RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tufo Tubular CLINCHER tire.(15 posts)

Tufo Tubular CLINCHER tire.Sintesi
Jun 13, 2003 7:50 PM
Came across this in the WCP catalogue. I think they run 310-20gms. No innertube, no rimstrips, has sealant protection, up to 220 PSI, snaps right onto the rim. Personally my eyebrow is cocked, indicating intrigue.

http://www.worldcycling.com/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=WCP&Product_Code=TYRMTUFERC

Is this new? Has the revolution begun?
threadDougSloan
Jun 13, 2003 7:55 PM
http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efcad8b
... they've been around for years...Akirasho
Jun 13, 2003 7:59 PM
... I run a set on a low mileage, specialty wheel'd TT bike... so certain issues aren't a big factor.

True, they are tubular tires (the inner tube is sewn inside the casing) with a bead that engages the hook on most clincher rims. They can be run at relatively high PSI. They still require pre stretching and are still a bit more difficult to mount than a standard clincher (the bead is delicate... can't use tire irons). The biggest downside... the innertube can't be repaired (to my knowledge) like a standard tubie... thus the reason for a sealant (which adds a bit of weight).

I'll admit that aside from a short course TT bike, where repairing a flat is a non factor, these are odd tires. There may be other viable applications that I'm unaware of. I continue to use mine... but a future purchase is in doubt. I still like regular Tufo tubies.

Search the forum for other discussions on these tires.

Be the bike.
The worst of both worldsMR_GRUMPY
Jun 14, 2003 12:27 PM
Tufo's have high rolling resistance, even with 220 psi, because of their construction. In a recent test of time trial tires, they came in last.
With a clincher, if you get a flat, you throw in a new tube, or patch the old one.
With a tubular, you just put on your spare.
The tubular-clincher is too big to carry as a spare, so you have to hope that the sealant will plug the hole.
There isn't anything wrong with tufo tubulars, but this tubular/clincher thing is just goofy, for 95% of road riders.
(Might be OK for wheelchairs)
Despite Alexx's love affair with these tiresKerry
Jun 14, 2003 12:43 PM
They are an "idea" that has been around for a LONG time and never caught on. Given that they have been on the market all these years and never become even slightly poplular, it seems like there's a message in there somewhere. Frankly, I'm surprised they keep making them, as sales must be pretty minimal. Must be just enough "intrigue" for people to keep forking over the cash. Must also be a fairly high markup item for this to work for Tufo.
It was new to me and sounded cool.Sintesi
Jun 14, 2003 7:04 PM
Gotta love this board.
Sorry, despite "cxer's" love affair with these tiresKerry
Jun 15, 2003 5:08 PM
He's the only one who seems to have/report good results. I guess everyone else is wrong.
Yeah, I'm the only one that buys Tufos...cxer
Jun 15, 2003 7:26 PM
My opinion comes from personal experience with them. BTW, this board isn't the entire world of cycling. It's a very small part of it. Alot of people use Tufos including pros that choose their own equipment.
Whoa, there, KerryAlexx
Jun 16, 2003 5:52 AM
I ride only on TRUE TUBULARS, not those tubular clincher things. I can't imagine just what the point is of those things, and I have NEVER suggested that anybody waste their money on them. Don't put words in my mouth.
some CX riders like them, though. search the CX board (nm)weiwentg
Jun 15, 2003 8:36 AM
THE REAL DEAL ON TUFOcxer
Jun 15, 2003 1:45 PM
I run all my road and CX clinchers with TUFO tubular clinchers. The only people who complain about them are ones that never use them. Sorry, there are naysayers for everything including Campy vs. Shimano, 10 speed, Look pedals, tubulars, saddles with holes, mayo with fries vs. ketchup, etc, etc.

They are great tires and with up to 440 tpi, they have the handling characteristics other clinchers cant touch. You don't use rim tape which saves weight.

The sealant (which weighs about an extra couple grams) will seal up holes as big as a penny nail (which is FRICKIN huge-the kind you use to nail down a deck).
I got a puncture on the road. 1/2 a second of air and then it sealed up. I didn't even stop. I went from about 150psi down to 100psi. Psssst, Pssst, psst, pst. Done. People around me were like, "Didn't you flat? Wasn't that you're tire?" Finished my ride, and every ride since for the last 500 miles and still going.

You can't pinch flat TUFOs, they are safer than clinchers, you can ride a flat tufo if you do flat the tire and all you do is add more sealant and pump it back up.

Hey, enjoy the tires and let the naysayers yap about how they don't work.

They are more difficult to mount but the only time you have to take them off again is when they wear out and you need to replace them. Stretched tires mount easier if, for some reason, you want to take them off to put on new rims or something.
Out of curiousity, how much$$?KG 361
Jun 15, 2003 2:34 PM
Yes, I'm too lazy to check it out!
They $ no more than a good clincher. nmcxer
Jun 15, 2003 7:17 PM
...
I just ordered a pair because of the reviews I've read.niteschaos
Jun 15, 2003 8:36 PM
I'm putting them on my all-around wheelset because I've read they are durable and confidence inspiring. Going from a 14 dollar tire to a 30 dollar tire I know there will be a big improvement across the board so my next goal was just finding something durable and easy to repair. Once I get a good thousand on them I'll let you guys know my experience. I ride in Hell-lanta, Georgia, so my rides should be a good test for these tires.
use them for 6 months and dislike themDougSloan
Jun 16, 2003 6:34 AM
"The only people who complain about them are ones that never use them."

Absolutely false. I used them for 6 months and can't stand them. The worst traits of both clinchers and tubulars. Heavy and you must carry at least one spare tire, which is also heavy, more so that about 4 tubes and a patch kit.

I was using them without carrying a spare tire, and I got stranded when the sealant didn't hold on maybe a 1/8" cut.

Use a Conti Gatorskin and you'll have more flat protection and much better ability to change a flat, mulitiple times, if you do.

Doug