RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is Assos worth the price?(16 posts)

Is Assos worth the price?Mariowannabe
May 30, 2003 5:35 PM
I have their Intermediate Jersey and its really a great piece of gear. Is their $239 bib short worth it? $14 socks? $119 Jersey? I'll pay for quality, but I'd like to hear some other opinions. Thanks,
It depends what you mean by "worth"MR_GRUMPY
May 30, 2003 5:55 PM
If you mean "fit-wise" the answer is no. If you mean "ego-wise" the answer is yes. If you are the type of person who just has to have the "best" (meaning most expensive), go for it. If you think that they are three times as good as a $80 set of bibs, guess again.
Yes, the $240 Assos bibs will be a little better than the $80 bibs, but not by much. Once you get past the $60 barrier, most bibs are not very different.
to hell with ego - I want value.Mariowannabe
May 30, 2003 6:08 PM
I drive a Toyota, ride a Colnago, wear 20 year-old clogs, but use really nice Scarpa ski-boots... In clothing, I use it hard - ride with it in all conditions, wash it frequently, etc. One thing I kind-of-like about Assos is that, IMO, it looks plain. No neon, at least. When I'm out on a long ride, in the cold rain, comfort matters - and contributes to performance. That's why I ask.

Yes, I'm doubtful, too, that 240 is THAT much better than 80. Well,
to hell with ego - I want value.russw19
May 30, 2003 7:31 PM
Your line about washing it frequently is what will get you into trouble with the Assos line. You really should handwash their stuff in Woolite or some other mild detergent. Washing machines are very hard on clothes. And if you live in an apartment or do your laundry at a laundromat or use industrial type washers you are killing your clothes even faster. I won't argue one way or another about Assos stuff being worth it or not, I love the stuff, but it is bordering on the ridiculous line of price, but I will say, if you get it, hand wash it and take care of it to get your money's worth.

Some other really nice stuff is the Campy line of clothes. Check into their stuff too if you like more or less plain looking, but amazing clothing. Santini also has a line of clothing that is more basic colors but still semi-plain.

Russ

Russ
Tip for machine-washing the $$$$$ stuffcoonass
May 31, 2003 7:06 AM
Go to Walmart and purchase one of those zippered, nylon-mesh bags that ladies use for their hosiery and whatevers (~$4)....the bag takes the abuse of the agitator and the contents don't get beat up and stretched. I use them to wash my ASSOS Gator Jacket, Thermo Tights, gloves, socks, ( 8 socks in, 8 socks out:)) etc....for me, it's generally just sweat that I'm washing out. IMHO: ASSOS is top shelf!!
p.s. If you experience any skin irritations from washing soaps, pour a cup of clear vinegar in the final rinse cycle..it'll remove any left-over soap residues from the final rinse.
Tip for machine-washing the $$$$$ stuffrussw19
May 31, 2003 11:49 AM
That's good advice, thank you!

Russ
It's hard to saydasho
May 30, 2003 6:29 PM
It's kind of subjective. If you are considering other expensive bibs auch as Castelli or the top of the line Pearl Izumis I would take the Assos. I think if you shop around you can find the FI 13s for $179 or $189 and the excellent Prosline for $129. I have a pair of the bottom of the line Assos half shorts (bibs) which I paid $88 dollars for and they are more comfortable (nice pad and lycra) than the PI Ultrasensors in my opinion. Only time will tell how long they will hold up but their construction is excellent. Most Swiss products I have purchased are as good as it gets and I think Assos is no different.

The
I've tried them all, and for me Assos is bestMGS
May 30, 2003 7:10 PM
But that doesn't necessarilly mean that they are worth the money. That is relative.
I've worn Castelli, Pearl Izumi, and CC bibs. If I didn't care about price, there would be no doubt that the Asso F1-13 are for me , the best fitting and most comfortable bibs I've ever had on for any length of ride.

When considering the price, I consider it high, but I consider it the cost of riding. When you consider the cost of the bike, the wheels and other things we buy, I feel the comfort is well worth it. Hell, I know people who spend over one hundred dollars a month on cable, yet complaint that a great clincher tire that lasts a season costs 50 dollars.

So, if you want to treat yourself and your body, go for it.
If there is a price concern and financially you are strapped, the Castelli Progetto is great for 50 dollars less.

The PI's are also more than enough for almost any ride.

But the Asssos are like Campy Record, probably not that much better than other equipment, but a treat to use.
re: Is Assos worth the price?larryp2
May 30, 2003 8:00 PM
you can get the bibs for $189. well worth it, they fit incredibly and are dramatically more comfortable than the cheaper ones.
re: Is Assos worth the price?GregJ
May 30, 2003 10:17 PM
I don't have any complaints with far cheaper bibs and shorts like Voler or (horrors)Performance, so I wouldn't even consider them. If you feel the need to spend more there are plenty of middle ground options I am sure.
ASSOS Bib T shorts: $88.......coonass
May 31, 2003 2:07 PM
and ASSOS Camp. EVO Bib shorts: $116. @ http://www.totalcycling.com/ that's a pretty good deal even if the shipping may be $25-$30.....
re: Is Assos worth the price?Fignons_ponytail
May 31, 2003 3:14 AM
My advice is don't try them. Many, many years ago when I first got into cycling, the $19 shorts with a potato chip chamois were fine. Until I tried the $30 shorts. They were more comfy, and once used, I could never imagine going back to the $19 shorts. Then I tried the $50 descente shorts. Again, they were more comfy. Then I tried the $90 Pearl Isumi bibs. You get the picture.

Basically, once you try a better short, you won't want to go back to a lesser short. I'm perfectly comfortable doing 5+ hour rides in bibs that are in the $65-150 range (Performance, Pearl Isumi, Voler). The Assos probably are incrementally more comfy, and if I tried them I would most likely only want to use them. That's why I won't try them!
"Those must be comfortable shoes!"the bull
May 31, 2003 4:07 AM
"I'll bet you can walk all day in those shoes and not feel a thing"!

"My feet hurt".

-Forrest Gump
the absolute best shorts i ever had.colker
May 31, 2003 5:37 AM
but it didn't last long and i handwashed it. at $95 for a real chamois insert and perfect fit.. is it worth it? it's above my standards. i mean: i don't wear silk, saville row suits or made ot measure shoes. those assos shorts were out of my hippie/ punk attitude toward clothes.
if paying 200+ for "made to kings" clothes is ridiculous or it's a cheap way to be a king, it's your call...
Thanks for the good feedback...Mariowannabe
May 31, 2003 11:15 AM
Great insight. I just ordered a pair of the high-end bibshorts.

My everyday shorts are Boure and I think they offer great value - and a wonderful company to deal with. We'll see if the Swiss stuff lives up to its billing.
Wait till you crash while wearing them!mosovich
May 31, 2003 3:28 PM
A Dr. friend of mine got a pair, the first ride in them he crashed. Needless to say $250 down the drain! That's one reason I couldn't wear them. He's also the kind of guy that has a C40 he won't ride if it looks like it's gonna rain. More money than brains.