RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


TREK 2300 or LeMOND ZURICH(20 posts)

TREK 2300 or LeMOND ZURICHfredstaple
Jun 4, 2003 3:05 AM
If you could have just one, which would it be. No racing, just riding to stay in shape for an old (40) fat (200lbs) used to be able to ride all day six foot tall person. I think I want steel because it will give me a better (smoother) ride and that will probably be easier on me. Anyone think I'll be happier with alu. Other than the frame material, I think the bikes are just about the same. Any other bikes in this range anyone think I should look at; already ruled out the Cannondales and the Specialized (i've just been a life long fan of Trek) Thanks
re: TREK 2300 or LeMOND ZURICHmja
Jun 4, 2003 4:01 AM
At your weight a quality aluminum bike should ride smooth. And I suggest you give a second look to Cannondale. This year I sold my Zurich and picked up a CAAD5 frame from GVHbikes.com. The Zurich is a great ride, but even a not particularly strong 170 lb. rider like myself found it lacking in bottom-bracket stiffness, especially on climbs. The CAAD5 will not beat you up, and it will more efficiently transfer your physical effort into forward propulsion!
re: TREK 2300 or LeMOND ZURICHfiltersweep
Jun 4, 2003 4:26 AM
Trek isn't exactly reknowned for their aluminum frames anyway- so if you are a Trek fan, you'd be better off with an OCLV Trek.
actually...slide13
Jun 4, 2003 4:30 AM
The nice trek aluminum frames on the 2300 and 2200 are really nice riding. Trek had a bad series of frames with the aero shaped down tubes a few years ago. Really harsh riding, nobody liked them. The new frames though have a really nice ride quality to them. I ride a Lemond myself but have been on the Trek frames enough to know that I would be happy on one of those as well. Never been a fan on Cannondale frames, too harsh in my experience, but these Trek ones are pretty nice.
You'd be happy with either............nmMR_GRUMPY
Jun 4, 2003 4:54 AM
Go with the Zurich (nm)kjr39
Jun 4, 2003 4:56 AM
the LeMOND ZURICHtarwheel
Jun 4, 2003 4:57 AM
I would go for the Zurich, but I prefer steel over aluminum in any case. The Zurich is a reasonably light frame and gets raves for its comfort. The resale value of these frames/bikes is impressive -- just watch a few auctions on eBay. Trek aluminum frames are not known for their comfort. Now, they may have changed something to improve that in recent years, but I have never heard anyone rave about the smooth ride of a Trek aluminum frame. I am sure it would be lighter and perhaps stiffer than the Zurich, but is that really what's most important to you? Read the reviews for these two frames in the review section of this site and I think you will find your answer.
re: TREK 2300 or LeMOND ZURICHrayclark
Jun 4, 2003 5:24 AM
I just compared those exact bikes myself about 2 months ago. I went with the Zurich. I took both for a pretty extensive ride and I felt that the Zurich fit me better and gave a much smoother ride. I've put a little over 500 miles on and absolutly love this bike. The only change I made was I changed the saddle to the Fizik Aliante. This seat is the best my butt has been planted on. I just couldn't adjust to the seat that came on the bike. The Trek Carbon Fibers are sweet too. They were out of my price range though. Good luck with your choice.

Ray
re: TREK 2300 or LeMOND ZURICHgeeker
Jun 4, 2003 5:30 AM
I have an 853 steel cyclocross bike, and test rode some road bikes last summer (didn't buy one for financial reasons). I gave the 2300 a token ride, thinking I'd at least check out how "harsh aluminum" felt, but was shocked by how great the ride was. I especially liked the stiffness (6'2+", 185#). That said, if you think you'd prefer steel and can't test ride to compare, it'd be safer to go with the LeMond. I'd still want to test ride over some rough pavement and chip-seal roads before deciding on aluminum.
hands down, the ZURICHTig
Jun 4, 2003 5:50 AM
The 853 tubing makes for a fine ride that pretty much sets the standard for ride quality these days. I'll never own another Trek aluminum unless you put a gun to my head.

If you're worried about weight, take the total difference between the two bikes (something like 1.3 to 1.5 pounds). Add your weight to each bike for the total bike/rider weight. Don't forget full water bottles , tool bag, etc. What percentage difference do you get between the two choices? Not worth worrying about, eh?

Go for what feels best to you after a few test rides. If you have a little more money and a little time, order a custom painted Zurich for a truly fine and original machine. Oh, Trek owns LeMond anyway.
I'm partial to the ZurichMel Erickson
Jun 4, 2003 5:57 AM
My bro-in-law got rid of his 2300 last winter because it was a harsh rider. Maybe they changed things but he went to a LeMond Maillot Jaune and is a happy camper (that is until he overshifted his chain and mangled his dropout). He's fairly small, 5'5" and 150#. If comfort is more important than snappiness then the Zurich would be a better buy, assuming it fits.
I ride the ZurichTower
Jun 4, 2003 6:28 AM
Bought it back in March and have found it to be VERY comfortable. It was my first road bike, so I really don't have much of a comparison.

I knew I wanted steel, so I didn't ride the 2300 or any AL road bike.

The Zurich is a great buy considering it's component group. I got mine for $1700.

But as most have said here, ride them both and decide. Get the one that fits/feels best.
Doesn't Trek make Lemond?TNSquared
Jun 4, 2003 8:20 AM
Both are great bikes. I have the Trek 2300 (2003 year model) and think the ride is great. My friend has a Zurich and it is also sweet.

BTW - you're right that they are very similar bikes other than the frame material. In fact, my understanding is that Trek makes Lemond bikes. However, I have not studied the Lemond geometry so I don't know if there is a big difference here, but I don't think so.

Test ride both, but I don't think you'll find the Trek harsh at all. If you are a big Trek fan, then I would go with the Trek if they ride similarly.
Yes. nmTower
Jun 4, 2003 9:53 AM
If it were me I'd say neither.djg
Jun 4, 2003 9:54 AM
I have nothing against Trek or LeMond. I've owned and liked 2 Treks in the past and my commuter bike is built around an old LeMond designed frame. These bikes work for many people, and I know at least one very enthusiastic Zurich rider pretty well.

But I've never been crazy about the Zurich myself--either the geometry or the overall feel of the bike--and I've never much cared for Trek's aluminum road bikes at all. I don't own an AL bike, but I've been on at least several that seemed fine to me--much, much better than average and vastly better than the early AL bikes (either the Alan softies or the original cannys death chatter machines). And at your weight, AL is certainly worth checking out. But I wonder why you've written off Canny and Specialized. And for stock AL, how about Klein or Bianchi?

In steel, at the Zurich's price range, I'd certainly look at Gunnar and Bianchi as well as LeMond, and I might really look into a custom. For instance, GVH bikes will build up a custom landshark (custom fit geometry and tube spec for your size and weight, extremely nice workmanship, and your choice of paint) for about 2k. Custom builders like Anvil are also in your price range. Strong sells a stock model in your price range (which you may not be able to try in your area) and Serotta sells one (the fierte) which you probably can try. Pegoretti has steel and AL that you can probably afford--very good bikes.

Personally, I'm not sure what I'd do at your price range and size, but I'd look around. I might be tempted to order a Colnago Dream plus or MXL from England and put it together in the garage.
FYI, couple of Zurich's on Ebay now.Tower
Jun 4, 2003 9:56 AM
Don't know what size you need, but there are several on auctin now.
Trekhcswede
Jun 4, 2003 5:55 PM
I just got a 2002 2300, and it's a killer sweet ride. Of course, I'd been riding an old Specialized Allez before, so a pretty big jump, but it seriously does everything i want it to.

Darrell
Which ever one fits the best!chipnseal
Jun 4, 2003 7:04 PM
I was faced with the same dilemma last year and went with the Trek. I rode both and ended up with the 63cm Trek. I rode a Zurich 59cm and a 61cm. I think the "laid back" LeMond geometry didn't feel right. Too stretched out. I think I have long legs and a short torso. Anyway, I'm 6'3", 215lbs and after about 5,000 miles and can say the Trek has been fine. I did build up my own set of wheels, Mavic CXP-33's, which are a little more bombproof than the Bonty Race Lites, although in fairness the Race Lites have held true through the first 1500 or so miles. Either way, I think you'll be very satisfied, and the resale is strong for both models.

My next bike will be a lugged steel, maybe a Cinelli or Heron. Have to try out a good old steel bike again...

Just my two cents...BTW, there is some excellent advice on this board!
Which ever one fits the best!copenhavertl
Jun 4, 2003 10:46 PM
Thanks!
Thanks for all the help NMcopenhavertl
Jun 4, 2003 10:50 PM