RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?(43 posts)

Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?MXL02
May 30, 2003 6:20 AM
I ride my colnago master x light because a) it fits like a glove, b) rides like a dream, c)now I'm too poor to ride anything else.
A couple of simple reasons:mleptuck
May 30, 2003 6:48 AM
1) It was cheap (2001 Raleigh R700 w/ full Ultegra group --$1100)

2) I can't afford ti or carbon, and can't ride carbon (205#)

3) When I bought it last year, I was just starting out and wasn't sure I'd stick with it.

4) Now that the second crumb-snatcher is due in mid-July, I'll have no money for another ride, so I'll make this one last!
Size, quality, priceContinental
May 30, 2003 6:53 AM
I need a 64 cm or 66 cm frame--greatly narrows the options.
I wanted STI, steel frame, 32 spoke 3 cross wheels, room for fenders and 28 mm tires. I wanted to spend minimum possible. Fuji Finest meets all needs and was a great deal. Now with Brooks B17, clipless pedals, and rising stem it's really comfortable and efficient.
Because I adore the ride, have grown up with it ...Humma Hah
May 30, 2003 6:59 AM
... this particular old highly-modified cruiser is, IMHO, the best-handling bicycle I've ever ridden. The whole feel of it gliding down the road is so silky and comfortable, I usually find other bikes objectionable.

The one exception is the recently-acquired retro Paramount, which has enough of that Schwinn geometry that I'm actually comfortable on it in the drops.

Probably part of my reason for liking the cruiser's ride is experience with it. It is the same design of frame as the one I got at age 12. This particular bike I got at age 18. I'll turn 50 in July. I've grown up with this bike and this frame style, and riding it comes totally naturally to me. But as far back as I can remember, I adored the feeling of riding Schwinn cruisers.
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?Mazinger
May 30, 2003 6:59 AM
Specialized Allez

It was a good price for a full ultegra setup (except crank which I recently replaced).

Stiff ride which I prefer.
If it's not broke, Why fix it?Dave Hickey
May 30, 2003 7:01 AM
LOOK's geometry fits me like a glove. I have three 51cm LOOK's that are all set up the same. Even my Cinelli Super Corsa has the same dimensions. I've spent years adjusting stems/saddles/bars. I found something that works for me and I see no reason to change it.
If it's not broke, Why fix it?flying
May 30, 2003 4:04 PM
I agree the Look 381i is my ride & I plan to stick with Look or mimick the geometry on any future bikes.
It is easily the most comfy bike I have ever rode.
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?mackgoo
May 30, 2003 7:08 AM
Because it's a Bianchi. Really I got my first real bike when I was 13, a Celeste Bianchi Nuevo Record. I've seen no reason to go to any other builder.
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?JS Haiku Shop
May 30, 2003 7:16 AM
merckx strada: columbus brain, chorus 10, open pros. why? because it looks cool, it's a merckx, and it makes me feel all tingly and giddy. "i'm as hoppy as a little gurl!"

surly crosscheck: 4130 cromo, ultegra/xt/cantilevers, open pros. why? on long rides it sucks up road noise like an overstuffed Lazy Boy. it's a "disposable" frame, isn't my sunday best, and i don't mind riding it in bad weather, traveling with it in the back of a vehicle (often with other bikes), or the odd gravity check. it fits fenders and large tires, and doubles as a cyclocross bike in fall/winter. and most importantly, it's babypoop green.

surly steamroller: 4130 cromo, shimano/stronglight/ritchey, open pros. fixed 42x14, free 42x16. why? because i'm a punk rocker. why not? :)

zeus pro: columbus foco, ultegra, open pros. why? this is frame-only right now, but will be built as noted. because it's a beautiful frame. this one will be used for rides in good weather, and for climbing in much-too-large gears. it'll be a sister to the merckx strada, and a backup bike in case something goes awry.

look kg286: carbon fiber monococque, ultegra, cxp33s. why? this is frame-only right now, blah, blah. i'm considering building this one up in long-distance tt/tri comfort mode, but may change my mind and make it a straightforward road bike with a corncob on the back. it looks all cool in black. i'm excited to ride a full carbon bike.

merckx elite: extralight 7020 AL w/CF fork, ultegra, cpx33s. why? frame only right now, blah, blah. because it also says "merckx" on it, and it makes me feel all warm and fuzzy. i hope this will be a "go fast" bike, and intend to use it as an all-season trainer and race bike (seldom as i race road).

specialized rockhopper mtb: Ritchey NiTi, RS, LX etc., Ritchey otherwise. why? because it was cheap when i decided to downgrade the mtb, as i only occasionally ride trails. hopefully this year will find me losing my MTB racing virginity. why else? because Merckx doesn't make a mountain bike.

-J
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?Sadlebred
May 30, 2003 7:33 AM
Casati/9 speed Ultegra & Dura Ace: It's a 46 cm and it fits. It's showing it's age and will be replaced by a custom bike (steel or ti) next year.

Kelly Custom MTB: XT/SRAM 9.0 SL/Hayes Hydraulic disk brakes/Mavic 517 rims. It's a custom. It's royal blue, and she's my baby! Why custom? I'm 5'3", and it's impossible to find stock bikes that fit me.

Cannondale Track: Mix of components, mostly Sugino and Dura-Ace track. It fits me, and it stays on the velodrome. No road riding for this fixie.

Custom Scandium MTB frame: it's super light, it fits like a glove and rides like dream. The frame is broken b/c of bad workmanship on the welds. I'm debating about getting it repaired and building it back up. I'm afraid it would break again. Did I mention the frame is only 2.1 pounds? (yes, it's tiny...it's a 13" mtb frame).
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?J2
May 30, 2003 9:33 AM
Zeus Roubiax - altec alu - campy mix w/spinergy's. matte black just says new york hardcore. actually a really great riding bike.

Coppi Neuron - steel - campy daytona/mavic elite wheels. just can't get enough euro fix.

Fondriest Status - steel - campy daytona/chorus mix. the ultimate italian bike, absolutely beautiful and rides like a dream.

Kestrel 300EMS - carbon - campy centaur/record mix w/hed 3 wheels. replacement bike for the 200EMS i broke last year. gotta love frame gauranties.

Van Tuyl - Genius - steel cross bike from holland where cyclocross rules. cross geometry dialed in, had it personally shipped in from the netherlands and had to be different.

then various others, a Paramount PDG that i've had for over 10 years, i just can't bring myself to get rid of it. a Nuke Proof and a Serotta mtb bike. various BMX bikes and crusiers cause i still like going out to the bmx track like when i was a kid.
I like the way they look.terry b
May 30, 2003 7:28 AM
Took me a short time and some money to understand that I, very simply, just like the way certain bikes look. If it fits, and it catches my eye - I want it.

Sampson Kalispell - custom black sable metal fleck with blue flames powder coat by Spectrum. "If you listen closely, you can hear the finish."

Calfee Tetra Pro - Cabernet fade to red-tinted carbon clear coat. Looks edible.

Colnago Master X Light - AD20, Colnago's "demur" paint job. Reminds me of all those model cars I built growing up in the '60s.

Pinarello Opera - if not on the road, then on the runway in Milan.

Stong Custom - yellow fade to silver - loud, brassy.

Gunnar Roadie - basic black, like my Raleigh 3-speed circa 1965.

Pegoretti Fina Estampa - Australian Aboriginal art done by master Italian craftsman. How could you not own one of those.

Bianchi Boron XL - is any garage complete without a splash of Celeste?

Fondriest Top Level - SAT silver and blue. How did they dream up that finish?

Orbea Starship Team Euskatel - Is there a more over the top paint scheme in the peloton? I like everything Basque.
That's the worst case of bike lust I've ever seen!!!! nmt-bill
May 30, 2003 8:01 AM
price, fit, comforttarwheel
May 30, 2003 7:33 AM
I've got two bikes: a Merckx Corsa .01 and Gios Compact Pro. Both are steel lugged frames with chrome forks. I bought both frames because I could afford them, they fit me great, and I like the ride of steel. I also appreciate the craftsmanship that goes into a lugged steel frame and have never seen a ti, carbon or steel frame that looks as nice as classic steel. Although it might be nice to own a lighter ti or carbon frame, I can't afford to buy one and most makes do not have a geometry that suits me. I tried one aluminum frame and the road buzz drove me crazy. I will never buy another aluminum frame despite what some people claim about new aluminum frame designs, carbon stays, etc. Once burned, twice shy. If I won the lottery, I would probably buy a custom ti or light steel frame.
Aegis Victory pro race Campy record speeddreamsPaulCL
May 30, 2003 7:34 AM
Why?

I recently broke my Ti Colnago and had to buy a new frame in a relative hurry. Why this one??

1. Walked into a deal
2. Lifetime warranty
3. Fits me like a glove - better than my Colnago
4. Sweet ride
5. Looks awesome now that I have my Speeddreams on it
6. Light/stiff/fast
7. I could afford it.
8. The C-40 only had a four year warranty and costs more
9. Bought it from a LBS that I trust

Paul
What did you end up doing with dropped chain damage? nmDave Hickey
May 30, 2003 7:37 AM
It was essentially cosmeticPaulCL
May 30, 2003 8:43 AM
I emailed Aegis to describe the 'damage'. Get this...the CEO emailed me back. He told me how to check the spot to see if it was structural or not. It wasn't - it was just a deep scratch. THank goodness.

My fix: per Aegis suggestion
1. Use auto touch-up paint to paint the spot
2. I then cut a matching 'lizard skin' piece of material and put it over the spot
3. Check my front der. adjustment to make sure it wouldn't ever happen again.
4. Aegis apparently ships some sort of "anti chain-suck" device with every frame. It wasn't installed on mine.

I'm very relieved that I didn't ruin my new frame on its' second ride. And I am relieved that the scratches are on the chainstay, near the BB, but behind the chainrings - so you can't see anything unless you really look for it.

Now, I'm skipping off Friday afternoon to ride. er..boss...I have a business meeting....

Paul

P.S. I mentioned to my wife that I met one of her fellow Miami grads on a cycling board. She said something like..'go redskins or redwhatevertheirteamsarecallednow..."
it was the coolest bike i could afford when i went to buy. :) nmraboboy
May 30, 2003 7:37 AM
ditto: the coolest used lugged steel i could afford. nmcolker
May 30, 2003 7:42 AM
nm
because it works as well today is it did 15 years ago. nmSteve_0
May 30, 2003 7:41 AM
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?GFocker
May 30, 2003 7:46 AM
I ride my 1989 Tesch S-22 because it's never let me down, rides better now than when it was new, weighs 4 lbs less than when it was new (due to component technology & upgrades), and is one of a kind.
stealtholdschool
May 30, 2003 8:00 AM
I wanted a very plane looking machine that fits/works well. The fact that they had what I wanted with a quill stem just made the deal sweeter.
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?Blue Crown Jewel
May 30, 2003 8:07 AM
I have two rides, one road and one mountain:

Road
Independent Fabrication Crown Jewel in steel, size 58 (I
think). It is metallic blue with white panels on the down
tube and the deat tube. I have Chorus equipment with the
exception of the Record crank. The wheels are standard
Open Pro with 32 holes (really strong actually).

I ride it because it is so classy, it adheres to the
standard bicycle design, it looks like bicycle ought to
look (spare me the flames, please, it is strictly personal
preference). I ride it because it fits so well, I can go
through the winter without riding it and then hop on in the
spring and it feels like I rode it yesterday. It really
makes me a better rider than I really am and gives me
great confidence.

Mountain
Bianchi DISS, silly looking bike with single speed and
disc-brakes! Who would have thought. Fat tires make side
walk and pot hole hopping a dream. I ride when I go out
with my fiancee (I got her a Bianchi Milano).

Kind regards,
Dimitri
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?ohmk1
May 30, 2003 8:48 AM
I ride an hpvelotechnik speedmachine, because I want my cake and eat it too.
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?Mike P
May 30, 2003 8:51 AM
I wanted to research, spec and build my own bike. I also wanted to see if it would possible to build a nice, light bike without spending a lot of money. I ended up with a 16lb bike for just under $1500.

Raleigh R800 Pro frame: I was drawn to the paint, (white/blue fade), the frame felt "right" during my test rides, and it is light weight.

Look HSC3 fork: Went out on a limb and belived the good reviews. Feels great to me.

Deda 215 bars: I like the shape of the bars, the curves fit my hands in any riding position.

Deda Newton stem, Alien seatpost, American Classics wheelset: I went with these based on price/weight/research.

Dura-ace components, except BB is Ultegra: I just like the way Dura-ace components look and perform.

All in all, it was fun picking exactly what I wanted. I did spend a lot of time on the internet in order to find the best prices but it was worth it.

Mike
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?Drone 5200
May 30, 2003 9:00 AM
because my bike is absolutely, unquestionably, without a doubt the very best bike that has ever been created. (at lest for me, it is).
Giant - because I can't have a C40 -and- a wife at the same time - nmMcAndrus
May 30, 2003 9:06 AM
Giant because I can't have a King and food at the same time nmFrith
May 30, 2003 10:37 AM
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?rollinrob
May 30, 2003 9:27 AM
I ride a Waterford 2200 road bike. Hot candy apple red to blue fade with Ultegra triple. I love it because of the tight geometry and steep seat tube angles. It is a 51 cm bike with a 75 degree seat tube angle. I can really get a good spin going.. It has huge beefy chainstays which and an oversize 853 tubeset which makes it very stiff, yet somewhat light for steel. Total bike weighs in at 18.06 lbs with pedals... I also got a great deal on the frames at 400.00 off ebay. Sold my to big Voodoo Rada for $380.00 on Ebay so I did not make out to bad.
I also have a 2002 stumpjumper hardtail for the trails. I do not ride it often but when I do it climbs like a bat out of hell...
I ride so I can drink more beer....
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?MikeC
May 30, 2003 9:41 AM
Seven Cycles Odonata because:
-I had a one-time opportunity
-I'm 50, with 35 years of high mileage behind me, and I wanted something that fit exactly perfectly
-I'm 50, with 35 years of high mileage behind me, and I wanted materials that would be kind to my body (ti & carbon)
-I didn't want any more chipped paint heartbreak
-I didn't want any more rust
-I wanted to see if I could hold off my past history of severe bike lust for a while (2-1/2 years so far, and still in love)
-It's a stealth bike that doesn't cry out for attention
-Just once in a lifetime, it's really cool to actually own something that some folks have said was the best in the world.
At least one of each materialLC
May 30, 2003 9:46 AM
2 Carbon Fiber (TT and Triple for big hills)
2 Steel (Rain bike and Single speed)
1 Aluminum (Crit racer)
1 Ti (Road racer)

And I love them all! I tried to take advantage of the frame characteristics to its fullest potential. I have even switched components around to find out which is best. Each bike is set up for a special purpose and customized to it's intended purpose. The only bikes that are pretty standard set up, like you could walk into a store and buy, would be the road racer Ti bike and the Triple hill climber. The crit racer is set up special for hilly crits with a 51T chainring and a custom 11,13,14,15,16,17,19,21,23 cassette with the higher BB of the Cannondale that makes pedaling thru the corner easier. The steel rain bike has long reach brakes for lots of clearance for fenders, salmon colored coolstop brake pads, and a custom 13-28 cassette. The TT bike was a pain to set up the seat position and aero bars and I am glad I don't have to touch it anymore. SS is an old 10 speed frame I found with the needed horizontal dropouts. I cut off all the little cable and deraileur attachments and gave it a rattle can paint job, put on whatever parts I had laying around for a total cost of $15. Cheapest bike by far, but the bike I love to ride the most!
Easy; It's what I wanted and what I can afford =)KG 361
May 30, 2003 9:57 AM
I loved my 1st Look, a KG 271 and wanted to upgrade and got a killer deal on a KG 361. If I had more $$, I would have gone for the KX but the 361 is just fine. Rides like a dream and still is stiff enough to sprint and climb. I am absolutely convinced that Look makes the best bikes in the world.
I had been riding a mis-fitted bikecoonass
May 30, 2003 10:30 AM
since 1980 (wrong frame: 3cm too short and top tube was also 3cm too short; plus Rey.453 Steel [aka: cast-iron]) and started riding with a bunch of guys at work who were riding ~1999 Aluminum frames. Yep, I was getting dropped half-way into the ride. I decided that getting fitted was the way to go and got a Waterford 2200 (R853) and bit the bullet and went Record 10 all the way. After alternating rides between my old and new bike, I told them to order another W. frame, and I'd take transfer (my upgraded)DA stuff to the new frame and add the required DA items to fit the new frame....been a happy cyclist ever since; just regret not doing it soooooooner..
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?Matt Britter
May 30, 2003 10:53 AM
Because a guy in our club builds them! I could get something that fits AND has the paint I wanted AND no one else can buy it at the LBS.

http://groups.msn.com/BicyclingForumPicPost/mattstowerdistrictcritpics.msnw?action=ShowPhoto&PhotoID=1610

For anyone who wants to look.
-mb
beauty nmFrith
May 30, 2003 11:29 AM
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?rollinrob
May 30, 2003 11:43 AM
I ride a Waterford 2200 road bike. Hot candy apple red to blue fade with Ultegra triple. I love it because of the tight geometry and steep seat tube angles. It is a 51 cm bike with a 75 degree seat tube angle. I can really get a good spin going.. It has huge beefy chainstays which and an oversize 853 tubeset which makes it very stiff, yet somewhat light for steel. Total bike weighs in at 18.06 lbs with pedals... I also got a great deal on the frames at 400.00 off ebay. Sold my to big Voodoo Rada for $380.00 on Ebay so I did not make out to bad.
I also have a 2002 stumpjumper hardtail for the trails. I do not ride it often but when I do it climbs like a bat out of hell...
I ride so I can drink more beer....
It has been a three year evolution........BIG RING
May 30, 2003 12:18 PM
I started with a Specialized M4 with Ultegra and Open Pro's in '99 and have moved to a 5900 with DA and Ksyrium SL's. In between I have had a Cannondale CAAD 5 and 6, GT ZR 1, TCR0, Quattro Assi, Colnago C-40, Master X Light and Arabesque, Merlin Road, Agilis and Extra Light and EPX 303.

Through many good deals on RBR I have been able to buy/trade my way around the block to get an idea of what in my opinion, is great vs. what is hype. In the end, after trying many frame materials and brands, either the Trek 5200 or 5900 get my vote. I am 6-2, weigh 185. You will find me in the hills. See you in Big Bear next week.
Colnago Dream Plusmapei boy
May 30, 2003 1:15 PM
It was the year 2000. I'd already test-ridden everything from Lance Armstrong Treks to Merlins to Pantani Bianchis. One Saturday, I went to a Colnago dealer. The owner of the shop was almost exactly my height, and at the time he was riding a Dream to and from work. He invited me to climb onto his bike and ride all I wanted. I came back about an hour later. I told him to build one for me. A couple of Saturdays later, I got a call that my frame had arrived. I returned back to the shop. He tailored the bike to me the way you'd get a suit fitted on Savile Row. It was a four hour affair of rides around the block, stem swaps, and arguments over what was best for my needs.

In any case, I'm still riding the bike. I've owned some pretty groovy toys in my time, but my Colnago, painstakingly fitted and fussed over, may just be the best one of all.
Look KG 381i for comfort & fitflying
May 30, 2003 4:06 PM
I had a MXL last year & it was good but the Look is what fits me best. I have never spent such long periods in the drops effortlessly.
Bianchi Axis, because of the flexibility and the fit...The Walrus
May 30, 2003 4:52 PM
...plus the surprisingly comfortable (for aluminum) ride. It must have something going for it, because I've got six of 'em.

Bianchi Reparto Corse Cyclocross, because it's a faster, nimbler take on the 'cross thing.

VooDoo Wazoo, because it rides so sweee-e-e-e-eet, goes all day on fire roads and singletrack without beating me up, and I think it's so great looking.

Univega Carbolite, ca. '93, which is a re-badged Giant Cadex, because it's so smooth and it climbs and accelerates well.

The MTBs just gather dust now...
re: Friday Poll: Why do you ride what you ride?koala
May 30, 2003 4:55 PM
Its custom, light and has Campy. Foco(poor mans ti) rides great, is stiff ,and custom with Tom Teesdale was only$ 799. Love those weird foco chainstays.
C40 - 'cause I can't afford a Porsche..Mariowannabe
May 30, 2003 6:30 PM
...performance, panache, and I dig the history of the company. In the end - the difference between $4k and $5k wasn't that much. At least now I don't have to spend any more time reading the bike ads in magazines. I love this bike, and if I crash or break it I'll buy another without question.
De Rosa King, coz ...Mycroft
May 31, 2003 5:19 AM
... I lucked out with my timing. Was researching road bikes (come from MTB background) and there was this guy selling a King frame (he had 2!! And wanted to keep the one with holes for 2 bottle cages) my size that was a few months old only - in mint condition. I may not have bought it new, with the euro at such astronomical exchange rates.

Its all I could ever ask for in a road bike. Even more comfortable than my Ti hardtail on 26x1.25in slicks!!

Other bikes are:
- LiteSpeed Tellico - turned into a hybrid with full 02 XTR, Pace Carbon rigid forks and Panaracer Slicks. 17lbs.

- Ellsworth Truth - with Fox Forx 100RLC up front and Romic coil over shock behind with 03 XTR, Mavic Crossmax SL, UST Michelin Comp S Lites. 25lbs, but loads of fun!!

So 3 great bikes for 3 different applications!