RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Any one use Time Impact pedals?(16 posts)

Any one use Time Impact pedals?KG 361
Jul 9, 2003 5:27 AM
I'm looking for new pedals and want something lighter than my Looks. I really don't want Speedplays or egg-beaters or any of those; I want something with a nice big platform and these look good. I'm also considering the new Shimano pedals. I've checked the reviews and there are mixed reports on the Times. Any thoughts? Thanks.
For me impacts best pedal I have used.....abicirider
Jul 9, 2003 5:43 AM
I have about 3800 miles on a pair of magnesium Impact pedals not one promble not one creeking noise bearings as smooth as ever, nice features wide platform especially nice for longer rides, can adjust the Q factor (distance between shoe and crank arms) release tension adustment. Very easy to get in and out of have never pulled out of pedal on climb or sprint, just enough but not too much float, and Time customer service is A-1 again for me best pedal I have ever used, comes with cafe cleat so walking on cleat will not cause detoriation of cleat.
Be Safe Out On The Roads!!!!!!!
Ray Still
Mooresville, NC
Thanks, Ray. nmKG 361
Jul 9, 2003 5:51 AM
Same result as Abiciboneman
Jul 9, 2003 2:31 PM
Had them one season and about the same mileage with the Mag/Ti Impact. I rode (still do) Time Equipes for the last 10 years and before that Looks. Never did like the Looks and how far the foot was away from the spindle. The Equipes are more like the cage pedals I started out on in that respect.

The Impacts improve on the biggest complaints I had with the Equipes. Weight and security. On the latter point, when starting in a big gear from a dead, or near dead stop, I frequently pulled out of the pedal as I undoubtedly turned my foot just a bit. This has never occurred with the Impact's. They're light, the platform is a decent size, the cleats are effective and safer to walk on than the ice skates that Equipe's masqueraded as, and the bearings seem to be smoother than the Equipes. I just bought another pair of Impacts but this time with the steel axles.
re: Any one use Time Impact pedals?heldveld
Jul 9, 2003 8:50 AM
I'm using the Impact S pedals. I've been happy with them. The first thing I noticed is how smooth the bearings were. They are also very comfortable and support your foot well. I do have some trouble getting clipped in sometimes (a problem noted by others in the review section). I like them better than the Looks I had previously though.
re: Any one use Time Impact pedals?Mike Prince
Jul 9, 2003 9:38 AM
Switched from LOOKs about 1000 miles ago. I have the Impacts and Impact S models, not the magnesium models. No problems at all yet and the cleats have very little wear. I've done 4 or 5 rides of over 80 miles and not one discomfort problem yet, which I could not say about the LOOKs.

There are some adjustments to get used to clipping in, so I wouldn't recommend them to a newbie to clipless, but once in they are very solid. The adjustable Q factor and SET adjustments are nice, but not worth the $50 difference between the Impacts and the Impact S models, at least not to me. I can't tell any difference between the two on the road.

Hope this helps.

Mike
re: Any one use Time Impact pedals?Espresso
Jul 9, 2003 9:48 AM
Hey KG, I am using the Time Impacts as well... I love them!
I can't compare them to any other road pedal they are my first. My background is from Mountain Biking where I Used Time Atac (still do). The Impacts have a great platform, and you can easily adjust the angular float by ± 5 degrees, and lateral float, which is the Q factor up to 2.5 to 5 mm. Last but not least, they look great.
Hope that helps
Ride like the wind
re: Any one use Time Impact pedals?Espresso
Jul 9, 2003 9:50 AM
I was referring to the Impact MAG
re: Any one use Time Impact pedals?mackgoo
Jul 9, 2003 10:22 AM
I just picked a pair of the Mag Ti, 150$ on E bay. I haven't actualy started using them yet. The reason why I'm responding is just a thought on your "nice big platform" comment. I must say I was pretty surprised at how small these pedals were.
re: Any one use Time Impact pedals?hppy4u
Jul 9, 2003 12:34 PM
Before I give my impressions, let me preface what I say by stating that I have been a long time Look pedal user (since 1986). With that in mind, my comments are being compared to the Look pedal system and my experiences with the two pedal systems.

I originally purchased the Time Impact S pedals with the intent of swithing over completely since various acquaintances have touted the efficiency and reliability of Time pedals. After logging close to 1000 miles, I have noticed a few differences. Initially, the Time angular float was effortless and kind of disconcerting (akin to walking on ice sensation). Additionally, the Q-factor of the Time pedals places your foot considerably further away from the crank. If you ride Campy chorus/record cranks you will notice that the foot placement is similar to riding Shimano equipped cranks...ie. your feet are slightly further apart. I would imagine with Shimano cranks your feet would be considerably further apart (email me if this last comment doesn't make sense). My final gripe is that the screw that held the adjustment plate for the Q-factor adjustment backed itself out and while engaging the pedal my cleat had sheared the head of the screw off. The adjustment plate eventually fell off on my return ride home. I thought this was an isolated incident until the other screw did the same thing a few days later(this was after tightening it to hopefully prevent a similar occurrence).

Addditionally, even when I had originally thought that pedal/cleat interface was adjusted properly I noticed I had developped a nagging knee pain that originally started on my left knee and then became present in both knees. The pain did not go away even though I made further adjustments and I ended up trying to rationalize the pain the last 200 miles of ownership. When I switched back to my Look PP296s the pain immediately disappeared. The last gripe I had was regarding the disengagement. Disengaging is so easy that it occurs inadvertenly at times...any slight twist to the foot will disengage the pedal.

Lastly, with regards to the positive traits of the pedals, I did notice that pedal+cleat+shoe height was definitely lower and promotes a pseudo-stable powerplant...up until you torque your feet and disengage.

Hope this helps.
re: Any one use Time Impact pedals?High Gear
Jul 9, 2003 2:32 PM
It took some getting used to after riding Look for eleven years. The first thing I noticed was that the pedal recentered my foot by the spring tention. The holes in the cleats don't allow to off center them. So if your used to riding with your shoes pointd in one direction (toe in or out), you won't be able to do it with the Impacts. I did get some knee pain at first due to this but after a little time it went away, just go easy at first. The thing I like the most about them is the connected feeling and lack of the dreded "Look squeak". I was able to drop my saddle hight by .5cm too. As a poster mentioned before, you have to go through and retorque all the screws. I'm sure Time has this under controle by now. I'll never go back to Look and have grown to really love my Times.
Where to buyPeterRider
Jul 9, 2003 5:42 PM
As far as I know, best prices for Time Impacts on the internet are from velostore in France (velostore.fr I think) - you buy without the VAT.

Didn't check recently with the low $ though, but I bet this is still the best deal around.

Pierre
Where to buyKG 361
Jul 9, 2003 6:37 PM
I'm seeing them for around $100 for the mags on e-bay. Are their prices better than that?
100$ seems surprisingly low...PeterRider
Jul 9, 2003 8:47 PM
is it end-of-auction price for new stuff, or current price for unended auctions ? When I checked about 6 months ago on ebay they were nowhere near that amount.

At velostore they are on
http://www.velostore.com/cgi-local/swcart.pl/page=route-divers-g7.html/SID=_MYSID_
With tax withdrawn I think it's around 130euros. Now I don't know today's rate for the $. If they run really for around 100$ on ebay I wouldn't bother buying from France.

Pierre
100$ seems surprisingly low...KG 361
Jul 10, 2003 6:05 AM
I bid on a pair last night. They went for $128 end of auction (mag version). The Ti's are going for around $160-$175 and the S's for <100. There are more mags on auction-hopefully I should be able to snag a pair for 100-125. Thanks for the info.
Thanks, everyone.KG 361
Jul 9, 2003 6:35 PM
I think I'll get them. As for the issue of toe-centering, I always ride w/ my feet straight ahead, so that won't be an issue-that's kind of why I don't want speed-play. I like having that "centered feel". Plus, I'm seeing more and more speedplays out there, and, well, I just don't want to be part of the crowd =)