RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


OK, tomorrow is buy day, waffling on trek 2300 vs. 5200(33 posts)

OK, tomorrow is buy day, waffling on trek 2300 vs. 5200rory1
Jun 24, 2003 7:36 AM
All,

I have been looking and riding some on the trek 2300. I had figured that is the bike I would get since the 5200 was somewhat out of my budget.

NOW I ran across a shop in town selling the 5200 for a great price ($2299). the 2300 I can get for $1699......

I have not ridded the 5200 because when I was doing some test rides, the price on the 5200 was too much, hence not even a consideration.

I have seen a couple of threads here on discussions around this - and have read the reviews on this site on the 2300 and the 5200.......

since the 5200 has hit the very high end of my budget - I am considering it....

Any last thoughts or words of advice before tomorrow (when I was planning to get the 2300 but now will test ride the 5200 too to see how it goes).....

thx
If you ride the 5200 and like it...Dave Hickey
Jun 24, 2003 7:44 AM
You'll never look back and say "Darn, I wish I bought the 2300".
What's a little more money?filtersweep
Jun 24, 2003 7:57 AM
You already are spending a lot- why not just a bit more? If you are happier with your ride for a longer time, you will be money ahead... or if you end up riding it more... or whatever out of a million ways to justify the extra expense...
What's a little more money?Steve_0
Jun 24, 2003 10:51 AM
airfare for two to europe for a weekend suprise for your SO...principle application yielding 4 months off your mortgage...a quality bike for a deserving, underpriveledged neighborhood kid...a couch...the finest briefcase at your father's firm...an 82 cb750...food for 2 months, or 10 months in guatemala...a 14ft sneakbox...2 rem870's...baseball uniforms for inner-city kids...portrait of your child...a PC...about a million other things if it DOESNT make your riding happier, or more, or whatever.
When it comes to this sort of thing, Steve_0OldEdScott
Jun 24, 2003 11:00 AM
you gotta remember one thing about this board. It's Chinatown.
I vote for the 5200...CaliforniaDreaming
Jun 24, 2003 7:51 AM
If this is not you're first bike, then you might appreciate the feel of the 5200. Depending on your local roads, you might like the smoother feel. Does the bike feel kinda "Dead" as it is often described? Yeah, it does. But that's just the carbon fiber doing its work. Can you spend the $2300 on a bike with better feed back? Sure, but what do you want in your bike's performance? So what if the 5200 feels more like a LazyBoy than more precisely tuned aluminum and steel frames, it'll keep you more comfortable and riding longer over more varied surfaces. In my humble world, this means a greater experience return for your dollar. Just don't sell yourself on a 5200 because its a great deal, ride it and see if it works for you. $2300 will buy you some sweet bikes. I just think that the 5200 would be a great choice at that price point. I'm sure others will chime in with a list of options. Just my $0.02.

Best of Luck!

John M.
re: OK, tomorrow is buy day, waffling on trek 2300 vs. 5200loki_1
Jun 24, 2003 7:53 AM
Test ride the 5200... Get the bike that is most comfortable for you in your price range (high end, middle, whereever). You dont want to be second guessing yourself a year (a month, a week, etc) from now.

The LBS near me sells the 5200 for $2500, on sale for $2250.

Good luck.
Another vote for the 5200CHRoadie
Jun 24, 2003 7:55 AM
OCLV is Trek's bread & butter. They do carbon much better than they do aluminum, and as the proud owner of a 5500, I can tell you that OCLV is sweet!
BEWARE!Drone 5200
Jun 24, 2003 8:08 AM
One ride and you will never go back.

I went through the same thing you are doing. Originally I wanted to spend 1000 to 1500. Then I thought I'd spend a little more to go with a 2300 for $1800. Then, just to see what was a little out of my range, I test road a the 5200. . . .

After giving it a ride I could not get myself to seriously consider an aluminum frame again. Then I looked around at other carbon bikes, and realized you wont find a better deal than the 5200. I paid $2530 for mine w/ a triple.

My prediction: If you take it for a ride, you will buy one. Post back and let us all know what you decide. post a pic or two.

I have about 1000 mile on mine now and zero regrets. for me, I'm 100% positive I made the right choice.
2300, no doubt.Steve_0
Jun 24, 2003 8:12 AM
the 2300 is a great value in a bike. Its more bike than most people on this bored need. There's much better things in life to spend money on than a number on a seattube.
Budget observationDCP
Jun 24, 2003 8:29 AM
I know of no one who rides regularly who wishes they had spent less on their bike. I know a few, including me, who wish they had bought a better bike. Warning, this logic applies only if you ride a lot.
I wish I had spent less....Fender
Jun 24, 2003 1:33 PM
I ride a lot, between 200-250 miles per week and I wish I had spent less money on my bike. I also race and sometimes wonder where I could have invested some of my money had I not been riding so much.

Now I only buy what breaks or wears out, but don't splurge on getting the lastest component or tire.
Unless you are a Cat 1-2, or have a really big ego.........MR_GRUMPY
Jun 24, 2003 8:31 AM
the 2300 will be more than enough bike for you. Our women's team got 2300's last year, and loved them. Just think, you could put that $600 into a better group, or into your pocket.
If you're out to impress your friends, get the 5200.
5200 hands downrrjc5488
Jun 24, 2003 8:40 AM
I was deciding between the two, and i got the 5200 and its great. i got it about two months ago with about 400 miles on it. (sorry, its been raining 3/4 days on long island!) but go for the 5200, its really smooth on tough roads and light.
Yeah butfiltersweep
Jun 24, 2003 9:25 AM
Your frame gives you "the ride"- it is logical to start there (you don't usually compare steel vs. aluminum by comparing price, do you?).

Most of us ride bikes that are overkill- or at least many of us... or at least I do- and I make no apologies.

I was feeling a bit guilty at a group ride when a guy showed up on a Trek 1000... but the next day, a guy showed up on a custom Seven that he claimed cost over $6000 (and he was a complete newbie).

We'd all be driving Cavaliers or Escorts or whatever if it weren't for overkill... overkill is simply part of having fun- and I can think of innumerably worse ways to "waste money."
'overkill is simply part of having fun'Steve_0
Jun 24, 2003 10:41 AM
I can think of innumerable better ways to spend money.
'overkill is simply part of having fun'OldEdScott
Jun 24, 2003 11:01 AM
Right. The scary thing is, others here CAN'T. Take them at their word on this.
Really, he wouldn't notice the difference?djg
Jun 24, 2003 9:38 AM
I had a 5200 for a while (Y2k) model. At the time, I also tested Trek's best Al offering and I didn't think much of it at all--I didn't like the ride nearly as well as that of the 5200 and I didn't like it nearly as well as some of the AL offerings I tried either. I'm not sure what "more than enough bike" means--I didn't like it so I didn't want it. And I've never been a Cat 1 or 2. I used to be a Cat 3, but that was years ago and I'm quite sure I couldn't race with the 3s anymore if I tried to jump back in. Now, even at my advanced age (and declined strength), I thought I noticed a real difference between bikes I tried and that I preferred some things to others. I don't think I bought the trek (since sold) to satisfy my really big ego--it's not that I don't have a really big ego, it's just that I honestly don't think that pulling out a credit card and buying a bicycle is really much of an accomplishment in life. Was I just kidding myself?
Are you on crack?CHRoadie
Jun 24, 2003 1:31 PM
Buyers remorse goes both ways. If, in 6 months, he decides he wanted the better, smoother frame, he's out $1,800 and has to start over. The 5200 is a much better ride. Have you ever wondered why so many people ride Trek OCLVs? It's not just 'cause Lance does--these are very, very good bikes! And the 5200 is one of the best 'bang-for-the-buck' bikes around.
Which ever suits your needs better.Fender
Jun 24, 2003 8:36 AM
If this is your first road bike, go for the 2300. How do you know that you will love road cycling? Six months from now will you still have time to ride? A year from now? Now, do you really need a CF bike? Is it a nice luxuary, yes. Necessity, no.

You know your getting a bike for sure. Don't buy into all the marketing hype. Think more about your needs and what you can do with the extra $600... weekend trip with your SO, put in your 401k or IRA, etc...

Either bike you choose, enjoy the ride!!!
5200, All I have to say...........BIG RING
Jun 24, 2003 8:55 AM
is that I got rid of my C-40 after riding a friend's 5200, upgraded with DA to make it essentially a 5500. With the frameset price of the C-40 I put the money into a 5900.

My point, the ride characteristics between the OCLV 120 in the 5200 and the C-40 were the same. The 5900 is stiffer than both. I like aluminum as well, but, there is no magic in the ride. Aluminum sprints and climbs well, but, so does the 5200 and Carbon Fiber just feels great. I've heard it said before, Some say CF feels wooden, I say plush.
Another way to look at itCHRoadie
Jun 24, 2003 1:40 PM
Let's say he buys the 2300 and loves road biking. Then he tries out a buddy's 5200 and feels the difference (and he will!). Now he's out $1,800 and has to start over. On the other hand, if he gets the 5200 and hates road biking he can sell it.
whatever you buy, you will want something else next year!(nm)shamelessgearwhore
Jun 24, 2003 8:48 AM
perhaps if you're a shamelessgearwhore.Steve_0
Jun 24, 2003 10:35 AM
Personally, I love my 15ish year old bike. So much so that my 'new' bike resides at my father's house, where it gets used.

Wish I never wasted money on that thing.
Just got a 5200 after riding AL for 2 years...MVN
Jun 24, 2003 9:13 AM
and there's no way I'll go back to aluminum. It's worth every penny. I didn't buy it to impress anyone, I got it for the ride quality. If you can stretch your budget, I really don't think you'll regret it. But first test ride it. I bet once you do, you won't consider aluminum again. For me it's like riding on a cloud, bumps and rough spots disappear. Hope that helps. Good luck!

Mark
thx for the responses, a little more detail...rory1
Jun 24, 2003 12:25 PM
Yes, this would be my first road bike, but I don't consider myself a biking newbie. I ride a mountain bike a bunch (I'm 41 now) in the mountains, and in town. Preferably the MTB should be in the mountains (I live in denver area) yet it is the only bike I have.

It is a Gary Fisher Sugar 3 (a 2000 model) and I bought it with as much trepidation as this road bike purchase. I don't like to 'throw' money around, but I do like to buy good gear - once - and then *USE* that gear.

As for whether or not I would 'like' road biking - I'm sure I would since I ride my MTB today around town and like it - I will probably like it more with the proper equipment underneath me......

thanks for your responses, I will post after tomorrow as to what the final decision is......

thx
rory
5200andy02
Jun 24, 2003 12:31 PM
I went from alu to a 5200 last year and won't ride anything else from now on. I have 4800 miles on 5200 that I bought last may. I found that I couldn't ride enough with this bike. I don't get as tired riding carbon fiber as did on all of my other alu bikes. Last night is a good exsample I did 50 with my wife a freind called and wanted to ride so I changed shorts and went out for another 46miles. I would never have been able to do a random 96 mile ride on a monday night after a hard weekend if it weren't for the comfort of my 5200.
thx for the responses, a little more detail...rory1
Jun 24, 2003 12:32 PM
Yes, this would be my first road bike, but I don't consider myself a biking newbie. I ride a mountain bike a bunch (I'm 41 now) in the mountains, and in town. Preferably the MTB should be in the mountains (I live in denver area) yet it is the only bike I have.

It is a Gary Fisher Sugar 3 (a 2000 model) and I bought it with as much trepidation as this road bike purchase. I don't like to 'throw' money around, but I do like to buy good gear - once - and then *USE* that gear.

As for whether or not I would 'like' road biking - I'm sure I would since I ride my MTB today around town and like it - I will probably like it more with the proper equipment underneath me......

thanks for your responses, I will post after tomorrow as to what the final decision is......

thx
rory
go for the 5200jimmyihatetoregister
Jun 24, 2003 12:37 PM
I live in Boulder. Ride a LeMond Zurich and a Moots YBB. I love to ride my mtb but getting in the car to drive to a crowded trail is not always the best thing to do. I love riding on the road & can get great rides from my door. You'll love road riding probably. The 5200 is really nice--you won't regret it.
thx for the responses, a little more detail...rory1
Jun 24, 2003 12:41 PM
Yes, this would be my first road bike, but I don't consider myself a biking newbie. I ride a mountain bike a bunch (I'm 41 now) in the mountains, and in town. Preferably the MTB should be in the mountains (I live in denver area) yet it is the only bike I have.

It is a Gary Fisher Sugar 3 (a 2000 model) and I bought it with as much trepidation as this road bike purchase. I don't like to 'throw' money around, but I do like to buy good gear - once - and then *USE* that gear.

As for whether or not I would 'like' road biking - I'm sure I would since I ride my MTB today around town and like it - I will probably like it more with the proper equipment underneath me......

thanks for your responses, I will post after tomorrow as to what the final decision is......

thx
rory
5200. Do yourself a favor.RickC5
Jun 24, 2003 2:35 PM
I live in Aurora, and know the conditions of the roads in the Denver area as well as you do.

I rode a Klein Quantum Race for 1.5 seasons prior to buying my 5200. It has such a smoother ride compared to the Klein that I stopped riding the Klein and finally sold it.

Ride both bikes at speed over some rough road surfaces (not too hard to find) and you'll immediately notice the difference in ride.
DOUGLAS Vector Dura-Ace Bike $1800Damn
Jun 24, 2003 6:37 PM
DOUGLAS Vector Dura-Ace Bike $1800
coloradocyclist.com
They say a 55cm weighs 17 lbs. Mine comes in tomorrow, we'll see.

Frame:
Easton UltraLite 7005 aluminum with S-bend carbon seat stays and chain stays, dual-pass welds, oversize downtube, replaceable derailleur hanger.

Fork:
Reynolds Ouzo Pro Carbon 1 1/8" integrated. $328.00 360 grams

Frame Weight (55cm): 2 lbs., 5 oz. price - not accounted for

Components:
Shimano® Dura-Ace® 9-speed STI®
Flight Deck® shifter/brake levers, $220.00 432 grams
derailleurs, front & rear $100.00 79 grams, 195 grams
crankset (39/53), $188.00 594 grams
bottom bracket, $40.00 173 grams
cassette (12-27), $79.99 177 grams
chain, $22.00 304 grams
brakeset; $140.00 317.5 grams
Cane Creek S2 headset; $54.99 140 grams
Velomax Circuit wheelset; $450.00 Front 690g, Rear 930g
Continental GP 3000 700x23 tires; $66.00 both 454 grams
TTT Zepp XL bar and $79.99 206 grams
stem; $99.99 130 grams
Easton EC70 seat post; $109.99 170 grams
San Marco Aspide Ti saddle. $74.99 160 grams

$2054.00 5511.00 grams

5511grams * 28 = 197 ounces * 16 = 12.30 + 2.5 lbs = 14.8lbs

Not accounted for, tubes, handlebar tape, cables and cable covers.
I listed the going price of all the components separately. They would cost more alone than the whole bike.
DOUGLAS Vector Dura-Ace Bike $1800katooom
Aug 30, 2003 4:10 PM
Did you get the Douglas Vector?
What is your opinion. Seems like good value
Thanks