RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!(11 posts)

Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!Colton
Jul 2, 2003 5:03 AM
I don't know for sure this is true but the Houston club put out this e-mail:

Subject: Walton and Johnson urging motorists to hit cyclists

If you ride, you must be aware of what two of our local radio personalities
are propagating over the airwaves. BikeHouston and the City of Houston
Bikeway Program are confirming the conversation broadcast and are calling
Clear Channel. Please take a minute read the following and to contact Clear
Channel Communications to voice your disgust and consider boycotting their
advertisers. Note: GHORBA has donated over $1,200 to the Clear Channel Santa
Letters program the last two Christmas seasons. Some respect to cyclists is
the least they can do.

Here is the actual excerpt from a recent broadcast. Prepare to be outraged.

Walton: "I hate those guys in their gay little bike shorts and stupid
looking pointy helmets. They're always in my way. I'm telling ya, I'm gonna
tap one of you guys. You keep getting in my way with your stipid looking
pointy helmets... and I drive big car. I'm gonna have to give one of em' a
little tap. Send him to the ditch"

Mr. Kenneth, the "gay" character: "Oh and I'll come visit you in jail. Ohh!"

Billy Ed the redneck character (the same person as the gay one): "Just
knock em' off the road."

Walton: "Really, these guys don't have the right of way. You don't have the
right of way. Just keep off the road for the real forms of transportation,
automobiles, and we'll all be fine. Keep out of my way and I won't have to
run you over"

This was followed up with several Texas and LA rednecks calling up
to confirm their hatred for cyclists and their desire to see cyclists hurt,
run over, humiliated and punished by rogue law enforcement.

Wanna e-mail this idiot? It's on me.

http://www.klol.com/email-johnwalton.html
re: Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!cyclinseth
Jul 2, 2003 5:58 AM
Kind of stupid on Walton and Johnson's part. It would be extremely easy to find out where these two humanoids live. Maybe one morning they will wake up at around 3:30am to find their homes ablaze and all exits blocked.

I think if I lived in Texas (I thank God every day that I don't), I'd be applying for a permit to carry.
re: Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!seyboro
Jul 2, 2003 6:27 AM
A lawyer and biking bud of mine put it this way at a recent group ride: "I wished, one of these clowns'd put me rubber side up just one time. I promise you, if I live, it'll be Christmas for everyone in the club..."
re: Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!orange_julius
Jul 2, 2003 6:22 AM
Neither Bike Houston nor the City of Houston
Bikeway Program mention this on their websites:

http://www.bikehouston.org
http://www.ci.houston.tx.us/pwe/bikeways/index.htm

Maybe I missed it?

Could you share your references, please? Did the mailing
list owner send the message?

I don't listen to the radio at all, so I can't confirm
nor deny it, but let's wait for credible sources of
news before taking action.
re: Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!Colton
Jul 2, 2003 7:19 AM
I received this from Chuck Cypert, a mountain bike trail guide author from the Dallas area. He did not list his resourses on this, just posted this thread that was sent to a Oklahoma Mountain & Road Club.
Mountinbiking is certainly SAFER then road riding:^) nmasphalt assault
Jul 2, 2003 6:45 AM
Send complaints to Program Directorrollo tommassi
Jul 2, 2003 9:17 AM
What a bunch of jerks!
Send complaints to Program Directorrussw19
Jul 2, 2003 1:50 PM
If it's a Clear Channel station, the PD has nothing to do with it. It is most likely not their show, but syndicated. If it's syndicated, the PD can't do a thing about it. You would be just getting angry at the wrong person... instead, go straight to the top and contact Clear Channel directly. You would want to contact John Cullen, who is the Senior VP of Southwest Central Clear Channel Stations.

I have a few friends who work for Clear Channel stations and their email is just their first and last names @clearchannel.com... so I would bet you can get John Cullen via the same way. I can also look further into this thru those friends and find out who you need to write to if anyone wants to pursue this issue further. Otherwise, I won't bother. But if someone wants me to get this info for them, let me know.

Russ
actually.... follow-uprussw19
Jul 2, 2003 1:51 PM
Contact this person...

Lisa Dollinger
Senior Vice President, Corporate Communication
200 East Basse Road
San Antonio, TX 78209
210-822-2828
lisacdollinger@clearchannel.com

It's her job to deal with this type of crap.

Russ
Thanks!!rollo tommassi
Jul 6, 2003 3:38 PM
re: Go ahead and try to hit me....a**hole!Tower
Jul 2, 2003 10:12 AM
When did this air? I listen to them on the way in to work sometimes. Typical shock-jocks trying to get attention.

They're from Louisiana, so what do you expect?