RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Good computer with cadence?(19 posts)

Good computer with cadence?Roger H
Jun 5, 2003 6:14 AM
Could someone recommend a decent computer that has a cadence function? I checked the reviews and the Vetta V100 seems pretty good, however , I didn't really get a clear feel for any particular one. Thanks.
Don't laugh, but..MR_GRUMPY
Jun 5, 2003 6:47 AM
The Performance model 8.0C is a pretty good unit. It's made by VDO, and has worked fine for 3 years.
I agree!andy02
Jun 5, 2003 6:54 AM
My wife and I both have the 8C and it has been a great computer so far. See has had hers about 1.5 years. I got mine in Feb of this year. You better hurry I think they are going to get ride of them!
I agree, also. Performance 8.0C is great value.... nmEndure
Jun 5, 2003 8:01 AM
Me too, great value in the 8.0C. Also...DERICK
Jun 5, 2003 5:24 PM
Performance will take anything back for any reason no matter how long you've had it.
Cateye AstralePaulCL
Jun 5, 2003 7:11 AM
I've used one for three years until I got my Ergobrain for Christmas.

My only complaint is that is sometimes didn't work too well in the rain. But other than that minor problem, it had every function that you would need.
Paul
2nd for the Astrale. (nm)kjr39
Jun 5, 2003 7:35 AM
Astrale, Simple, easy to read and useshamelessgearwhore
Jun 5, 2003 7:48 AM
Speedzone Elite (Specialized) easy to read and use.mainframe
Jun 5, 2003 8:32 AM
Keep in mind, that whichever unit you buy, if setup requires a small magnet to be attached to the crankarm via a zip strip or the like, the purchase of a small rare earth magnet (12.5mm, see below) can be used instead. It will magnetically stick to the inside of the pedal spindle and function the same as whatever the factory supplies. Credit board member B2 for the idea. Works great and looks far better. Will never fall out!
www.indigo.com/magnets/neodymium-magnets.html
12.5 mm. What thickness? Easy to remove?Eug
Jun 5, 2003 9:38 AM
They're so called super magnets. If they don't fall out are they easy to remove?

It would make sense to buy a couple and stick one in the tool bag in case it does fall out.
12.5 mm. What thickness? Easy to remove?mainframe
Jun 6, 2003 4:43 AM
I bought #33516, fit is fine. They can be removed with relative ease yet, make no mistake, they are very strongly magnetic. No way it would ever fall out. It is also worth mentioning that they should be handled carefully as fingers can get pinched. Hover these things too close to ferrous objects and look-out!
Glue the magnetRushfan
Jun 5, 2003 10:35 PM
I have an Astrale and superglued the magnet to the crankarm. So far, no issues with it.

The only problem I've had with the Astrale is that the speed/mileage cuts out occasionally. I've had a real problem getting the positioning right and have to constantly fiddle with it.
Astrale is great becauseMr Good
Jun 5, 2003 9:57 PM
unlike many other computers the Cateye Astrale allows you to simultaneously reset all meausurements to zero by pushing both buttons at the same time. You can also set the astrale to record all data continuously, or to record data only while the wheel is moving. I love both of these features.
Astrale in the rainEdSned
Jun 6, 2003 12:34 AM
Agreed - great in the dry, but mine dies in the rain too.

anyone out there got a fix for this? I assume somehow keeping all the contacts and wire connections dry - tips?
Cateye Cordless 7rkalik
Jun 7, 2003 7:46 AM
I have this wireless version from Cateye, the only issue I have is the mileage and speed 'cut-out' problem. It seems to only occur in stop and go conditions - other then that, pretty reliable.
BTW why no wireless cadence? (NM)kilimanjaro
Jun 5, 2003 10:06 AM
BTW why no wireless cadence?laffeaux
Jun 5, 2003 10:20 AM
Shimano's Flight Deck has wireless cadence (although it's a calculated cadence and not a direct measurement).

I think the reason has to do with the location of the cadence transmitter (on the pedal), and the relatively distant receiver on the handlebars. Some computers have difficulty transmitting from the front wheel to the bars, much less twice the distance, with the potential of several tubes (downtube and head tube) blocking portions of the signal.
Wireless Flight Deck works great.Matno
Jun 5, 2003 11:16 AM
Pricey, but the look is clean, and there are more functions than you can shake a stick at!
Vetta V100 Wireless Cadence: $99.99coonass
Jun 5, 2003 3:22 PM
Works great. http://www.beyondbikes.com/shopping.asp?type=38