RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Poll - least comfortable saddle.(28 posts)

Poll - least comfortable saddle.dzrider
Jun 25, 2003 4:30 AM
San Marco Concor Lite for me. I tried it again and stood up every chance I got. I'm wondering if we'll have any more luck agreeing on the worst than we've had agreeing on the best.
Specializes BG Sport (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Jun 25, 2003 5:12 AM
Second the BG Sport (nm)Silverback
Jun 25, 2003 7:53 AM
Ritchey Vector Wingpitt83
Jun 25, 2003 5:18 AM
Ramp in the back which forces your weight severly forward.
Whatever godawful Selle San Marco it isOldEdScott
Jun 25, 2003 5:22 AM
that Lemond sticks on its Zurichs. Like a hatchet up my crack.
"Era" I thinkCrankist
Jun 25, 2003 5:45 AM
And agreed; it'll slice ya a new one.
Era =Italian for "agonizing butt wedge"lanterne rouge
Jun 25, 2003 7:03 AM
I absolutely agree the Era has to be the least comfortable saddle ever produced. Maybe an Italian and French conspiracy? (Italian made, designed in France, possibly by Marquis de Sade?) Then they sponsor US Postal hoping to finally beat Lance by giving his teammates saddle sores? (I know that Lance rides a Concor, he is always one step ahead of those hoping to beat him?) :)
On the treks too? HATED IT!!!!sctri
Jun 25, 2003 7:25 AM
If thats the one on the trek 5200 (the blue USPS one) the I TOTALLY AGREE!

I hated that saddle, lasted about a week, then it had to go!

RC

SLP is way more comfy
Very rider dependent.MXL02
Jun 25, 2003 5:40 AM
I hated the Sella Italia TransAM, but my LBS guy who rides a custom Seven just loves it. Very hard on my derrierre.
Cannondale 'Wing.' Cheek Chafer!WrigleyRoadie
Jun 25, 2003 5:40 AM
Came stock on my Canny Bad Boy. Grabbed at my skin through my shorts and attempted to rip the flesh from my body. I tied the 'saddle' to a cinder block and threw it off a bridge.
re: Poll - least comfortable saddle.geeker
Jun 25, 2003 6:10 AM
I find the Concor Lite OK. I've only been riding for about 2 years, but it was on a used bike I bought, and I've seen no reason to experiment with others. Even replaced the old one with new one of same model. [Inexperience disqualifies me from ranking a best or worst.]
re: Poll - least comfortable saddle.dcdre
Jun 25, 2003 6:15 AM
My new-to-me specialized epic allez came with a sparkly red schwinn seat which gets the ass hatchet award in my book.
re: Poll - least comfortable saddle.SpaceCowboy
Jun 25, 2003 6:38 AM
I think I found a winner in the Selle San Marco Era Pro. It's not as wide as so many of the others from the middle of the saddle to the back end. Plus it's got more cushion than say the Aspide. Those that have caused some serious chaffing were the Prolink and the Turbomatic 4. Way too much cushion and too wide for the thighs. Anyone use the Selle Italia SLR Gel Flow (cutout)?....
Prolink Gel...Dave Hickey
Jun 25, 2003 6:47 AM
The gel portion of the saddle is raised higher than the rest of the saddle. The saddle has a hump in the worst spot. It put MORE pressure on my sensitive area.
Like riding on a brick...and was purported to be MOREMXL02
Jun 25, 2003 7:50 AM
comfortable. Terrible saddle.
Hey, that's my FAVORITE saddle!KG 361
Jun 25, 2003 5:11 PM
My worst is the Flite-I had parts go numb that I NEVER want to be numb. I could ride on my Pro-link for days in complete comfort. Just shows how much saddle choice is a personal choice....
2 contenders:Alexx
Jun 25, 2003 7:07 AM
The first is one of those Serfas "cutout" saddles from a couple of years ago-absolutely awful! Not only is the cutout not needed, but the sharp raised edges actually pressed harder into my nether regions than even the worst standard saddle would. Add to that the stitching on said ridges, well.....
The only thing worse I can remember was some guy's hard plastic 'race-only' saddle. It had no padding, so I guess it came as no surprise that it was as hard as...well, hard plastic. Still, it was more comfortable than the Serfas...
San Marco AspidePsalm 147-10_11
Jun 25, 2003 7:22 AM
or as a friend calls it, "ass bite".
Serfas Monaco Race_rt_
Jun 25, 2003 7:34 AM
looks cool but nearly killed me. the fit was so bad that it made my achilles tendons hurt to the point where i literally had to crawl out of bed in the morning because i couldn't walk!!

anyone want to buy a saddle?!

rt
Older Bontrager mountain saddle.jw25
Jun 25, 2003 7:36 AM
The ones with cut-off sides - the padding's just too soft, so you sink in, and get numb pretty fast.
I also tried a Cannondale, made by Selle Italia, something with Ti rails, and it was horrible. Just the wrong shape, caused severe pressure points, and got canned after 2 days.
To be fair, though, a lot depends on your body type and riding position. I've got a San Marco Squadra on my TT bike, and it's killing me, but on my mountain bike, where your body's more upright, it's fine. I need to swap it out soon, but TT's pretty specialized, and I have yet to find a good saddle for it.
Personally, I like my Era Pro, though I find it to need a little more tilt than a Flite.
Specialized BG Comp . . .Look381i
Jun 25, 2003 7:43 AM
A few years ago, in response to the great impotence scare, I tried the Body Geometry Comp out for a few months in place of my long-time favorite, the Flite Ti. What a joke. All that extra padding just made my rear end sore and achy after only 20 miles or so every time. After trying many adjustments, went back to Flite Ti.

Last summer on the recommendation of a friend, I switched to an SLR, even more comfy than the Flite Ti. It has worked very well, at least up up to a double metric.

Less is more.
2nd, this saddle is either loved or hated (nm)Scot_Gore
Jun 25, 2003 8:17 AM
re: Poll - least comfortable saddle.gcbgcb
Jun 25, 2003 10:10 AM
The stock saddle that came on my LeMond--something called a CRZ+. Weighs slightly less than 14 lbs. and numbs your entire lower body as quickly as any epidural.
Anything from WTB... (nm)The Walrus
Jun 25, 2003 10:40 AM
Agree with you there!!! (nm)Fender
Jun 25, 2003 2:54 PM
I feel like getting flamedmapei boy
Jun 25, 2003 2:59 PM
An old Brooks.
re: Poll - least comfortable saddle.xcandrew
Jun 25, 2003 5:30 PM
Specialized Pro-long. I had that on my mountain bike for years and aways thought it was awful, but didn't get around to changing it until last summer. As I was scanning the reviews here (or on mtbr.com), I noticed it easily had the worst rating out of saddles that had a significant number of reviews.
re: Poll - least comfortable saddle.t0adman
Jun 26, 2003 9:59 AM
The stock saddle on the Lemond Zurich I just got. The freakin' thing might as well be dime-sized and all the pressure is right on the taint. Tied to a cinder block and sunk is one of the better ideas I've heard. I think it deserves a more dastardly demise - maybe fire!