RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Assaulted while riding 2Jul03...(19 posts)

Assaulted while riding 2Jul03...HAL9010
Jul 3, 2003 7:48 AM
Here in San Diego yesterday, I was JRA (just riding along), in front of West View High School well within the bike lane. The car lanes are quite wide along this road as well so being in the way was not in question. A bottle of liquid was thrown at me and just missed luckily. But it did whiff by quite close. The pick up truck with two teenage(?), young guys saluted me with the single finger gesture of (dis)respect. So I have no doubt that I was intentionally aimed at. I wish I could have been able to get even a partial license plate # as I always carry a cell Ph. I wonder if these punks heard those Texas radio jerks advocating bumping Cyclists?

To pile on additional cyclist indignities some other half wit(s) broke bottles in the bike lanes every 75 Ft. at six or so places along Black Mountain Road.

Well It won't keep me from riding and it won't keep me from stopping and cheerfully giving directions to the drivers (of all ages) who have been asking me for directions lately (five times in the last week alone). I will always strive to be a good and decent person.

Respect one another.

Ride on,

Hal
re: Assaulted while riding 2Jul03...Akirasho
Jul 3, 2003 7:57 AM
... sad to say, most often, folks find the need to lash out at others when something major is lacking in their own lives...

Glad you got through unscathed... but these are the risks we run... well worth it to me.

Be the bike.
yikes!4bykn
Jul 3, 2003 8:22 AM
Make a practice of getting plate numbers as you ride, it can become almost automatic. I find myself remembering plate numbers I didnt even think I'd looked at. Good practice for when you need it.

And what's that about the "Texas radio jerks"? Did I miss something?
sorry to hear that..newhouse
Jul 3, 2003 8:41 AM
especially since i'm a fellow san diegan. i'll count myself lucky since i've had good luck with motorists so far (well if you discount the guy in the truck who hit me at an intersection!). i'm relatively new to san diego - can you tell me where that high school is? i ride by mission bay high school every day on my commute and have yet to encounter any punks.
been in San Diego 6 months . . .Rich_Racer
Jul 3, 2003 8:46 AM
and generally everything's been good - the odd shout. One kid threw a plastic cup at me once but missed. Didn't even think to get the license plate.

Having said that - I never had anything like this at all in England. Maybe it's just the incredibly large number of riders in San Diego that get's to people.
One time I thought someone intentionally broke glasschopper
Jul 3, 2003 8:44 AM
in the bike lane close to my house but I then realized it must have been the glass recycle truck doing it because the broken glass was in the same spot in front of every house.
re: Assaulted while riding 2Jul03...aliensporebomb
Jul 3, 2003 8:58 AM
This happened to me...I'll never forget it.

Many years ago I was heading north at about a good
20 mph clip and a car full of drunken teens was
swerving all over the road.

I feared the worst when they started heading right
for me.

I saw a large object exit the vehicle on a trajectory
roughly in my direction and attempted to avoid it to
no avail.

It was a beer bottle.

Closing speed had to have been 35-40 mph or so. It hurt
like hell. To make matters worse, I was underage at the
time and my jersey smelled like a brewery.

The bottle didn't break and in fact landed on the grass
next to the roadway and was still 3/4ths full.

I was sore for freaking weeks afterwards....I thought
they'd broken something.....nope, but I did have a black
and blue mark where the bottle hit.

I was too stunned to get the license plate at the time
and I was so angry when it happened I probably just yelled
a bunch of obscenities at them.

Should have known better to ride on a friday evening too...
Seems like almost every ride....t0adman
Jul 3, 2003 8:59 AM
there's at least one or more jerks who just can't stand sharing the road with bikes. I did a 20 mile urban ride yesterday afternoon and as I was rounding a turn up a hill off a one-way onto a one-way I had to take the left of two lanes. In the process I slowed the wannabe monster truck (top sawed off an old Bronco or something, almost no muffler) for maybe 6 seconds, maybe. So, on his way by he gets incredibly close and guns the engine, spewing exhaust and deafening noise at me. As he went by I couldn't help but say, "Awesome!", to which he offered the erudite rejoinder, "F*ck You!". Without speaking I proved my point by cycling past Mr. Big Hurry at the next stop sign as he yelled the same salutation again. Although I try not to stoop down to that level, I couldn't help saying, "Hop on a bike", which made him just about go through the roof. Why do people have to be such jerks? Isn't there something about seeing someone busting their hump up a hill on a bike that commands respect? I guess they're just in a hurry to get a twelve pack and some more CrackDonalds.
I was once assaulted...snuz
Jul 3, 2003 5:59 PM
with, believe it or not, an ice cream cone. Seemed like it was hardly touched. Some one hurled an ice cream cone at me from a passing car and the ice cream part landed right in the middle of my back. It was actually a pretty good shot.
That's just not right!KG 361
Jul 5, 2003 3:54 PM
Wasting a completely good cone of icecream! =) Seriously, though, it really s$cks to have motorists do stupid things. I (knock on wood), have been pretty fortunate so far. Just the occasional verbal abuse.
re: Assaulted while riding 2Jul03...HAL9010
Jul 3, 2003 9:15 AM
West View HS is a new HS in the Penasquitos area (Poway School District) and was just mentioned as the location. I do not think the punks were leaving the school(summer school) as I had just passed the Parking lot entrance/exit and they were moving too fast to have just left the lot(not accelerating). SD roads are generally great as are most people here in this area of SD.

But bare in mind that Penasquitos is the area that provided us with the 4(or was it 5?) HS kids who took it upon them self's to hunt down and brutally attack migrant workers camping in the canyon.

I have been able to identify to the police one assault. Liquid thrown at me from a Moving Van that got caught in construction traffic up the road. But my other sprayings and verbal assaults with bike lane incursions happened too quickly or surprised me to get a fix in their lic. plates.

The bottle glass was clearly intentional. There are no houses or business fronted along that stretch of Black Mtn. Rd. north bound between Oviedo and Maler Ct.


The "Texas Radio Jerks" thread was:
Posted by: Colton
Jul-02-03, 06:03 AM
"Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!"

http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efd19ef
I rode there on the 4th...MShaw
Jul 7, 2003 10:36 AM
I did my "tour de North Co." on Fri. (O'side to Escon. to Poway to DM up the coast to O'side) and in the entire 4 hours, I didn't have anyone hassle me on purpose.

I don't know what it is about the drivers around here, but even with the bike lanes, we're still "in the way," and therefore subject to abuse. You'd figure in a town with as many outdoor athletes that there'd be a little more acceptance.

Mike
That's why I don't ride on 4th of July!!!shamelessgearwhore
Jul 3, 2003 9:40 AM
Too many sh!theads out driving with fireworks and booze!
what time do you ride ? surely this doesn't happen at 6am nmclimbo
Jul 3, 2003 9:51 AM
nm
Was this in the El Cajon/Lake side area ?????? (nm)cjwill
Jul 3, 2003 11:49 AM
bust a cap in their azzTime Trial dot org
Jul 3, 2003 1:31 PM
This is BS!!

I ride Black MTN road as well. It was probably some dumbass hicks from Poway heading home. There are some real backwards freaks in that area and stupid kids - inbreeding will do that to a society.

Remember just a while back when a group of teenage high school boys beat up and nearly killed those two migrant workers in their camp?



You should send you story to www.sdcbc.org so they can get it into the database.



Gary at www.timetrial.org




Here's the location of that incident:

http://www.mapquest.com/maps/map.adp?addtohistory=&country=US&address=9225+Adolphia+St.+&city=san+diego&state=ca&zipcode=&historyid=&submit.x=0&submit.y=0


Which incident? (nm)HAL9010
Jul 5, 2003 11:54 AM
Is everyone new to San Diego?DY
Jul 3, 2003 8:45 PM
Seems like everyone is new here....I grew up here and people from other places think it is "nirvana" here. It is just like any other place.....it has its plusses and minuses. Jerks and nice people.

I've been hit by an apple.....(good shot actually from a moving van), screamed at, flipped off, almost hit on countless occasions by cell phone using drivers (those are not on purpose I hope), twice I've had people in trucks pull up in front of us off the shoulder and then peel out and spray all kinds of dirt, etc at us. I don't know why..For some reason motorists don't seem to like cyclists no matter what area of the country you live (so it would seem).

Hey, San Diego isn't perfect (far from it) it's just like any other town, except you can ride all year.
It's amazing that...CritLover
Jul 3, 2003 8:58 PM
I've never experienced or heard of any other riders getting things tossed at them, and I live in friggin' NYC!

Most of the horror stories I've read on this forum occur in places that I would've thought would be the least susceptible to that kind of behavior. Instead, it seems to be much worse that I expected.

What's up with that?