RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Saddle recommendations for a 200lb rider?(15 posts)

Saddle recommendations for a 200lb rider?Nigeyy
Jun 25, 2003 8:38 AM
Just looking for some kindly advice:

After giving the Cannondale stock saddle (Selle Royal Wing or something like that) a good go for the past three months, I've decided enough is enough. This thing just isn't comfortable.

Keeping in mind I'm a bit of porker at 200lbs, does anyone have any recommendations for a saddle preferably under $70? Oh yeah, I'll be doing the Flattest Century in the East this September, so comfort is key here over any saddle weight issues.

I've been told that the Koobi Silver and Terry Fly are good ones.... opinions anyone?
Forgot to say....Nigeyy
Jun 25, 2003 8:40 AM
I have dutifully gone through the reviews posted on this site -but I figured that the average rider here is somewhat more svelte than myself, hence my call for help....
Forgot to say....maximum15
Jun 25, 2003 8:47 AM
Saddles are tough to recommend. I vary in weight from 220 to 230. On one bike I have a Selle SLR that I really like. On another, I have a Selle trans am. I used to like the cutout in the trans am, but have come to the conclusion that is just a place for the shorts to bunch up in. Another bike has an old Cannodale something or other that is really nice. Long story short, you have to sit on the bones and not the soft parts. Try wider and narrower saddles until you find one you like. Also, in my opinion, stay very far away from padded and gel saddles.
re: Saddle recommendations for a 200lb rider?MVN
Jun 25, 2003 9:00 AM
I have two Silvers and love them, except that they a re a little too wide for me. However I just got a used Selle Italia MaxFlite TransAm GelFlow and it is really the most comfortable thing I've ever sat on. I've put 75 miles on it and no problems whatsoever. I weigh 195 right now, but was at 206 when I got the Silvers. I love the Silver, but like I said it's just a teeny bit too wide for me. I think I'm going to get a new GelFlow and put the used one on my other bike. The width is perfect for me and it has suspension that works better than the suspension on the Silver. Hope that helps.

Mark
re: Saddle recommendations for a 200lb rider?Poulidor
Jun 25, 2003 9:04 AM
Saddles are like shoes, what works for one person often does not for another. So take all recommendations with a grain of salt. I'm 215 lbs, down from 255 (yahoo!). I have used the Selle Italia Turbomatic 3 for about 8 years and love it. About 1 year ago I got a Turbomatic Quattro (the new and improved version) for another bike. It is as good, if not better, as far as comfort. For what it's worth, I would stay away from the gel version, just stick with the plain smooth leather. I believe they are $70 and you can get them from Excel Sports in Boulder (www.excelsports.com).

Cheers
Prolink Trans Am Gelflow = Weight Loss Machinecdhbrad
Jun 25, 2003 10:15 AM
I have 2 of these. Started out last year at 227 now at 175, had to be the saddles. Seriously though, they are the most comfortable saddles I have ever ridden. Gel, but not mushy at all. I also have a Prolink Gel and a regular TransAm on two other bikes, but the Prolink TA Gelflows are the best.
I'd save up $20 more and buy a Brooks, but if not that...cory
Jun 25, 2003 11:53 AM
I'm a Brooks guy, after fooling around with probably a dozen others, but I think those are going for $90 and up now (mine are several years old). A couple of my buddies in our weight range like the Turbomatic, for what that's worth.
depends on which brooks you're buyingJS Haiku Shop
Jun 25, 2003 12:03 PM
www.wallbike.com
www.bicycleclassics.com

i'm a brooks convert. 200#.
re: Saddle recommendations for a 200lb rider?dcdre
Jun 25, 2003 12:22 PM
Not quite 200lbs, around 190 and working on slimming that down. I have a Koobi AU Enduro, basically same saddle as the silver only with some kevlar bits to help with abrasion.

The koobis do tend to run wide in the back, but that fits my bones awesomely. Ride on it for hours on end and feel fine doing so. A hearty thumbs up for koobis.

The terry saddles looked to be a bit narrower than the koobis which is why I went this route. No regrets, I may end up buying one for my MTB as well.
Some tips.Len J
Jun 25, 2003 12:37 PM
Try to borrow some riding buds saddles to try, try to get a wide assortment of shapes as well as flat and non flat tops. The reason is that you are trying to determine the correct width for your individual sit bones as well as your cheeks and upper inside thighs. In addition, some people would rather sit in one place & can tolerate a "Saddle " shape, while others move around on the saddle in which case a flat saddle works better.

Once you have an idea of the correct contour and shape, you can narrow down & begin the selection process.

Small adjustments to a saddles tilt and rotation can make a hugh difference. I have an SLR that is torture until I find that position where my sit bones are the only thing touching the saddle, when I find this position, the saddle disappears.

For a larger rider, I would suggest that you look at either the Prolink or Max Flite from Sella Italia. They seem to be made for wider riders.

Me, I went on the quest for the perfect saddle last year. After about 10,000 miles, 7 saddles and much figiting around, I am currently riding a Brooks narrow. This weekend, 2- 3.5 hour hard rides and I honestly never noticed the saddle. For me, that is the ultimate test.

YMMV

Len
Selle Flite Ti rails with Gelshamelessgearwhore
Jun 25, 2003 12:48 PM
Selle Flite w / Ti rails, the newer Gel model. I used to just use the old plain Flite Ti black model but the one with Gel is even better. It's not Gel like the big gushy seats, its designed for road bikes. Works for me at least. I would be tempted to try a Brooks some day just because they look cool.
I like mine, too. nmThe Don
Jun 25, 2003 1:30 PM
re: Saddle recommendations for a 200lb rider?daCaT_
Jun 25, 2003 9:27 PM
Im using the Koobi Eu Enduro. Most comfortable saddle i have ridden. I was at 210 last year and it works even better now that im 180!
re: Saddle recommendations for a 200lb rider?ukiahb
Jun 25, 2003 9:28 PM
I'm also about 200 lbs. and have a Turbomatic III on one bike and a Max Flite TransAm on the other...both work really well and are comfortable on all day rides
Thanks GuysNigeyy
Jun 26, 2003 5:14 AM
By consensus I think I've expanded my list of possibilites to include the Selle Turbomatic or Max Flite TransAm.

It would be so nice to test ride a saddle but I just don't think I can do that -I'll have to take a leap of faith on this one.