RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How many helmets do you have? - nm(27 posts)

How many helmets do you have? - nmSquishy
Jun 13, 2003 9:01 AM
... about 20...Akirasho
Jun 13, 2003 9:13 AM
Be the bike.
1 (nm)PEDDLEFOOT
Jun 13, 2003 9:16 AM
ThreeNo_sprint
Jun 13, 2003 9:20 AM
All Giro. Pneumo, Boreas and Airblast II or something.
Two , working on three...MR_GRUMPY
Jun 13, 2003 9:41 AM
My "spare" is an old Sub 6 Pro. My regular helmet is a 5 year old Helios, and My new one, that I don't even have yet, is an Eclipse close out ($40)
I was too cheap to get the "team" deal on the Pneumo ($100)
2 Pneumos, one Exodus...biknben
Jun 13, 2003 10:18 AM
One pneumo was involved in a car colision so I picked up a new one. The impact wasn't
i really
that hard so I kept the old one but got a new one just to be safe.

The Giro Exodus is just an older helmet but a headlight fits nicely on it so I use it for night rides.
Pneumo vs Exodus...SS_MB-7
Jun 13, 2003 10:28 AM
I have an Exodus now and love it, but I'm looking at the Pneumo or E2 as a replacement. How do the two compare in terms of fit, feel, ventilation, etc.? I'm 75% a MTB'er and 25% road.

Also, I'm wearing a S/M Exodus with a 59cm head. This puts me right at the M and L borders. None of my LBS have any Pneumos in-stock so I'm curious which I should order.

Since I do a lot of night MTB'ing, will I have problems mounting a light? You seem to indicate that the Exodus is better suited to a light.



Ride Hard,
Mike B.
re: Pneumo vs Exodus...biknben
Jun 13, 2003 11:30 AM
The differences between the Exodus and Pnuemo are significant. The pneumo with the Rock-Lok 4 retention system is far superior to the 3. The 3 has cloth straps that extend forward and attach to the helmet with velcro (near your temples). They always came loose on me. The Rock-Lok 4 uses plastic straps that are tabbed into the inside of the helmet. They don't move or stretch and provide a more consistant fit. The Exodus fits like a glove...The pneumo is like silk panties. :-)

I don't know the size of my head but I used to wear a S/M. I tried the new Pneumo in both the Small and the Medium. The small was too small and the medium was just right. That doesn't help you though. If I absolutely couldn't try one on, I'd get the smaller size and see if it worked. The Rock-Lok 4 allows for so much adjustment, the helmet could be excessively big but still
i feel
good enough. You don't know until you try.

Regarding the lights. The Exodus and E2 both have a center section which is nice and flat for a light. I have a square of velcro on my Exodus under the light mount to keep it more secure. The Pneumo has a vent in the center so there is no place for velcro. With just the straps, the light flops around more than I'd like.

I think the E2 and Pneumo would fit the same. They are both the high end helmets and both have the Rock-Lok 4. If night riding is a big concern I'd recommend the E2 over the Pneumo.
Umm, I'll take you word on the silk panties....SS_MB-7
Jun 13, 2003 11:51 AM
Yes, I hate how the cloth straps continously detach from the temple velcro on my Exodus.

Well, if you were wearing a S/M and are now a M Pneumo, that should work for me too. I'm going to keep checking with my LBS for a Pneumo.

Thanks for the info.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Hey SS_MB-7....A follow up for you...biknben
Jun 13, 2003 5:26 PM
Here's a pic of my old Exodus with headlight mount next to one of my Pneumos. Just out of curiosity, I measured my head an it's 60cm. I wear the S/M Exodus and the Medium Pneumo and find the fit to be excellent. I was surprised to see that my head measured 60cm because there is still room for a even larger head and though the box says 55-59cm.

I'm not sure if this helps or causes more confusion but Good luck!
Perfect! Thanks! (nm)SS_MB-7
Jun 14, 2003 3:53 AM
3 I wear, plus about 3 oldies. Size 8 is hard to find...retro
Jun 13, 2003 10:18 AM
Got a big head, and when I see a helmet that fits on sale, I often buy even when I don't quite need it yet. But I have three I wear, and I don't really know how many old ones stashed in the garage.
4r-kelley
Jun 13, 2003 10:20 AM
Two that are broken as reminders. One for the road and one for the mountain.
HRK
just curious...kokaku
Jun 13, 2003 10:27 AM
Is there any real difference btw road/mtn helmets (aside from the visor and not talking about BMX helmets)?
... mainly marketing...Akirasho
Jun 13, 2003 11:05 AM
... functionally (peak not withstanding), they are identical...

It's mostly about styling and identifying the user with a particular style (MTB, road, BMX (yeah, I know, you said you weren't talking BMX)).

I've got a MET 5 Element that you're hard pressed to classify (note" MET markets it as a MTB lid... I use it, sans peak, on the road).







Be the bike.
How does the Met Size?Dave Hickey
Jun 13, 2003 12:50 PM
I've been looking at a Met Strat. I'm currently in a L/XL Puemo.
... similar to the same size Pneumo...Akirasho
Jun 13, 2003 3:55 PM
... both the 5 Element and the Strad fit my large noggin' slightly better than the Pneumo (a Catlike Kompact is about the same... only a bit lighter and physically smaller)... your results may vary... but I've been very happy with the fit and finish of MET products... too bad they're so hard to come by in the US.

Be the bike.
Just picked up a Strad on ebay. where are you looking?Starliner
Jun 14, 2003 10:58 AM
got an l/xl anthraxcite (sp) from england and I hope it fits... have a l/xl boreas now.
MTB lids are built up more on the backSquishy
Jun 13, 2003 11:13 AM
... but certification doesn't distinguish a "style" of helmet...Akirasho
Jun 13, 2003 11:22 AM
... the CPSC conducts tests that apply to all lids... 'tis true that real world conditions might favor one over the other... but with that many variables... it kinda becomes moot (one stick through a vent renders all that foam as merely a real brain bucket).

Be the bike.
2: A Ghisallo for summer and a MTB helmet for winter nmPdxMark
Jun 13, 2003 11:06 AM
Cleaning the straps on a Pneumo.gcbgcb
Jun 13, 2003 2:03 PM
Are they removable for washing?
Just wash the whole helmet . . .ms
Jun 14, 2003 4:48 AM
The pads are removeable, but the straps are not (at least not easily). I just put my whole helmet in a sink with water and Ivory dishwashing liquid and then rinse. Depending upon the temperature and humidity, it may take several hours for the pads and straps to dry. Because of frequent washing, my pads fell apart last summer. My LBS got a free replacement set for me from Giro.
1- old Giro Stelvio (yeah, I need a better lid)emckee
Jun 13, 2003 4:09 PM
I've been peeking at the reviews here... anyone have an idea why the Bell Ghisallo isn't listed on the review board?
4 for road - 1 MTB nmLive Steam
Jun 14, 2003 11:05 AM
Only need oneDropped
Jun 16, 2003 7:06 AM
I only have one head, so I don't see the need for a bunch of helmets. I have one helmet that I use everyday, whether it is commuting or mountain biking or road riding. When it gets old, I buy a new one.
Only need oneAkirasho
Jun 16, 2003 8:00 PM
... you've only got one crotch too, but I bet you've got more than one pair of undies...

Aside from their role as a safety device, helmets are part of fashion... and we wouldn't have all the variations in shorts, bibs and jerseys (and helmets) unless there was a market for more than basic black and white (or Pneumo)...

True, you can only use one at a time... but alongside having multiples of anything else in life, it can be kinda fun (ride partners wondering which bike, which lid and which kit will it be this time)... and in some ways, describes a part of each individual's characteristics (for better or worse).

Be the bike.