RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions: De Rosa King(11 posts)

Opinions: De Rosa KingMycroft
May 29, 2003 4:04 PM
There are not too many of these around and there are only 3 reviews that I can find on this site, and almost none on others.

May I ask those who own this bike, if they have had a chance to also own or have previous ridden other carbon "greats" and how they compare - ride, handling. Examples may be Colnago, Look, ondriest, Trek 5900 etc.

Thanks
my opinion: Drool!Frith
May 29, 2003 5:32 PM
apart from the drool factor I can't really comment though cause I haven't ridden it. Now if you'll excuse me I have to go change my shirt for one with less drool on it.
Yeah, the DeRosa King is a really nice looking bike!!!!! [nm]bent_spoke
May 30, 2003 5:45 AM
re: Opinions: De Rosa KingGeoCyclist
May 29, 2003 5:51 PM
I test rode a Trek and Look before I purchased my De Rosa King. I didn't feel any difference between the handling and ride of these bikes. I will admit there is a big difference between a short test ride and a few long days in the saddle, and test riding a bike that is an eyeball fit compared to a measured and dialed in setup. I purchased my De Rosa Online without ever seeing or riding the bike. My final decision came down to the rarity of seeing the King (so rare I couldn't find one to test ride). To date I've only seen two Kings; my own, and one at the Giro d'Italia. My De Rosa is the best ride I've ever owned (previous rides include aluminum Cannondale and Trek), and I would say is a better ride than both the Trek and Look that I test rode; however, my bike was ordered to fit me and has been dialed in. I guess what I'm trying to say is; at this level of bike it all comes down to buying the frame size that fits. After fit it's only aesthetics that make the difference!

Check out my ride!
Niceboneman
May 30, 2003 1:58 AM
What size is the frame and where did you buy the bike? Maestro perhaps?
Frame sizing is a bit strange due to sloping top tubeGeoCyclist
May 30, 2003 5:27 PM
The sloping top tube makes the frame sizing a bit different. The seat tube length on my bike is 48 cm. This seems really short, but then you have to take into consideration the slope of the top tube. I bougth my bike from Competitive Cyclist.

Ride On!
Here's mine ...Mycroft
May 30, 2003 2:39 AM
... in Midnight Blue. It's 1 of 4 in Singapore. Quite an innocuous looking stealth bike - looks like any unremarkable boring black bike from afar.

I bought the frame preowned and got a decent price for it. Built up, it is circa 16+lbs.

I asked the original question not to be fascetious, but because it is very difficult to trial ride any high end frames here and I never got to have a chance to try out Colnagos and the rest of the "Greats", so am curious about other opinions and comparisons from those who had the chance to appreciate the differences.
re: Opinions: De Rosa Kingavitar1
May 30, 2003 6:30 AM
Does anyone know the degree of slope on the Top Tube? It looks great.
re: Opinions: De Rosa KingFredrico
May 30, 2003 8:22 AM
Over the years, I've noticed little known teams making forward strides riding DeRosas. Gewiss and Alessio come to mind. Eddy Merckx won so many races on DeRosas, he got DeRosa to set him up in the bike builidng business.

DeRosa has always designed for comfort over the long haul without sacrificing responsiveness or handling. A rider can go all day hard, and get to the finish without having gotten beat up by the bike, yet it will climb as if on a rail, accelerate as if it has a motor in it, corner and dive down hills with absolute confidence. I've been riding an old steel tubed DeRosa for many years, and haven't found anything deficient in it's design. DeRosa is a master. His bikes are a dream to ride, inspiring feats one wouldn't even think about riding a lesser bike.
re: Opinions: De Rosa King - my $.02nellie
May 30, 2003 9:13 AM
Not sure if anyone cares, but here's my view on this. I own both a King and a Trek, and have spent enough time on a C-40, Calfee Tetra-Pro and Look KG 381i to have a feel for them as well. I have both of my bikes set up identically (components and my riding positions are the same on both bikes) and both are great bikes, but I would say that there is definitely a difference between them. It's hard to explain (I'm sure it's has to do with the geometry differences), but the DeRosa accelerates significantly quicker than my Trek without giving up anything at speed. The Trek rides great, but it is much harder to get up to speed- it's fine once you get there. I ride with 4 other people that all ride Kings and everyone agrees that this is the case, but can't really articulate the differences between the King and their other rides (Litespeed, Colnago, Trek) except that their King is just faster and better. To further my point, I recently went through two Vo2 Max tests within 5 days time. Due to unforeseen circumstances, I ended up doing one test on each bike on a velodyne trainer. There was an obvious difference in the amount of power I put out to the wheels (6-8% more on my DeRosa). Same rider, only 5 days between tests, the only difference was the bike. Not sure how you'd account for that, but I'll tell you – the King is the best bike that I have ever ridden.
re: Opinions: De Rosa KingRCole
May 30, 2003 2:05 PM
I've never ridden one but there was a review in Pro-Cycling a few months ago. Going from memory, the reviewer Chris Boardman - forgive my spelling) thought is was one of the finest looking bikes her'd ever seen - the fit and finish were outstanding. After riding the bike he did have some issues with it's steering, saying the the head tube angle was either too steep or slack, which negatively effected the ride. Ultimately he said it was the bike he would buy if he wanted to look at but would go elsewhere for performance.

I was disappointed. I really like De Rosa's and hope to own one some day.