RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How about a quickie?(43 posts)

How about a quickie?NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:09 PM
Man, it rained pretty good last night. I think I'll take the road bike today and not churn up the singletrack. My 20 mile loop should be nice this morning; It's only about 50 degrees right now and there should hardly be any traffic at this hour.

Jeez, no traffic at all...
Kind of hazy this morning...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:11 PM
Too bad; you can usually see the Cascades real well from here. I guess you can kind of see Mt. Bachelor peeking through the trees there.
That's a bit better view...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:13 PM
Still kinda hazy.
Oh yeah...first decent descent.NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:16 PM
I'd better stick this camera back in my jersey before I yard sale.
I love this stretch...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:18 PM
The oil is so velvety smooth you can hardly feel or hear it.
I love windy (does not rhyme with Mindy) roadsNatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:22 PM
Remember that one time I almost t-boned that mallard duck right about here?
Here comes the fast hill...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:24 PM
I hope the gravel got cleaned up a bit.
Is that St Helens?rwbadley
Jun 1, 2003 8:26 PM
No, too far southblakester
Jun 1, 2003 8:53 PM
These pics look like the bend, OR area to me. and St. Helens is up in Washington a few hundred miles north. Though it is still visible from parts northern OR.
Yep, Bend. nm.NatC
Jun 1, 2003 9:02 PM
I have a good friend who just moved to bend this year....allezrider
Jun 2, 2003 5:44 AM
It looks so beautiful over there that I think I need to come visit.....

thanks for the shots
Nice little bridge...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:27 PM
right over the Deschutes. Smells like fire. Some campers must've stoked up early.
Hey is the sun finally burning through the haze?NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:28 PM
I can see my shadow now.
Good morning horsies...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:31 PM
Yep. No traffic at all.NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:34 PM
What's that in the distance, a...car? My ride's ruined!NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:38 PM
Wow, several miles since the last pic and I'm still in the middle of the road. Too bad it's not more clear out; those mountain peaks usually stand out big time.
Whoooosh...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:40 PM
Time to start climbing a bit...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:41 PM
Deer. Promise?NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:44 PM
Hmmmm, where are they this morning? There are usually a few. Dang, there must've been 30 or 40 that one time...
Last big descent before getting back into town...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:46 PM
Yikes! Must be back in town.NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:50 PM
Almost there...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:51 PM
I love my neighborhood...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:53 PM
hey, is that Bend??PseuZQ
Jun 1, 2003 8:55 PM
My folks live there.
Yes, it sure is! nm.NatC
Jun 1, 2003 9:02 PM
re: How about a quickie?NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:54 PM
Mmmmmm, fresh-cut grass smell.
Hey, did they get the fountains running?NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:56 PM
Cool, yes they did.NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:57 PM
We really do live in a little slice of beauty, huh?rockbender
Jun 2, 2003 10:22 AM
Nice neighborhood! Is that Broken Top? I love pedaling around and seeing everyone's freshly groomed landscapes.

My yard on the other hand.... well, I ride too much I guess!

Can you believe the development pushing out on Skyliners? wow.

see ya on the road/trails.
It's The Parks at Broken TopNatC
Jun 2, 2003 2:02 PM
I know what you mean about taking care of the yard. Every nice weekend day the neighbors flood out onto their lawns and plant flowers, pull weeds, move dirt, add mulch, etc., etc. Meanwhile we wave to them as we head out on our bikes, yard be damned.

I heard Skyliners is scheduled to have about 300 houses within the next few years. Phil's Trail might be Phil's sidewalk before long.
Have you been out on hwy 242 this year?rockbender
Jun 2, 2003 2:54 PM
Nice place... beautiful community out that way. I usually ride the 'parks loop' the opposite direction, so it took me a minute to figure out where you were at!

Question for ya - have you been on hwy 242 this year yet? From the ODOT page, it sounds like they have at least one lane cleared to the Dee Wright on the Sisters side, but I don't know how up to date it is and whether any of the west side is in shape yet. That ride is soooo nice while they have the gates closed to traffic!
Dang, I guess I'd better mow my lawn...NatC
Jun 1, 2003 8:59 PM
Thanks for reading, everyone.NatC
Jun 1, 2003 9:00 PM
LOVE BendBNA_roadie
Jun 2, 2003 12:08 AM
I spent a lot of time there, taking customers to Jeld-Wen facilities. I'd move there, except I heard "it's poverty with a view"
I like that.NatC
Jun 2, 2003 4:54 AM
If you can work here, then you'll love it. Central Oregon has really high unemployment, so it'd be best to have your work secured before making any moving plans. People here seem to either have no money at all or an obscene amount of it, not much in between.
Rephrase...NatC
Jun 2, 2003 7:09 AM
When I said, "I like that" I meant I thought your statement was humorous. I didn't mean I like the unemployment rate. Oops.
Re: Jeld-WenHAL9010
Jun 2, 2003 9:06 AM
BNA_roadie,

Do you work for Jeld-Wen? If so do you know Doug Wickahm?

I have known Doug since 6th grade and was his Best Man.
Thanks for the pics.....newridr
Jun 2, 2003 5:57 AM
Nice to see some beautiful country - especially for those of us stuck in NJ. It's not all Sopranos and oil refineries, but it's no Bend.

Have fun.
Just a question on posting pics:Alexx
Jun 2, 2003 6:28 AM
I have several good ride shots, but am unable to figure out how to post them other than as a hyperlink. I do have an HTML composition program, if that will help, but there are no real instructions her on how to do this.
Could somebody please explain how to post pics, for those of us not in the webpage development industry?
You can upload your pics to this site...biknben
Jun 2, 2003 7:05 AM
When creating a topic or reply, hit the "click here" link next to where you add the picture's path. A seperate screen comes up which allows you can browse your hard drive and upload a .jpg file. Consumerreview hosts the file and supplies a path to it. You just have to copyclip the path in the window at the bottom of your post.

I don't know diddly about webpage development and that's how I'm doing it.
TutorialNatC
Jun 2, 2003 7:33 AM
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?14@@.ef9a120

The above method is for HTML, but to do it like I did it on this thread you just follow the "click here" directions beneath the message box when you post.
Thanks for the pics! Nice neighborhood btw! :) nmnoveread
Jun 2, 2003 6:47 AM
re: How about a quickie?MellowVelo
Jun 3, 2003 10:12 AM
Looks like a great loop.. what roads are you riding there?? I'm down here in Medford, but am pretty familiar with the roads up there. The roads look familiar, but I'm not sure.