RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What's up with Bicycling magazine?(17 posts)

What's up with Bicycling magazine?stan_b
May 29, 2003 4:49 AM
In one issue they claim that:

1) One should eat ice cream to lose weight
2) Stretching before rides has no benefit
3) A chain needs to be replaced twice per season

How are they coming up with this crap? I know they'll contradict all of these things in the next few issues. I know I won't be continuing my subscription.

Can someone suggest a cycling magazine that only focuses on road cycling as I have no interest in mountain biking?
Cheapo "cut & paste' journalism. nmcyclequip
May 29, 2003 4:53 AM
re: What's up with Bicycling magazine?andy02
May 29, 2003 5:15 AM
bicycling has never been a top level bike mag it has geared itself to the newbie/non-racer. that said I think it is better now then a year ago....so maybe it will get better? as time goes on and the new company gets itself together I hope it follow a format closer to runners world, if it is not going to go more into the road bike side of things. My biggest problem is that to many of the people that write for them aren't even fit.

If I were you I would get procyclist or cyclesport to fill in the gaps left by bicyling. I get all three!
Where are Yamaguchi frames made? ...koala
May 29, 2003 5:19 AM
The yellow one in bicycling looks sweet.
Where are Yamaguchi frames made? ...oldschool
May 29, 2003 5:33 AM
Koichi Yamaguchi, The Bicycle Laboratory in Rifle, Colorado. He can be reached at (970) 625-8401 or at yamaguchibike@compuserve.com
Two words: Zapita Espinozaeschelon
May 29, 2003 6:15 AM
They closed down the MTB magazine cause people in general don't give a damn about mtb or its magazine(s)...so they brought over the MTB magazine crew to the Bicycling magazine staff.
I agree53T
May 29, 2003 7:30 AM
Zap is probably the only person I have ever seen who lets his byline read "leader of the tribe".

BTW, I have read a pretty good study that concludes that stretching pre-ride was inconsequential in reducing injury rate. Also, it is well established that stretching when cold (not warmed up, low HR) increases the risk of mucular injury.

Chains should be replaced every 6 months, provided you ride 30,000 miles per year.

Ice cream is not such a bad thing, either. Particularly Eddie's Grand Lite. High in protien (about 1 gram per ounce. like milk) and about 3 grams of fat (1/2 saturated) per modest serving. It fits the description of a recovery food, due to its high carbs with some protien.

There are two sides to every issue of common sence.
Exactlystan_b
May 29, 2003 9:02 AM
How many of Bicyling magazine's readers ride 30,000 miles per year?

Gentle stretching has been proven to help prevent injury.
I agree - but not with everythinginnergel
May 29, 2003 1:25 PM
"Chains should be replaced every 6 months, provided you ride 30,000 miles per year."

A chain should be replaced when it "stretches" more than 1/16" of an inch. My last one wore out at roughly 3000 miles. (maybe a typo above?) Your mileage may vary

More than you ever wanted to know about chains and chain maintenance. http://www.sheldonbrown.com/chains.html
You are wrong here... but close...miposy
May 29, 2003 9:48 AM
The changes made at Bicycling came from the top down, and they moved Zap over because of the good testing crew and his personal popularity at MB magazine, as well as letting go several of their (I think very good) editors.

What really happenned is well documented over at Bicycle Retailer and it comes down to money. Bicycling is going for a more mainstream audience in order to boost ad revenues, thus the morphe into Bicycling/Cosmo Magazineland where they are now, and the supplementary status of MB mag (which wasn't making the ad dollors Rodale wanted despite its high circulation.
It is just like the rest of the mediakjr39
May 29, 2003 7:45 AM
You have to sift through the sh*te in it to get something worthwhile...
It fell apart in the mid-1980s . . .ElvisMerckx
May 29, 2003 9:10 AM
It used to focus on bicycles, bicycle products, and, I'm not making this up, bicycling. Then, in about 1985, they started writing fluff articles with words and phrases like "Sexy," "Gams," and "Spice Up."

Ride to the nearest newsstand and pick up a copy of Cycle Sport.
About time someone addressed this!!!pnitefly
May 29, 2003 9:56 AM
Believe it or not bicycling is actually getting better! 12 months ago, it was entirely fluff now it is only partially fluff. Zap is pretty cool though, he is not snobby like a lot of columnists. The fitness tips are pretty worthless and the bike reviews are a joke. Definitely the "Cosmopolitan" or "People" magazine of the cycling world.
Getting better??? Puh-leeze....bicyclerepairman
May 29, 2003 2:57 PM
I can't think of Bicycling! magazine without being reminded of that horrid ad they run....what do they call it?....oh, right, 'The Ropes'! (gag....)
Rodale Press? (nm)TNSquared
May 29, 2003 10:26 AM
i won't even buy it anymore.rufus
May 29, 2003 1:56 PM
at most maybe two bike reviews each issue, and lucky if they are more than a couple paragraphs. articles more to do with lifestyle than riding or races, or training and fitness. it's just horrible and superficial.

i think it was pretty good up to the early nineties, but then they let geoff drake and some of the other editors go, and brought in garret lai and a few others who made bicycle guide just a shadow of itself, and it just got worse from there. no way there should be reviews of bikes reduced to "seven words about the bike" or whatever they started doing. it was pretty bad for a long time, and now it's worse.
re: DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!!!!V02-Max
May 30, 2003 7:15 AM
I worked for a major brand bicycle company for 4 years and this is what I learned in my dealings with the Bicycle Magazines:

1. They are very favorable to their sponsors and advertisers. The company I worked for could barely get a mention in the trade mags until they spent a ton of $$ in advertisements and then Voila...they were named "Bike of the year". Gee, what a coincidence. Meanwhile companies that stopped advertising heavily found themselves facing a lot of unfair scrutiny and derision or ignored all together.

2. Zapata Espinoza is an idiot. It's just that simple. This guy is and has always been a poser. I have met him several times at the interbike shows and was ALWAYS less than impressed. His writing is incompehensible and his intelect is highly questionable. If you believe one word this guy writes, you only have yourself to blame. He is the ultimate fan-boy who simply regurgitates what others espouse (except he usually gets it wrong in the translation).

3. They recycle the SAME information with slightly different wording. It's the same material over and over again...

4. No-One in the industry pays them any attention. Everyone who works in the bicycle industry simply laughs at 95% of the trade mags (Dirt Rag is the possible exception). Once you work in the industry you truly understand how political these magazines are. Additionally, you would be suprised at how little the trade mags actually know in terms of product development and functionality. I still laugh at all the praise that they heaped on the GT I-Drive when EVERYONE in the industry knew it would end up as a catastrophe. (Anyone heard from GT in a while?)

Bottom line, ask the guys at the local bike shop for their opinions. Chances are they actually have had real life experience with the product or bike you are asking about.