RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Good steel bike - opions needed(17 posts)

Good steel bike - opions neededbburgoyne26
Jul 16, 2003 3:26 PM
I have looked at LeMond Zurich, Jamis, Bianchi, Raleigh...any other suggestions for a good steel setup around $1200 to 2000?

Campy or Shimano?

Good wheels?
re: Good steel bike - opions neededPDF
Jul 16, 2003 3:29 PM
Ritchey Road Logic with 105 should come in in your price range. I have one with Ultegra and simply love it.
re: Good steel bike - opions neededrussw19
Jul 16, 2003 4:05 PM
I work at a Lemond dealer and I have seen a bunch of Lemonds. They are great, and the Zurich is well spec'd for it's price. Also, if you are willing to go up to $2000, you can get a ton of bikes. You could even get into custom bikes like an Independent Fabrications, a Ritchey, like someone else mentioned, even into some Ultra Foco frames. Look at Strong Frames for example. Also, I don't know if it's in the price range, but look at the steel bike made by Opera (which is a Pinarello spin-off company) it's about the same as the Opera model made by Pinarello. It's super nice.

But the best advice I can give you is to ride everything you can before making a purchase. See what you like and want to buy, but take them for a long test ride.. like 30 minutes or so.. not just around the parking lot. If any shop is serious about taking your 2 grand, they should let you ride a bike for that long.

Good luck,

Russ
re: Good steel bike - opions neededUprwstsdr
Jul 16, 2003 4:11 PM
I have a Moser that I love.
I would consider this.
http://www14.inetba.com/erapro/item10310.ctlg
re: Good steel bike - opions neededjtolleson
Jul 16, 2003 5:28 PM
I think you can snag a Tomassini at that price point from Colorado Cyclist. I love those traditional cool looks! Normally I would say "go to gvhbikes.com and check out his Landsharks, Viners, and Casatis" but he's closed. Wah!

Good wheels? Sorry, I personally can't stomach dropping $700 on a wheelset. I think you can get all you need with a good set of hand built wheels with decent hub on Open Pro rim. Seriously. What is not to love? Bombproof, reasonable weight, and a fraction of the cost of a Ksyrium, etc.

Campy or Shimano is just too hot a topic. There is no right answer, there is no wrong answer. Ride both and see if you develop a preference from the hood size or shifting mechanism.
re: Good steel bike - opions neededmoschika
Jul 16, 2003 6:52 PM
you can get a lot in that price range.

i have a custom steel on order from curtlo cycles. he uses true temper s-3 tubes. in that price you could get a custom ride with a quality/custom parts spec in either campy or shimano.

just takes a couple months to get, if you're willing to wait.

www.curtlo.com
i would buy a torelli countach.colker
Jul 17, 2003 6:18 AM
classic italian geom (steep seat angles but i like it), american paint and good brand/ dealer support.
torelli is deep into steel and ride quality opposed to market driven "race image" material crazyness.
i believe you culd dress the countach with chorus within $2000.
ahh...: you can chose your frame color and they have good taste with paint schemes.
Thanks ya'llbburgoyne26
Jul 17, 2003 6:19 AM
I live in Ft. Worth so I have quite a few shops to go to in case anybody is familiar with the area and has a recommendation.

I do like the idea of a custum built. One LBS has frames by Orbea.

I guess the Campy vs Shimano is like Mercedes vs BMW, a hot topic, but no one answer. I do want it to be reliable and not need constant attention and adjustment.

It looks like the wheels that come with LeMond are Bontragger (sp?). How are they?

I hate to admit this, as I think people who buy running shoes for their looks are stupid, but I would like for the bike to have a nice color scheme. I tend to like hi-tech looking colors like blacks, graphites, gray, silver, etc.

I know I need to take my time, but there may be some good sales coming up when the new model year comes out.

I have also been a bit tempted to check out a titanium frame by Dean. I was told it was a good value.
Serotta FierteSpiderman
Jul 17, 2003 6:23 AM
Serotta Fierte (www.serotta.com) is a great buy. Comes for about 2000 w/ full ultegra. Some places will have 105 on it for less. You should definately check it out.
Does Orbea still make all-steel frames?geeker
Jul 17, 2003 7:17 AM
I think their only current steel frame is Ultrafoco with carbon stays, which is exotic and likely pricier than framesets based on, say,Reynolds 853 tubeset. Orbea does have a good rep, though.

If you're willing to wait, check out Pegoretti frames (Palosanto, Marcelo) at vendors like competitivecyclist.com. When the model year rolls over, they'll probably knock a few hundred $ off. [I will get one at that time, not sure of model.]
re: Good steel bike - opinions neededHeron Todd
Jul 17, 2003 7:39 AM
First, you should consider the type of riding you will do. Will you carry any gear? Will you ride only in good weather? Will you race? How long will your average ride be?

Second, you should then consider what kind of bike fits your needs the best. Most road bikes on the market today are patterned after racing bikes: low bars, light frame, short wheelbase, quick steering. There are a few bikes that are designed for more recreational riding with higher bars, longer wheelbase, larger tires, etc. Then, of course, there are bikes designed to carry more of a load (whether a single bag or a self-contained touring set up).

Each type of bike has its compromises, and you should be aware of them when shopping. A racing bike will be light and handle quickly but will ride harsher, limit you to narrow tires, prohibit the use of fenders, and may handle funny or have high-speed shimmy with a heavy rider and/or gear.

Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
re: Good steel bike - opinions neededbburgoyne26
Jul 17, 2003 8:16 AM
Thanks Todd, good point. I have mainly been riding the organized weekend rides, rallies, tours or whatever they are called. I like to do the longer rides, say 100k or centuries when available. I am mainly a runner, and like marathons and long trail runs, but have really been enjoying the rides. I also mt. bike. I am 50 years old and am not fast, say 15 to 17 mph depending on hills (lots here in Tx). I like to stop at the rest stops and look at the pretty girls in tight shorts! (yikes, am I a dirty ole man? Actually, I look for 40+ yr. women without a ring.)

I see your bikes are available at Freewheeling in Austin. I may give them a look....
re: Good steel bike - opinions neededHeron Todd
Jul 17, 2003 1:22 PM
With that type of riding, you don't need to worry much about load-carrying capacity (and I'm assuming that if you run marathons you are not very heavy yourself). However, you may benefit from a bike with a little longer chainstay to smooth out the ride, a little lower bottom bracket to put you in a slightly more upright position, and tires that are a little fatter like a 700x28. There are a few good bikes out there that fit the bill.

Todd Kuzma
Heron Bicycles
LaSalle, IL 815-223-1776
http://www.heronbicycles.com
Happy with Gunnarshamelessgearwhore
Jul 17, 2003 8:14 AM
I just had a Gunnar built up with Centaur 10spd within your price range. It's a beautiful bike! Never had such a nice ride. Frame is built with 853 and True Temper. I've put 900 miles on it since May. I was REALLY close to getting a Zurich because it's a fine bike. It came down to a pretty comparable product, but I could get it built exactly the way I wanted, no one else has one (compared to Lemonds which you see TONS of), and I wanted to try a Campy build. So far I'm a Campy believer. The bike handles fantastic, and the wheels (Mavic CXP 33) are really bomber.
Happy with Gunnarbburgoyne26
Jul 17, 2003 8:18 AM
That's a sweet looking ride...where do you find out about Gunnar?
Another happy Gunar owner.theBreeze
Jul 17, 2003 9:10 AM
www.gunnarbikes.com

You can look at all their stuff and find a dealer too.

This is my second season on my Roadie and it just keeps getting better. Built up with full Ultegra and Open Pro Wheels it was a tad over 2K.
Another happy Gunar owner.abelson
Jul 17, 2003 1:55 PM
One more happy Gunnar Owner. I built up a Gunnar Sport at the begining of this season with full ultegra and open pros for just under 2 grand. I have about 1500 miles on it and I love it.