RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How Big Are Your "Balls" (bike optional)?(24 posts)

How Big Are Your "Balls" (bike optional)?Akirasho
Jun 14, 2003 10:56 PM
... big enough to be seen in public... or on a group ride with this kit (forgive the overtly sexist tone of the heading... I know a few women with the balls... legs and lungs too)?




http://www.worldcycling.com/merchant.mv?Screen=SRCH&ti=Domina+Vacanze&link=1&tn=1&Search=t:DOM

... c'mon now... they wouldn't be in the catalog if they weren't sellin' 'em (and I doubt most buyers are hoping to catch up to Mario so's he could autograph them for display)

So...?

Be the bike.
Do you have a point?Indurain 03
Jun 15, 2003 12:12 AM
Or are you just another member of the "poser police". Just because someone likes a particular jersey and or shorts, that gives you no right whatsoever to criticize them.
Get a life.
I think Indurain 03 has the kit. nmJuanmoretime
Jun 15, 2003 3:27 AM
Hold on a second fellas, two sides to this...cydswipe
Jun 15, 2003 5:42 AM
I don't think Akirasho is "criticizing" the kit. Or the folks who would wear it. I agree, it is pretty flashy/bold and maybe a bit presumptious to wear world champion stripes. BUT, it is pretty cool too. I like the fact that the kit is for sale. Like I posted down. I'd wear some of it. I'd wear a Tour jersey too. I support cycling. I also wear what I want. Personal opinions are just what they are, "opinions", don't read too much and make them "personal". :)
Do you have a point? ummm, yes.The Human G-Nome
Jun 15, 2003 10:16 AM
actually, i have the right to criticize anyone i want for whatever reason i choose. it's called the first amendment. i suppose you're a member of the "thought police"? if you dress like a dip$hit, there's a good chance someone will call you on it. if you don't care what anyone thinks about you, then by all means where the full World Champion kit. like the poster states, it would take balls. i wouldn't be the one talkin' smack about you, but don't be surprised if lots of other folks do. the outfit absolutely screams PRETENTIOUS when worn by an amateur cyclist. if you were just a Cipo fan, you'd wear his normal team kit perhaps, but this is just too much for my taste.
Do you have a point?Akirasho
Jun 15, 2003 10:46 AM
... in fact, I'm considering the kit...

I wasn't critizing anyone... merely curious as to individual's opinions (your's included) over something that strikes a bit closer to home for the average cyclist on these boards... championship stripes.

Unlike many other licensed sporting goods, cyclists are one of the few that might actually wear said while actively participating in the sport (as opposed to rooting from the bleachers... or couch)... and since we are only human... we do react and make judgments (rightly or wrongly) when we see such. As in society, you generally have the right to wear whatever you want... but virtually everyone has a limit to their sensibilities... or at least recognizes the heat they'll take from the tribe for wearing other than tribal colors.

As mentioned in other posts... it's highly unlikely that I'd be knophuzed with the Lion King... more likely Pumba from The Lion King. I'm sure I'd get noticed.



Indeed, while watching the '98 TdF on tape... end filler included Ligget and Sherwen along with others riding area roads and paths... in one scene, Ligget seemed to have on a kit assembled from team colors of at least half the peloton (USPS jersey, Cofidis cap, etc)... his right... but a thing that makes you go... hmmmmmmm.

FWIW, in the real world, I rarely dress for anything save for comfort... but on the bike... I guess I get a sense of fashion (I actually coordinate kit and helmet with an image I want to project)... odd eh?

Be the bike.
re: How Big Are Your "Balls" (bike optional)?divve
Jun 15, 2003 4:09 AM
Not something I'd wear...like the pose on Cipo though. It somehow makes everything fall ino place:)
Jersey? Sure...Full Kit? No way. nmOwenMeany
Jun 15, 2003 5:01 AM
.
I'd wear pieces, not the whole kit(helmet, knickers, etc...) nmcydswipe
Jun 15, 2003 5:36 AM
who gives a rats ass what .....african
Jun 15, 2003 6:56 AM
you wear. How many people do I see wearing super bowl champion t shirts and hats and friggen shirts with warren sapps name on the shirt. Huh excuse me give the shirt back to warren it has his name on it.

I for one have a team lampre bike, jersey, gloves and socks and I don't give a rats ass what people think. Now if Ramsas did not do drugs, or am I supporting a druggie. Anyway nice jersey, I would not wear it though. But for some one else heck go ahead.
who gives a rats ass what .....The Human G-Nome
Jun 15, 2003 10:23 AM
the difference in your analogy is that the person in the superbowl champion t-shirt could never be mistaken for the real thing. good chance he's an out-of-shape couch surfer buying a bag of doritos and a six pack at the market. he's not also sporting the helmet, the cleats, the pads, etc. it would be VERY easy for a non-cyclist to look at someone in a full team kit (one that includes everything) and think "oh, that guy races for team, blah, blah." no one is going to think that about someone in a football t-shirt.

what if you were playing a game of tag football and some guy showed up in the FULL 49ers team kit, including helmet,shoes, pads, etc. admit it, it would look a little funny to you. still though, it would be better then the cycling kit because no one is going to say "hey, that's jerry rice!" when they see RICE written on the back of his jersey.
who gives a rats ass what .....russw19
Jun 15, 2003 11:00 PM
African, I see your point about super bowl champs shirts, but my take on wearing the World Championship Stripes is that it would be like having a fake Super Bowl Champ Ring made up and wearing it out. The World Champ's Jersey IS the trophy! They wear it for the whole year to let everyone know they are the World Champ.

I wouldn't wear it... I might buy it to hang on the wall, or wear it on my trainer workout rides, but I wouldn't wear it out. That's just a personal thing. And I think the reason I wouldn't wear it is the same reason everyone else who says they wouldn't wear has. It's a symbol of a victory that I didn't win. It should be reserved for those who win it.

Russ
I can see where your coming from but ....the bull
Jun 15, 2003 7:33 AM
why worry?
I wear my Molblvetta kit that I got while I was in Spain.
Never in a group ride(I wear my own team kit)but when I ride alone, just shaved my legs, and dont feel like wearing a helmet.I hear Phill Leggets voice in my head("...and looks like Lance is in big trouble now as Tommy is pulling away!").Hey, I even have had people ask me if I ride for them!
I can see where your coming from but ....The Human G-Nome
Jun 15, 2003 10:24 AM
Hey, I even have had people ask me if I ride for them!
>>>>>

that was sort of my point in previous posts but that's a pretty tasteful kit all the same.
Kit, hell... look at that rug!!Akirasho
Jun 15, 2003 10:53 AM
Be the bike.
wellThe Human G-Nome
Jun 15, 2003 10:55 AM
sometimes it's hard to see the forest through the trees. nice rug!
opinion of a pro (not me!)gregario
Jun 15, 2003 1:56 PM
I asked Stuart O'Grady about the wearing of team jerseys by the average joe. He had no problem with anyone wearing the Credit Agricole jersey (for example) or any other but he did say he felt wearing the World Stripes was a no-no by anyone other than the World Champion. He said it was just too prestigious.
I agree.KG 361
Jun 15, 2003 2:26 PM
Same with the yellow jersey, although, really, what does it matter what Staurt thinks, anyway? It's just his opinion.
... I think I'm gonna order the full kit...Akirasho
Jun 15, 2003 4:08 PM
... chances are, I'll never run into Stuart or Mario... or Lance... or Marty... or Paolo... and I'll probably never wear it to a sanctioned race event... that means my only fear is of a few homophobics in the general public who'd mistaken the strips for a gay pride symbol (not that there's anything wrong with that)... and run my arse off the road (suddenly, the movie "Deliverance" comes to mind... and makes me shudder)...

Be the bike.
Are you hearing banjos in the distance?KG 361
Jun 15, 2003 4:41 PM
You've got brass ones if you wear it =)
... do do do do do - do do do dooooooo... over the top...Akirasho
Jun 15, 2003 5:16 PM
... I just pulled the trigger on a complete Domina-Vacenza kit (save for the helmet) as well... Aside from a couple pair of USPS shorts from '99, an odd ONCE bib, these are my only Pro team purchases (I've got a few logo pieces)... I guess when I decided to jump... I jumped big (need new white Sidi G4s as well)...

Now, I need to convince folks that those are white tiger strips... and not a zebra...

Be the bike.
Don't you need a S-works with the kit? nmKG 361
Jun 15, 2003 5:34 PM
Don't you need a S-works with the kit? nmAkirasho
Jun 15, 2003 5:49 PM
... holy crap... this is turning into an expensive night...

Be the bike.
This kit looks best when worn over large gut and fat ass! nmUncle Tim
Jun 15, 2003 5:48 PM