RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Buy Now!(11 posts)

Buy Now!VW
Jun 23, 2003 5:12 PM
I finally got the $3500 set aside for my new frame purchase. I have the other components (Shimano) although they were used for about 2 years. I already emailed Mike at Maestro about the C40, and he has my size/color in HP (~$2700) and non-HP (~$2600). Extra money might be needed for new bottom bracket, headset, seatpost, stem etc...

I also like the (look of the) Fondriest P4 alot. I don't mind the squished top tube. Effective geometry is fairly close to the Colnago eventhough the Fondriest has a slightly sloping top tube. I can get the Fondriest frame for $1800.

Last Saturday, I show-up on this club ride and didn't recognized anybody except only three guys who were regulars. My senses told me it was going to be trouble. Sure enough I got toasted and dropped at this ride (80 miles 8,000 foot of climb). I was just about to pull the trigger on the C40 since I got the money altogether last Friday. Now I got cold feet, I'm not so sure I want to be that old man riding on a C40 with all show and no go!

Also the $2700 can get the Fondriest with all new components (campy?) ... or I can just save the money for future purchase of other bike goodies such as a heart monitor so that I can train-up the smoke those same guys next time ... err next year ... maybe not :)

I know only I will be able to make that decision, but it would be good to hear your opinion.

C40 HP, non-HP, Fondriest P4, or Fondriest with Campy?

Thanks!

VW
Too much buget for the frameLC
Jun 23, 2003 6:17 PM
If you need parts then keep looking for a frame within you buget and don't forget about spending some on wheels that will actually help you go faster as opposed to a frame with fancy paint.
Too much buget for the frameVW
Jun 23, 2003 6:34 PM
I actually already have Ksyrium wheels. Like the other components I have, I used them for the last 1-2 years!

VW
Get what you want!!Ligon
Jun 23, 2003 6:53 PM
If you want the C-40 get it. Who gives a crap if you got dropped on a club ride by some faster guys. Just because you are not as fast as someone else does not mean you can't have a nice bike. It is your money and you earned it, and how you spend it is nobodys business but your own. I have found from past experience if you don't really get what you want the first time all you will do is lust after what you really wanted. It will absolutley drive you crazy.

If you $3500 budgeted for the frame and the cost is only $2700, I would put the older components on and buy a new seatpost, stem, bar, cables, bar tape and tires. That will probally even leave you a little extra cash to buy that HRM.

I have no personal experience riding any of the frames you have mentioned so I am of no help there.

Get what you really want,
Ligon
Get what you want!!...... I 2nd thatflying
Jun 23, 2003 9:54 PM
Yup.....
If your line of thinking were the norm
nobody but Lance could ride the Trek ;-)
Kidding aside for that kind of money you should get what *you* want period.
Have fun thats what its about right?
I love carbon too but have the Look 381i
Good Luck & enjoy what ever you get!
Already there!Iamhoosier
Jun 24, 2003 5:23 AM
Just finished my first 62 miler last weekend. Colnago Master X-Light, K's, CK headset, etc. 2 months old. My wife asked me if I passed anyone. I did. A dead squirrel in the road!!

I'm 50 in a couple weeks. Got what I wanted. Actually had been avoiding riding where "real" riders rode until last weekend. Had several questions and nice comments about the bike. Don't know what was said behind my back but I had fun and that is the point.
Get what you want.djg
Jun 24, 2003 6:07 AM
Look, if you want to find a ride where you're the fastest guy out there you can probably do it. If you want to ride with people faster than you, you can probably do that too, no matter who you are--there's always somebody faster somewhere, unless you're Lance (and even then there's somebody faster on certain days, sprinting, etc.).

I think you should get what you want and not worry about what guys in your club think about it, unless it makes you happy to worry about that. If you want a C40, get that. If you want a Fondriest, get that. Personally, I'd go for nice wheels over new components, but that's me (and somewhat dependent on the components you have on hand).
Get it.Dropped
Jun 24, 2003 7:10 AM
I'm a firm believer in buying the bike you lust over. Look, if practicality was the driving force, we'd all be on 105-equipped Trek's.

There will always be faster guys out there no matter how hard you train, or how gifted an athlete you are.

Get the C-40.
Another point of viewDave Waber
Jun 24, 2003 9:10 AM
If you want to buy the C 40 to enjoy the esthetics, or the magical ride, or the attention it brings, then by all means buy it. But if you are making this purchase hoping that the new frame will somehow make you a better rider, I think you may be disappointed.

It is not really going to help you hang with the big boys on 8000 feet of climbing over 80 miles (I am assuming you have a decent bike now). If that is your goal, your money would be better spent on a good heart rate monitor, some professional coaching, and in arranging you life to have more time to ride.
Another point of viewVW
Jun 24, 2003 10:52 AM
Actually, just the opposite!

I know I won't be much faster, maybe even "any" faster, on a C40 than on my OCLV. I'm giving my OCLV (frame) to my daughter because it is too small for me and she's dying to have it.

I actually like riding the OCLV because there are plenty of them, and it doesn't bring me any attention from others. There are a few reasons why I'm not buying another OCLV: (1) Fun to try something else. (2) Top tube is already too long eventhough the frame is too small resulting in needing to really extend the stem for comfort. (3) The handling is very quick and nimble on downhill technical decents, but not as-stable-as I like riding on the flats especially riding no-hands. Not that I ride no-hands that often, but I want a bike to steer straight with very little attention from the rider.

The reasons to buy a Colnago C40, specifically another carbon fiber frame: (1) I don't want to sacrifice any performance because I need all the advantage I can get. I'm just afraid titanium frames add either too much flex or too much weight depends on how it was designed/tuned (2) This board raved about the stiff yet stable ride of the C40. I guess I'm just assuming "stable" means easy to ride no-hands (lots of fork trail?) (3) Most important feature of all Colnagos are the short top tube needed for my short torso and lack of flexibility. (4) Yes, I like the artwork and bright colors so color "OOF" or a Calfee is not for me. I enjoy looking at a colorful painted bike, but I don't want to attract any attention, expectation, and scorn from others.

Thanks everyone for their valuable opinions. I'm ready to buy!

VW
All very reasonable.djg
Jun 25, 2003 1:30 PM
I have a CT1 rather than a C40 but I love the way the nags track--great handling.

Personally, I ditched my 5200 after I got the CT1. I thought the Trek was a really good bike, but I didn't want to ride it any more. BTW, although Colnago top tube sizing (relative to seat tube) runs differently at different parts of the sizing range, at my size (56) it's definitely a bit higher and shorter than the trek.