RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


PEARL IZUMI Microsensor 3D Short - opinions(13 posts)

PEARL IZUMI Microsensor 3D Short - opinionsbburgoyne26
Jul 8, 2003 7:36 PM
I want to treat myself to a good pair of shorts. Any opinions on these or other shorts?
DependsFez
Jul 8, 2003 8:01 PM
The cheaper PI shorts with the purple chamois look and feel ridiculous. The chamois is so bulky it looks like you are packing a Depends or a diaper. And the whole thing moves around and chafes and is not comfortable at all.

The Microsensor 3D short was improved for this year. The chamois is much different than the cheaper PI shorts. It is actually fairly comfortable now, not bulky, and doesn't move around and chafe. Not a great value at $120.

I don't understand why PI couldn't have designed that type of comfort in their cheaper shorts.
Fit is excellent...chamois is fair...biknben
Jul 9, 2003 4:02 AM
I bought two pair of the 3d shorts a few weeks ago. The cut and fit is awesome. I'm a little disappointed in the chamois though. The marketing dept. makes this thing out to be the best since sliced bread. It's only marginally better than the Voler shorts I own that cost less than half the price.

Worth the price? It's up to you. Is fit your concern or padding. If it's padding, I would recommend looking at one of the other high end brands.
a vote for campykgg
Jul 9, 2003 5:19 AM
Not something you tend to see at the lbs, but I'm extremely happy with my Campagnolo Metal Trim bib short. The chamois is the best I've ever ridden, including (older) microsensors. You can find them online for around $100. Just one man's opinion though.
Currently running as my second favoriteterry b
Jul 9, 2003 5:43 AM
Have two pairs and I like them a lot. Much better than the last generation with the blue pad - the only pair of shorts that I've owned that managed to wear a hole in my tender parts. I really like their new pad - nice combo of soft stuff and fake chamois without overdoing it on the thinkness. They were my favorites (compared to Assos and Castelli PY2) until I tried some Santini Twist Gel. No comparison, the Santinis are the finest bib I've ever worn.
tell me more on Santini pleasebburgoyne26
Jul 9, 2003 6:09 AM
This is going to sound like a pretty dumb question, but I never really thought about wearing a bib before, what are the advantages?

Also, I noticed an ad in Bullteksports.com that had the Santini with internal or external? What does that mean? Pretty good prices there....

Thanks
tell me more on Santini pleaseterry b
Jul 9, 2003 7:29 AM
I like bibs for one simple reason - no waist band. I'm a pretty trim guy, but bent over the bars I still can roll the band over. Bibs remove this inconvenience.

I purchased my Santinis following a positive review in VeloNews (2 months ago?) They were the only brand that had no negatives and in wearing them, I've found that assessment to very accurate. The pad is pretty thin (my preference,) very comfortable and stays put. The rest of the construction and fit is great. Get them from http://www.bicyclinghub.com The owner - Doug - is a great guy, very helpful.
Are Santini's suitable for long-torsoed riders?bikeridah
Jul 9, 2003 7:12 AM
Bibs are almost always too tight on my shoulders, are these roomy on top?
That's meterry b
Jul 9, 2003 7:31 AM
I'm pretty long in the body but trim overall. A large in Assos for example (recommended for my weight and height) gives me an atomic wedgie.

An XL in Santini fits me like a glove, not too large in the bulk direction and just right in length. Call Doug at www.bicyclinghub.com for fitting help. He's a very helpful guy.
external vs internal?bburgoyne26
Jul 9, 2003 7:53 AM
what does that mean?
not sureterry b
Jul 9, 2003 8:24 AM
but if you make me guess, it may refer to where the pad "is." The Twist Gel bibs are different from any other short I have owned - there is no lycra over the pad on the outside of the short. Rather than the pad being sewn into the short, the pad forms the crotch of the short. Result is much thinner seams in places that count. The outside looks different though - instead of that shiny exterior, the pad area is matte black and not slippery. Actually a benefit in that you don't slide around on the saddle (although I've never seen this as a problem.)

The reason I didn't buy them from Bulltek though was because they chose to confuse matters with the internal/external designator. I knew which ones I wanted and bicyclinghub had them.
external vs internal?bikeridah
Jul 9, 2003 1:10 PM
According to Bulltek, the difference is where the chamois is located; and I quote "The external is the rave now. Basicly the chamois is stitched outside and not inside as traditional bibs [internal]." Not sure if I buy into this idea, especially for an extra $10...
that sounds like what I said (and they are nice) (nm)terry b
Jul 9, 2003 2:08 PM