RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Can you remain a cyclist while in the military(20 posts)

Can you remain a cyclist while in the militarystinkfoot247
May 28, 2003 1:18 PM
I was considering joining the military. It would be the best investment for my future, the only thing that holds me back is whether you can still ride your bike. Any military people who know if you can. I was going to join the navy but I don't think you can ride a bike on an aircraft carrier.
re: Can you remain a cyclist while in the military94Nole
May 28, 2003 1:29 PM
I would certainly agree that one can't ride on a carrier or any other boat for that matter. Join the Air Force. I was in (wish I still was) and is really the country club of the US armed forces. Most jobs are regular jobs. Go to work, work, go home, ride. Depending on the career field, you wouldn't likely be sent anywhere that you couldn't ride. The Air Force is great.

Oh, to be 20 years old again.
re: Can you remain a cyclist while in the militarybrad nicholson
May 28, 2003 1:35 PM
i am an army captain and as an avid rider/racer of both mtn and road bikes i would like to say that hell yes you can ride! if you join, once you are through with your training, you will work somewhat scheduled hours and have plenty of time to ride. no other profession outside of professional atheletics promotes personal health and fitness like the military. just think of all the great places you could be stationed to ride; speaking only for the army, colorado springs, germany, italy, etc. the airforce has bases in most of the same places; usually with better facilities! go ahead and join...
I can 2nd the USAF...coonass
May 28, 2003 1:51 PM
It's more like "working for the Government" than being in the Military...I spent 1 yr. in Panama City, Fla (Tyndall AFB, and was on the beach by 12:30pm everyday) and 3 yrs in England (Mildenhall RAF, Suffolk County and was playing Darts or Snooker by 1pm)....NEVER had to pass through a Security Gate, except to access the Flight Line...but I guess that part has changed by now....I'm positive that you could keep your bike in your quarters, but thievery would be your main problem...(we couldn't keep our quarters locked due to access by the upper brass) and everything gets stolen that isn't locked up....(local pawn shops & Midnight Supply do a great business) Overseas duty was 'heaven' when I was in, but now the anti-american, "Yank, Go home!" is the tone..I would be skeptical of being even in England (they didn't like us in 1962 and I'm sure it's much worse now. We were described as "Over-fed, Over-paid, Over-sexed and Over-there"....of course, there's always Thule, Greenland where you can do a lot of snow-mobiling. :))
Army/Navy has a team that rides the pro circuit. nmpurplepaul
May 28, 2003 2:13 PM
I can in th Air Force!!SLR
May 28, 2003 2:14 PM
Being a sports class MTB racer/roadie I can ride up to 3 times a week if work permits. The military is big on fitness so I can use their time to ride. The AF is like a regular job but without the time clock. Most of the time if there is no work to do....you can do other things!
Aim High!!
You can ride right up to one ...Humma Hah
May 28, 2003 2:34 PM
One of the things I loved about the base in San Diego was the bikes their maintenance crew ride. WWII-vintage, or older, Schwinn Excelsiors! Collectors would gladly trade 'em two or three brand-new MTB's for one of those, but no deal. Those old warbikes are cherished.

Few people in the Navy spend most of their time at sea. While operating ashore, you should have plenty of opportunity to ride.
re: Can you remain a cyclist while in the militarydave woof
May 28, 2003 2:42 PM
You won't be able to ride during Basic, (Army) or AIT, but after, permanent party, yes. I was stationed in Germany for 18 mos and rode 4-5 times a week (except in snow). Rode in N. Italy on 30 day vacation (can't beat that in civilian world).

Then Ft Ritchey Md and rode 5-6 times a week. It's a drag not riding for the few months of basic and AIT though.

Dave

I heard rumors of Army cycling team, never actually found out if one existed.
Bike race this weekend at MCAS Iwakuni, JapanGeoCyclist
May 28, 2003 5:16 PM
YES!!! Not only can you ride, they want you to ride! I'm a civilian, but I've been around the military all my life. You will never find an employer that promots physical fitness like the US Military. We'll be racing this weekend at Iwakuni Marine Corp Air Station!

Ride On!
http://dod.mil/armedforcessports/cyc03a.htmlDragon33
May 28, 2003 5:40 PM
http://dod.mil/armedforcessports/cyc03a.html
12 years in the Navy, three deployments on the Connie.sn69
May 28, 2003 6:09 PM
Deployed life in the Navy/Marines at least is a bit different, but offers certain options. First, most ships have substantial gyms, both free weights and what we call "gerbil gyms" (treadmills, cycles, etc). In addition to that, there are always options to take a bike and a fluid/mag trainer as well as videos. It's obviously easier as an officer, where you only share a room with 2-5 rather than 20-50. Still, there are plenty of cyclists who make it work.

What specifically have you discussed with your recruiter in terms of assignments and ratings? Advice is always free. sneedle3@cox.net
As an Army Recruiter, I PROMISE you'll get all the time you needSpoiler
May 28, 2003 6:13 PM
If you sign up for four years, I can assign you to our special cycling unit where you can choose your station of choice, the French Alps, the Pyranees, the Ardennes, the velodrome in Manchester, anywhere.

If by some freak twist of fate, you get called to serve in some desolated, sniper-ridden desert village, your superiors will be more than happy to compromise the unit mission to accommodate your training schedule. They'll even pull a platoon of the best men to serve as an armed escort during your rides.

The special priveleges extended to recreational cyclists starts in basic training. Drill Sergeants commonly excuse cyclists from muddy forced marches, KP pot scrubbing, and 2-4 a.m. guard duty.
Mess Hall staff prepare special meals containing the ideal protein/carb/fat ratio for an endurance cyclist.

You're given plenty of time to eat and digest every gourmet meal.
And in our Army, a razor is a soldiers best friend, so you're more than welcome to take all the time and space you need to shave your legs while showering with 24 of your new best friends.

Cyclists are also assigned to special "Quiet Privacy" quarters far from the noisy, cramped double-bunked barracks filled with 50 thunder snoring soldiers.
Great! Now I won't have to discuss "recruiter ethics." nmsn69
May 28, 2003 6:21 PM
wow where do I sign up do they accept 40 year olds (nm)abicirider
May 28, 2003 7:31 PM
Spoken like a true recruiter. lol (nm)Mazinger
May 29, 2003 7:25 AM
Hmmm... Manchester??? What about the Canadian army? (nm)Sprint-Nick
May 28, 2003 6:26 PM
Wow, the best things I've heard all yearstinkfoot247
May 28, 2003 8:30 PM
Dang, I'm very suprised. wow. I'm going to do my best to go to the recruiter tomorrow. SWEEEEEEEEEEET!!!!!!!! I can't wait.
Consider the Air Forceconfig
May 28, 2003 8:53 PM
and try to get stationed in Italy. This has to be one of the worlds greatest riding areas. Believe me, I've been stationed here for almost 2 years and just started riding right after I got here. It also doesn't hurt to have all these nice bike shops to include Pinarello, Fondriest just a few miles down the road.
I will be going to an airforce recruiter tomorrow : ) nm.stinkfoot247
May 28, 2003 10:42 PM
Good luck & Aim Highconfig
May 29, 2003 6:04 AM
I may be biased a little bit being in the Air Force but growing up as a Navy brat and having lived at an Army base for 4 years I feel the Air Force DOES have the best quality of life among all the services.