RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Seems Suspicious(13 posts)

Seems SuspiciousStewartK
Jun 10, 2003 7:10 AM
I was checking out the website for the 1upUSA hitch rack that's being offered as a prize on RBR and followed the link for reviews on MTBR.com: http://www.mtbr.com/reviews/Bike_Rack/product_122521.shtml.

All of the reviews were extremely positive with absolutely no criticisms and seemed "polished", almost professionally written. Then I noticed that all six reviews were written within days of each other: one on 5/6, two on 5/7, one on 5/11, one on 5/13 and then one on 5/28.

Seems like the "reviews" were planted. Any thoughts? Anyone with a real and objective opinion of the rack?
Just looking at the picture, I'd mangle that front wheelKristin
Jun 10, 2003 7:27 AM
The front wheel sticks out 6 inches from the side of the car. And this being a mini van. I bet it'd stick out more on my Saturn. Give me 5 minutes in a gas station with that setup and I'll demolish the front wheel and probably damage the fork too.
Just looking at the picture, I'd mangle that front wheelCaliforniaDreaming
Jun 10, 2003 8:27 AM
Car width relative to bike wheel diameter and bike wheel base determine whether you'd smack that puppy into a gas pump or some over grown SUV. :-)
If that's the caseMel Erickson
Jun 10, 2003 9:33 AM
You must have picked off a couple of mirrors by now! ;-)
Glad to say I've never even scratched a mirrorKristin
Jun 10, 2003 9:44 AM
But if they were mounted to my trunk, I might just.
Agree...biknben
Jun 10, 2003 7:30 AM
All the reviews have a strange vagueness to them. I can't believe there are NO complaints. They all got it from the same place and paid the same price?

I believe that the best reviews are ones that offer complaints or criticism. Look for trends in the complaints and you get the truth. Too many of the reviews are created by people who are just stoked they just got a new toy. Of course they'll have a positive review.
Shame on you....MR_GRUMPY
Jun 10, 2003 7:34 AM
How could you even imagine that someone would "Plant" reviews here. I'm sure that every one of those reviews was written by a satified customer.
I'm sure that every "question" about a new product, is written by a interested rider, also.
re: Seems Suspiciousgodot
Jun 10, 2003 11:18 AM
I am one of the reviewers. I have no association with 1upUSA other than liking their trainer and rack. My review is in no way a "planted" advertisement for their rack. I'm simply a satisfied customer.

I have the rack mounted on a 2000 subaru outback wagon. The wheels do stick out a little from the side of the car, but not too much, and definitely not as far as the mirrors. It's not really a concern. The angle of the photo probably makes the problem seem worse than it is.

As I stated in my review, I really like the rack, it is incredibly quick and easy to load bikes.

I have 2 small complaints. The velcro straps that are used to secure the rear wheel can't be secured to the rack. They have to be completely removed when loading/unloading bikes, which leads to putting them someplace stupid (mostly likely in my case) or having them blown away. When I don't have bikes loaded on the rack, I use them to hold the arms down so the arms won't bang around if I were to hit something in the road.

The other issue is more of a car issue than a rack issue. There are 4 sets of holes to place the bars that hold the bike. The hitch on the subaru sits pretty far under the car. If I put a set of bars in the holes closest to the car I can't fold the rack up into the "storage" position. I could probably get an extender of some sort, but since I really only need to haul 2 bikes around, I just don't use that set of holes.

Neither of my complaints are really that big of a deal.

I'd be happy to answer any other questions people may have about the rack.
Thanks GodotStewartK
Jun 10, 2003 1:14 PM
Three questions:

The length of the horizontal bar coming out from the back of the vehicle seems kind of long, especially if you're hauling only one bike. Do you have any concerns with backing up into something or having a driver behind you running into the bar if there's just one bike positioned closest to the vehicle?

How long does it take you to install and remove the rack?

Exactly which review on MTBR is yours?

Thanks
Thanks Godotgodot
Jun 10, 2003 2:32 PM
You're welcome.

I am a bit concerned with the length of the rack, and have so far been very careful. I keep it folded up when not in use (simple pin and cotter pin system). Two sets of reflectors are provided so that one set will be visible whether the rack is being used, or folded up. When parking, I try to back into spots to avoid getting boxed in with someone parking too close behind me while I'm gone.

I think backing the rack into something would be easy if you left it down with no bikes loaded, the bikes on the rack are a great reminder that you need to be careful. Can't do much about other drivers, but I will admit I spend a lot of time looking in the rear view mirror at stop lights when I'm hauling bikes.

The rack is held on by a single bolt. I bought the security device, so to remove the rack I have to remove the lock, unscrew the bolt with a hex wrench (supplied), and then pull the rack out of the hitch. Takes less than 5 minutes. If you wanted to remove the bars from the hitch assembly as well, it would require loosening one screw on each set of bars and pulling the bars out.

I'm the review on 5/28 posted by kevin.

I'll take some measurements of how far the rack extends from the back of the car and the length of the bars for the bikes when I get home tonight.

One more bit of info... I did notice that the screws holding the "rollers" at the end of the arms that hold the front tire in place worked their way loose. So I've been keeping an eye on those, may break out the loctite.
Additional Infogodot
Jun 10, 2003 4:18 PM
Here are the measurements for the rack.

The rack is 56" wide (length of the bars holding the bikes)

When folded up the rack extends 6" from bumper of my car

When unfolded to transport bikes the rack extends 36" from the bumper.

There are rough measurements, I have the rack mounted on a 2000 subaru outback wagon, so YMMV a bit on the measurements from the bumper.

Hope this helps, let me know if you need any additional info.
Thank Again for the Info (nm)StewartK
Jun 11, 2003 8:34 AM
NEVER BELIEVE REVIEWS!!!Alexx
Jun 10, 2003 4:25 PM
There have been sooooo many plants, bogus reviews, and even one manufacturer that gave out freebies to customers for placing reviews! Don't believe a thing you read in there. Half the reviews are glowing praise, and the other half are people who are p!ssed off.