growKristin
Jul 17, 2003 8:39 AM
I found the best price on a stem there yesterday and wouldn't have found it otherwise. Personally, I think that they should merge with RBR!!! The reviews, coupled with a pricewatch type service would be awesome.
agreeFrith
Jul 17, 2003 8:43 AM
Funny you should mention RBR cause when I first came across it six or so months ago, It reminded me of the early days of the consumer review sites. Since then it's grown and gone through some redesign. They are similar types of services so It would be neat to see them join forces.
re: Have you seen BestBikeBuys.com?Jeff Rage
Jul 17, 2003 8:38 AM
Check this out http://thejeffpage.8k.com/mtnbiking/shop.html

It applies to road bikers, too. I have to update it, though. The Penuel Bicycles site is no longer up. And I will add http://coloradocyclist.com/ and a few others.
bestbikebuys is a little differentKristin
Jul 17, 2003 8:54 AM
Its a pricewatch service that lists entries from many catalogs at once.
interesting site, Jeff (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Jul 17, 2003 9:07 AM
Frooglebriburke
Jul 17, 2003 9:35 AM
Check out http://www.froogle.com sometime. It's an application in beta testing by google. Basically it searches online retailers for products. So you search on a product name and it returns hundreds of listing from online retailers with the price. For some reason it doesn't sort the results, but usually within the first two pages is the lowest price. I use it for everthing these days - especially to get an idea of item's worth.

-Brian
I've used bestbikebuys for some time, butMel Erickson
Jul 17, 2003 7:36 PM
I like qbike.com better. They seem to give you hits from more stores and ebay too. I've found good buys on both sites but seem to find more on qbike. Froogle needs some more work. It's better than google for finding merchandise but is still lacking when it comes to bicycling merchandise. I haven't used it enough for other stuff to make a judgement. I'll give froogle one thing, though. It did lead me to the best price on RudyProject RB3 sunglasses plus an insert and extra clear lens, from two different online retailers.