RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Quick Poll: Best Compact Frame for tall rider?(17 posts)

Quick Poll: Best Compact Frame for tall rider?Screaming Barfy
Jun 4, 2003 6:27 AM
Just doing some mid-season dreaming about a compact frame for climbing/crits and want to get thoughts/opinions/experiences with frames that have worked well for folks.

I'm 6'4, but carry most of my height in my legs so a frame with a shorter TT is preferred.

Any comments?
none?ColnagoFE
Jun 4, 2003 6:33 AM
I'm 6'2" and I'm doubting most compact production frames would fit me too well. I have plenty of seatpost showing with my conventional 62cm diamond frame already. Go custom if you must have a compact.
no such thinggregario
Jun 4, 2003 6:40 AM
In my opinion, there is no such thing. I'm 6'2" and mostly leg and I don't think you'll find a frame, much less a compact one, where you'll be able to get the bars high enough where you don't have to be a contortionist to be comfortable. Nowadays it seems like very very few manufacturers make frames larger than 60cm which would be too small for you. I would think your best bet would be a Colnago but they don't make compact frames, at least that I am aware of, in that size. I would think that a 63 or 64cm Colnago would be very appropriate. If you want a compact frame I think you're out of luck. I personally like the look of compact frames but I have to face reality that none of them would fit me.
I steered clear of a compact frameTower
Jun 4, 2003 6:45 AM
I'm 6'4" and ride a 61 Zurich and have plenty of seat post showing. With a sloping top tube, I'd have even more.

61 is as big as LeMond goes
Bianchi makes a 63
Colnago as mentioned above
Hey Tower...t-moore
Jun 4, 2003 10:05 AM
How much seatpost do you show? I am also 6'4" with 61 LeMond with about eight inches of post showing..
re: Quick Poll: Best Compact Frame for tall rider?KG 361
Jun 4, 2003 6:46 AM
I echo the comments of the other posters. Look makes the KX but at larger frame sizes, the slope gradually all but disappears.
I don't recomend it...biknben
Jun 4, 2003 6:47 AM
They may be good for someone who is all torsoe but that's not your case. You better start shopping for long set posts first.

IMO, compact geometry is a total scam created by the marketing deptartments. It so happens that they may have a place for people who are looking for an excessively long TT. Although, that was not the original intent of the geometry.
No such thing as "Best"MR_GRUMPY
Jun 4, 2003 6:49 AM
You might be able to fit an XL compact frame. I'm 6'2" and have one that fits fine. Because you have a shorter torso, the top tube on an XL "might" fit you.
Why don't you go to your LBS and find out ? If you don't know exactly what size you need, don't even think of buying on-line.
I Ride A Compact And Never Had A Problem!BigLeadOutGuy
Jun 4, 2003 7:40 AM
I don't know what the deal is but I went from riding a 62cm OCLV frame to a XL compact geometry frame and I think its the best thing I ever did. The ride is silky smooth and had a heck of a lot less lateral flex then the OCLV. I definatly notice it in the sprint, with my OCLV the frame would flex so much that the chain would rub on the front derailer no matter how I tried to adjust the clearance, I have yet to have this problem with my compact frame, If you really wannt, drop me an e-mail and I'll give you the whole skinny.
Oh BTW I'm 6`4`` as well.
surfnslam@aol.com
what is it? (nm)gregario
Jun 4, 2003 7:55 AM
At 6'4- No don't need a compact frame.alansutton
Jun 4, 2003 8:59 AM
Well, I'm 6'4" and ride a compact frame.Charlie Amerique
Jun 4, 2003 11:04 AM
Litespeed Siena XL. Personally I like it's fit and I can climb like a goat on it. I figure I'm pretty evenly proportioned at 210lbs and a 36" inseem so you're sizing might vary.
look at that huge drop to the bars though!gregario
Jun 4, 2003 11:18 AM
If you have low back issues, like I've had for a couple years now, you might not be able to tolerate such a huge distance to the bars. That's what you will probably have with a too small compact frame for a tall rider. Of course, it will work for some people but not for this 41 year old who doesn't race.
makes my back ache just looking at it (nm)ColnagoFE
Jun 4, 2003 1:16 PM
drop to the bars doesn't have to be larger on a compact!nazgul
Jun 4, 2003 1:27 PM
Drop to the bars would depend on the headtube length.
If you look at the geometry charts on litespeed.com an XL Sienna has a 59cm effective top tube and a 20cm long headtube. An equivalent non-compact model, e.g. a size 61 Tuscany would have a 59cm effective toptube and 20.3cm long headtube. Thus, assuming you use a seatpost of proper length on the compact the two frames will fit identically.

Stefan
look at that huge drop to the bars though!Nug
Jun 4, 2003 4:28 PM
I'd bet that's no more than 4", max. Mine looks extreme, so I got a level and measured it (I have mine set very comfortably for me) and mine's right at 4". The slope and long seatpost make it look like more of a drop than it is.
I have the same set-up, 6" of drop....Bruno S
Jun 4, 2003 4:45 PM
same bike, my height is 6'2.5". I have about 6" of drop on both my bikes and no problems riding double centuries or racing crits. My inseam is 36.5" and have very long arms (specially the forearms) that require the handle bars to be very low to maintain a flat back (parallel to the ground). The bike rides very well, stiff when climbing and very absorbent of road buzz and pavement cracks and small holes. In part, I believe, because of the long seatpost.