RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How do you handle rain?(11 posts)

How do you handle rain?stan_b
Jun 9, 2003 5:23 AM
When I only had one bike, I let rain dictate my riding schedule. Now that I have two and have assigned my older one (it's a 2000 Specialized Allez Elite) as my beater bike, I ride in the rain. I actually find it quite liberating and don't mind it that much. I hate indoor exercising and definitely prefer riding in the rain over it.

I feel like I'm never getting to use my new bike, however. Four of my last 5 rides have been in the rain.
Let's see, we had about 5 non-raining days in May ...Humma Hah
Jun 9, 2003 5:43 AM
... and I think there have been 7 weekends this year without rain. If you can't deal with it, you don't ride much around here this year.

I don't mind a nice warm summer rain at all. Fenders help avoid the tan streak up the back and the gritty clothes.

I won't do thunderstorms. I generally try to avoid commuting TO work in the rain, because I ride in my work clothes and don't want to arrive dirty and wet. Riding home in the rain is NOT a problem.

On long rides, it helps to carry a shot of chain lube. A few years ago I rode the Solvang Century the day after a big rain ... we got splattered with mud and there was water on many roads. By 70 miles everyone's chain was squeaking, and the SAG wagons were out of lube.
I've gotten in the habit of removing my seat post.Mariowannabe
Jun 9, 2003 5:57 AM
Even with the little drainhole in the BB, there's still a lot of moisture in there. Its good to "air it out" once in a while.
I'm drying my clothes under my desk with a space heater...biknben
Jun 9, 2003 6:07 AM
I got rained on again this morning on my way in. Unfortunately, I was not riding my rain bike because I have a training ride planned for the ride home.

Riding in the rain is much more frustrating when you have a rain bike w/ fenders BUT you are riding the good bike and have grit in your a$$.

On a good note: I did my fastest morning commute ever today. I didn't want to spend any more time than neccessary in the rain.
Head down, shades off, keep 2 towels in foyerKristin
Jun 9, 2003 6:13 AM
One for bike, one for you. (Note to self, draw shades before leaving for rainy ride, so you can strip without having to cross the livinging room to first close shades.) Next day, remove cleats...dry and relube bolt threads.
Wear "warm when wet" clothing.dzrider
Jun 9, 2003 7:58 AM
Run if I can't face cleaning up the bike.

Carry everything in baggies.

Sometimes I wear a hat with a brim under my helmet and take my glasses off.

Fenders are a big help.

Sounds like you're doing fine.
This may be dorky, but it helps.KG 361
Jun 9, 2003 5:38 PM
Use a helmet with a visor. It is amazing how much that little thing can do by keeping some of the rain out of your eyes.
huh?DougSloan
Jun 9, 2003 8:13 AM
What rain?

Fresno:

Today
Jun 09 Sunny 94°/63° 0 %
Tue
Jun 10 Sunny 89°/60° 0 %
Wed
Jun 11 Sunny 87°/57° 0 %
Thu
Jun 12 Mostly Sunny 85°/59° 10 %
Fri
Jun 13 Sunny 89°/60° 10 %
Sat
Jun 14 Sunny 90°/59° 10 %
Sun
Jun 15 Sunny 90°/62° 10 %
Mon
Jun 16 Sunny 95°/64° 0 %
Tue
Jun 17 Sunny 94°/64° 0 %
Wed
Jun 18 Sunny 94°/65° 0 %
cheap shot!DaveG
Jun 9, 2003 4:43 PM
Doug, for those of us in the never-ending raining East, your post could be considered a hostile act of war! Today when the sun finally came out I almost forget what it looked like.
heheheDougSloan
Jun 9, 2003 7:49 PM
If only I had time to ride...
Moderator! This vulgarity should be banished! nm =)KG 361
Jun 9, 2003 5:39 PM