RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Selling Bike And Need Opinions(8 posts)

Selling Bike And Need OpinionsBudabear
Jun 3, 2003 9:08 PM
Hi,

I built myself a 58cm Cannondale CAAD3 a few years ago. The frame was/is brand new and all the components were brand new. The bike is comprised of a CAAD3 frame which was bought in Europe and is really a beautiful frame. The drivetrain is all DuraAce STI Components except for new Ultegra cranks. The fork is a a Coda Carbon Slice with Chris King headset, black TTT Mutant stem, and Super Italia Pro 2 Handle bars. The wheels are Rolf Vector Comps, again brand new, with Continental Grand Prix 3000 tires. The saddle is a Body Geometry with Manganese rails and a Post Moderne road suspension seat post. The bike even has a Specialized wireless computer.

I've attached a photo of the bike and I have a bunch more. If you need to see more just email me. My first thought was to take it apart but I would really hate to do that. This bike has never seen the streets and doesn't have a scratch anywhere on it.

So, can anyone tell me what a racer like this is worth, realistically. I hate having to think of selling but I just might have to.

Thanks for your time!
check eBay for similar bikes to get your bike's value (nm)Sean008
Jun 4, 2003 6:52 AM
Nice looking ride....newridr
Jun 4, 2003 6:56 AM
Sorry to hear that you might be forced to sell it, but if you're not riding it, you might as well. BTW, you must be single, 'cause no woman would ever allow a bike to be put on the couch!

Good luck.
Nice looking ride....Budabear
Jun 10, 2003 6:12 PM
Actually I'm married. The tires are brand new so they can't do any damage. Besides, she didn't know. ;->

Thanks!
Obsolete...elviento
Jun 4, 2003 7:01 AM
I am not saying it's not a good bike but the thing with C'dale is that they come up with new models each year and the high end frame is now up to CAAD7 (4 generations newer than yours, and probably CAAD8 is coming out too). Also Shimano is releasing 10 speed parts in a few months, so 9 speed Dura Ace will be on sale soon. You could probably get $800-1200 depending on luck.

On the bright side of things, you are fortunately that you didn't spend $3000 building a computer 4-5 years ago and reselling now for $80.
eBaytarwheel
Jun 4, 2003 7:24 AM
I agree that eBay is the best way to value your frame. Just do a search for similar bikes, put them on your "watch list," and see what they eventually sell for. You'll probably get the best price selling your bike on eBay as well, if you don't mind the hassle. Be prepared to answer a lot of email questions and requests for photos and more info. The best way to sell on eBay is to put a reasonable starting bid (not a reserve price), include a very complete description of size and components, and post good photos.
re: Selling Bike And Need OpinionsBudabear
Jun 6, 2003 8:41 PM
Wow! It's quite amazing that no one could post any opinions to help me out here.
re: Selling Bike And Need OpinionsBudabear
Jun 8, 2003 5:54 AM
This is pretty interesting that with 95 views no one could take the time to help out here!

THANKS!