RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Century nutrition(15 posts)

Century nutritionRubberbandman
Jun 16, 2003 12:52 PM
Can anyone give me rough guidelines on eating while riding 100 miles? Approximately what should my calorie, carbo and water intake be?

Thanks!
rough guidelinesmohair_chair
Jun 16, 2003 2:14 PM
Here's what I do:

Breakfast: two bagels
Rest stops: banana, small peanut butter & jelly sandwich, maybe some fruit. At later stops, I might grab a cookie for some sugar. If it is a hard ride, later I might have a coke or a sandwich.

Keep it light, and keep it quick. Do not linger at rest stops. Never, ever pick up a plate at a rest stop and start loading it up. Even at the "lunch" stop, if you need a plate to carry it, you probably took too much.

Basically, I try to ride centuries like I train for them, and when training I don't stop every 20 miles and down a plate full of food. Nobody does, which is why I wonder why people do it at centuries. Getting their money's worth, I guess.

A century is no time to experiment with different foods and drinks. I always start with my own Cytomax and I also take along my own bars. When I run out, I'll drink Gatorade if supplied, but none of the other "energy" drinks. If you haven't tried the stuff before, you may find it will do a number on you, and spending more time in porta potties than riding does not make for a fun century. I usually end up with straight water, or if provided, sometimes lemonade.
gatorade v. cytomax, etc.?CurtSD
Jun 16, 2003 2:52 PM
Speaking of sticking with what you're used to, I've always stuck with gatorade since that's what's available at convenience stores, and if an organized ride provides something other than water it will usually be gatorade. Is there anything about cytomax or the other sport drinks that makes them noticably better than gatorade (not counting taste)?

Thanks,
Curt
yesmohair_chair
Jun 16, 2003 3:01 PM
I'm sure there's scientific evidence, but my only evidence is anecdotal. Cytomax just seems to work better than Gatorade for me. I've tried some others, but I keep coming back to Cytomax. My friends all use it, but I first tried it on the Death Ride, which is a pretty extreme test. I bought some of my own the next day.

Definitely try it before you buy it. Some people claim it makes them sick.
Watch out for the fruit tablepitt83
Jun 16, 2003 4:35 PM
In much the same vein as knowing the effects of your energy suppliment, it's an easy mistake to grab the fruit at the table. Overdo it, and your intestines will make you pay. That much fiber, fructose and heat and exertion will cramp you up tighter than you thought possible.
gatorade v. cytomax, etc.? & century ridesPdxMark
Jun 16, 2003 3:10 PM
Speaking just for my understanding of Cytomax... It uses maltodextrin for much of its energy, which a more complex carbohydrate than the sugar in Gatorade. The reason for complex carbs is that they are metabolized more slowly (steadily) than simple sugars. That's why you eat energy bars, PB&J sandwiches etc. rather than jelly beans on a long ride. Though sometimes a Coke really hits the spot.

For all the hype on its label, the nutrition info panel on the cytomax can sums it up... I don't have it here, so I'm paraphrasing... For the given number of calories per serving, about a thrid or so come from sugar, the rest of the calories are "non-sugar" carbs. Gatorade is all sugar.

But, if you like Gatorade, drink it. It's "fine."

For my weight and usual speed, I seem to burn about 2000 calories in a 6 hour century. That doesn't mean I need to eat 2000 calories during the ride. If I start out with reasonably good eating before the ride (that morning & the night before), I'm OK if I take in 500-1000 calories during the ride. As a rough guess, I'd probably add 500 calories for each 5000 feet of climbing, too.

YMMV.
Cytomax. Yech............Len J
Jun 17, 2003 2:40 PM
I used Cytomax on one organized century because that is what they had. Ended up puking the last 40 miles of the ride. If I wasn't puking I had stomach cramps. It was the most miserable ride I can remember. I came back & posted on the board & it seems there are many that have had the same experience with Cytomax.

It may or may not work for you. My advice would be to try it for several training rides before the century. If it works for you great, but don't ruin a good ride by finding out it doesn't work.

Len
OTOH, how you approach rest stops depends on your goalsbill
Jun 16, 2003 2:35 PM
Organized centuries are a hoot. Lots of crazy bikes to check out, people who are wacky as you, and, yes, the occasional good eats stop.

Why rush it?

If you have some place to be, and you're knocking out a 4.5 hour century, then you have to eat often enough but not very much, hydrate well, and not allow yourself to cool down.

If you have six or seven or eight or ten hours, and it's a nice day, and the chicks (umm, I mean, empowered women in lycra) are out, why rush it? Don't eat too, too much, but, life's short. If they have a PB&J, some watermelon, and you get to finish it off with oatmeal raisin cookies, have two for heavens sake, and talk to the sixty-y/o who came all the way from Pittsburgh to ride on a tandem with his nephew or his grandson or his mother. You won't be able to stay steady at just under LT for the next two hours, but life's good. Live a little.
re: Century nutritioncoonass
Jun 16, 2003 4:28 PM
http://www.ultracycling.com/siteindex.html#training
http://www.cptips.com/nutrtn.htm
http://www.cptips.com/toc.htm#table (scroll to "Nutrition Tips")

I try to take in some Carbos every 30 minutes and never pass up a banana.. (do a search for Banana at this site and see how amazing it is: http://www.nal.usda.gov/fnic/cgi-bin/nut_search.pl )

Has anyone used the Quaker Breakfast Bars for riding?? A friend of mine recommended them and I've been using them for 2 weeks and find them excellent (6/box and $2.77 @ Walmart) Any pro/con opinions?
pro/con opinions?....HAL9010
Jun 17, 2003 9:01 AM
Just don't patronize Walmart.
A lot of questionable advice so farKerry
Jun 16, 2003 4:59 PM
Hydration: 1 oz per mile (20 cc/km) to double that if hot and/or humid. If drinking water, then look for salt sources in your food - you can easily lose a couple of grams (2,000 milligrams) during a hot day. Dehydration and salt losses are the primary sources of cramping, and just drinking water without taking in salt doesn't get it on hot/humid days.

Calories will be roughly 35 per mile, depending on hills, wind, and your personal efficiency. So around 3500 total calories. You will burn about 200 calories per hour from fat metabolism, and will probably start with around 1500 calories in your muscles and stomach. So in theory, you only need to consume 800 calories on the ride, but then you would finish with an empty tank - skating on thin ice! Plan on consuming around 1500 calories.

Maltodextrin's only advantage is that it doesn't cause fuzzy growth on your teeth over the duration of the event. Its glycemic index is the same as sugar, and so it gives you the same kick as any other sugar source. I'm a fan of fig bars, salted mixed nuts, and Coke to drink, with water on the bike so I don't get a sticky mess at the end of the day. Banana's are a great source of potassium and easily digestible carbs.
Ahh, Kerry, the voice of reason! Thanks! nmnoveread
Jun 17, 2003 6:36 AM
re: Century nutritionMariowannabe
Jun 17, 2003 7:38 AM
Start well hydrated and after a good breakfast.

1. Consume 300 calories every hour at a minimum - of course a bit more if you're larger than average or if its a hard ride.

2. Consume 20 oz. of fluid per hour, more if its hot or you are climbing.

3. Make sure your fluids have enough electrolites. I like a watered-down Extran or Cytomax.

Just remember to eat and drink before you get hungry/thirsty. Don't wait two hours to eat or drink.
Century is too short to worry about nutritioncyclopathic
Jun 17, 2003 2:06 PM
and you don't wanna try to compencate for calories you'd have all the time to eat before and after ride. Just bring a couple gels (just in case) eat a sandwitch in the morning. Liquid intake is usually btw 8 and 16oz/hr depend on conditions.
true, for someJS Haiku Shop
Jun 18, 2003 5:59 AM
this may be only for those who've trained up to riding looongish distances. seems i rode 70 last weekend on a harvest bar and a bottle of gatorade (and some water). two years ago i would've bonked and slept on the roadside. i think this has to do with your level of fitness and perhaps your "distance form". some folks (most perhaps?) may have to rely on hourly feedings and precise liquid intake to ride 100 miles. remember, a century is the ultimate accomplishment to most.