RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Numbness(14 posts)

Numbnesssuperdreadnought
Jun 4, 2003 8:37 AM
I have been getting some numbness down there when riding, it feels like a tickle. I have good shorts, Pearl Izum (sp) Attach Shorts ($60 shorts). I really think I need a better saddle on my road bike. What are some better mens saddles that help with blood flow and get ride of numbness?
before changingDougSloan
Jun 4, 2003 8:45 AM
You may avoid a problem by lowering your saddle just a tad and standing now and then. The saddle selection is highly individual, and what works for one may not for another.

Doug
Gone back to Flite.the bull
Jun 4, 2003 8:46 AM
I Have allways ridden Flite saddles.
I tried the Body Geometry saddle(both the ti and cro-mo)
and did not like them to much.I found that the ridges on the sit bones were to painful after awhile.I have gone back to the flite it is more comfortable to me.

Make sure your saddle is adjusted correctly!
Same here....PEDDLEFOOT
Jun 4, 2003 8:52 AM
...I hated the BG saddles and went to Flites with great success.As Doug stated it may just be a set up adjustment.If you ask for saddle recommendations they may not be right for you.Play with your set up first and see if it gets better.
Seriously, shorts too tight?shamelessgearwhore
Jun 4, 2003 8:55 AM
There is a tendency to wear cycling clothes really tight. If your shorts are too tight you will definitely experience numbness!! I wear XL shorts now and its fine. Yeah Flite w / Titanium rails work for me for whatever reason so I stick with em. I am trying the one now with Gel instead of the plain slick black one that I have on my other bike and so far so good. Try counterintuitively tilting the front of the seat up just a little.
KoobiMisJG
Jun 4, 2003 8:50 AM
Koobi saddles solved my problems with this issue. http://www.koobi.com
Nervesfiltersweep
Jun 4, 2003 9:02 AM
There are two issues: blood flow and a pinched/bruised nerve. You might be dealing with a nerve issue. A blood flow issue can be dealt with by adjusting your position, standing a bit, etc... A nerve issue is a bit more persistant, but not permanent. If your seat is a bit too high, or tilted back a bit, and you are seated "just right" and you maybe hit a bump in the road, it can send a jolt through the nerve (bruising it) and you might feel numbness for several days (that will eventually go away).

That fact that you say it feels like a tickle makes me wonder if it is a nerve issue.
re: Numbnesstarwheel
Jun 4, 2003 9:29 AM
It could be an issue of saddle adjustment or perhaps needing a new saddle. Is your saddle perfectly level? Having the nose pointed downward can cause you to slide forward and put pressure on nerves. Having the nose slightly up can sometimes help by shifting weight back to the more padded portion of the saddle, but too high in the front can also affect the nerves.

After much experimentation, I've found that the saddles with cutouts in the middle prevent numbness for me. Some good cutout brands include Selle Italia TransAm, Koobi Enduro/Silver, and Terry Fly. Koobi and Terry have 30-day return policies if you buy one and it doesn't fit. A good leather saddle like Brooks is also an option. Saddles are very individual, however, and what is comfortable for one person is hell for another. Flites are the most popular saddle made, probably for good reason, but many people (including myself) find them unbearable.
re: Numbnessmapei boy
Jun 4, 2003 9:41 AM
After years of the tinglies and numbies, I found relief with a Fizik Vitesse...yes a woman's saddle. It's slightly wider and flatter than a men's saddle, so that you mostly sit on your sit bones, not on all the soft tissue. It also has a cut-out, if a rather small one. I've found that the saddles that fill up every space between me and it tend to be the ones that get me the numbest, most quickly. The saddles that conform to my body shape, or that fit like a glove, are the ones that soon give me the most trouble. If the saddle perches me slightly above it all, things tend to go a lot better.

And of course, it helps to have the saddle truly level.
This tip worked for me...coonass
Jun 4, 2003 9:59 AM
Years ago, someone suggested this tip and I find that it does work with a level saddle: instead of aligning the saddle-nose with the top-tube; aim the nose about 1/2" to 5/8" left or right of the top-tube, opposite of the side that your anatomy 'hangs'....(i.e. if your anatomy hangs left, turn the saddle-nose to the right of the top-tube.)
This slight mis-alignment allows for more room on the left side of the saddle.....and does not affect your position of seat-bones on the saddle....NO!!!...You won't be riding 'side-saddle' :) It's an easy experiment.
After 22 years of seats--KoobiYoGeorge
Jun 4, 2003 12:03 PM
Hi there:
I've had to quit more endurance rides due to numbness over the years than to anything related to leg muscles. I swear I've tried 25 different seats at least, dating back to Cinelli Unicanitors, original Avocets, Vettas, etc. I actually did a couple century rides on old Cinelli track seats (unpadded Unicanitors) that were broad across the back for my sit bones and didn't have padding that came up and choked off my nerves. Hurt like hell, but didn't make me numb. My first century made me numb for 3 days, and that was scary, although I've since fathered a kid...

In the last few years, I found a couple Serfas seats that finally dealt directly with the numbness issues but were a bit klunky in weight and bulk, and a bit too soft.

Just this year, I bought a couple Koobi Silver saddles, and swear that these are precisely what I would have designed--relatively firm and light, cut out for the nerve relief, and they put the pressure right on the sit bones. Luckily I managed to grab them when Nashbar was selling them for $35, and with a 10% coupon, got 'em for $32.50 each...but right now I'd pay whatever they cost. I use the straightedge on top of the seat approach, and have them angled up just a couple of degrees at the nose.

George
re: Numbnesssuperdreadnought
Jun 4, 2003 5:57 PM
Some say right fit, how do I know if it is the right fit. Any thing on the web on fit? What about the saddles with the cut out vs. the one with out the cut out? People are saying Koobi, which models?
re: NumbnessHigh Gear
Jun 4, 2003 6:49 PM
You should go into the the review section to see what most find comfortable. I think you will have a better chance at finding one that works. Numbness shouldent be a hard thing to to get rid of with all the saddle manufacturers addressing the problem now. I'm sure a large percentage of riders on this forum have been through at least ten saddles looking for one thats right. So don't get too discouraged if it takes a few. personally I like the Fizik Aliante and it does get a very high rating in the review section. Good luck
re: koobi modelsbianchi boy
Jun 4, 2003 7:09 PM
Go to the koobi website, www.koobi.com. They have a nice chart comparing their different models for width, amount of padding, etc. I went by their chart and got it right the first time. You can order directly from Koobi. They will refund your money or exchange for a different model if it doesn't work out for you. Only thing you stand to lose is shipping cost. Honestly, I tried a whole sh*tload of different saddles and finally tried Koobi just because of the 30-return policy. Turns out they fit me just right, although for my long-distance bike I've started using a Brooks leather saddle. My Koobi is very comfortable up to about 50 miles, but for longer rides I start getting a little squirmy. I have never gotten any numbness at all, however, using the Koobi.