RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What top-o-the-line HRM?(8 posts)

What top-o-the-line HRM?noveread
May 28, 2003 12:07 PM
So my wife wants to get me a top of the HRM for fathers day. Who am I to argue (especially seeing as how my current, basic model is being held together by tape)?

So currently I am considering the polar 710/720 (no power option) and the Ciclosport HAC4. Are there any others at this level I should consider? Anyone like to comment on either of these two or others? There are no reviews here of the 710/720 which was surprising. Found 7 reviews of the HAC4. I'd have picked the HAC4 outright except I am a bit concerned with the 20sec sampling rate.

Input would be much appreciated.

Noveread
Polar S710 owner...biknben
May 28, 2003 12:57 PM
I got the S710 over the winter. I'm just now gettting used to all the features. It has a couple of things I wish were different but it is a solid HRM. I just checked out the reviews for the other model you mentioned. They are very similar.

I find the Polar software to be great. I'm now logging all my exercise with it, even if I'm not using the HRM.

My only issues (small) with the polar are:
-can only see two functions at a time. You have a choice of at least ten things to be displayed as you ride. You can only pick two (not including HR). I wish It allowed more.
-It is strange but if it stops reading the HR at some point it won't read again unless I end the exercise and start a new one. It also requires you to stop the bike. Then eveything is fine. It happened a couple time. Then I got some gel for the chest strap and it hasn't happened since.

In the end, these units have so many features that not everyone can be happy and there are bound to be small annoyances. I have a couple but I'm still very happy with it.
Agreed - I love my S710 (nm)Sprint-Nick
May 28, 2003 6:29 PM
re: What top-o-the-line HRM?Gleep
May 28, 2003 1:01 PM
I've been using a 720i for about a month now and really love it. If you get one, make sure you get the IR receiver for your computer too. With the included software (get the latest version from Polar's website) you can analyze your rides in a ton of useful ways. Being able to configure the HRM from the software and then upload it is much easier than the menu maze of manually configuring it.

I was originally looking at the 510i but bought the 720i since it was what the LBS had in stock at the moment. No regrets at all. I've since added the cadence monitor as well, which was simply a checkbox to activate it in the HRM software. Big thumbs up.
re: What top-o-the-line HRM?filtersweep
May 28, 2003 4:53 PM
I agree- and it really isn't THAT expensive when you look at what it offers and how much any HRM with a slim strap will cost. The IR is quite reliable. I actually wear mine and use a FlightDeck for regular computer functions while on the bike. Nothing quite like overkill.
Its not overkill.....hmm, well maybe it is..usna00
May 28, 2003 8:55 PM
I do the same thing. Flightdeck perched in the middle, 710 just next door on the right side of the bars. I originally wanted to be able to scrap the flightdeck, but after using them together for a few weeks i've decided i'm pretty happy with the setup. I like the cycle functions on the flightdeck better, but i like the data logging on the 710.

I'd highly recommend the 710. The software is easy to use and all those colorful graphs make me smile... ;)

Kidding. It really is a good training tool though.
re: 720iMPH74
May 29, 2003 5:06 AM
just got the 720i. haven't figured it out yet but i did do quite a bit of research on hrm's and decided to go with this one. the polar software looks very cool and am anxious to use it. you can find them on the performance website for $319. if you buy the current "gear guide" issue from Outside mag you'll find a 20% off coupon in the bike section (a paper insert with a unique one-time use code). so you can get it with no tax and an additional $64 savings!
How is the SonicLink (or whatever they call it)? n/mBonked
May 29, 2003 10:09 AM