RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


taping handlebars and wheel building(9 posts)

taping handlebars and wheel buildingmoschika
May 27, 2003 2:38 PM
any online source to show how to tape handlebars? i get the basic idea. i've done one set of bars but they didn't come out very good.

also looking for info on wheelbuilding. thinking of lacing up my first pair but don't really know where to start.

thanks
re: taping handlebars and wheel buildingmja
May 27, 2003 2:50 PM
Here's one on bar tape (a job I do not enjoy!):
http://spectrum-cycles.com/63.htm

And here's one for wheel building (it's fun, really!):
http://spokeanwheel.stormpages.com/wheel_building.htm
re: taping handlebarslaffeaux
May 27, 2003 2:52 PM
As with all things bikes, there are two sources to always check first: SheldonBrown.com and ParkTool.com.

How to tape bars:
http://www.parktool.com/repair_help/bartape.shtml#bar
I always prefer to start with the INSIDE spokes ...Humma Hah
May 27, 2003 2:52 PM
There gotta be at least 3 books at your LBS that cover basic wheelbuilding. I built my first two without benefit of either a book or a truing stand. I simply copied a similar wheel's lacing pattern, and adjusted and tensioned it in the frame, using that as a truing reference. Wheelbuilding is not all that hard, once you get the right components together (particularly spoke length).

I'm about to build my third, this time with both a book and a truing stand. Kinda want this one to turn out ROUND! ;-)

I'm still working on the handlebar taping thing. I keep having to re-do it as I work on getting the brakes in the ideal position.
re: taping handlebars and wheel buildingrussw19
May 27, 2003 2:56 PM
As for taping bars.. it's not that difficult... I start at the bottom of the bar and wrap up. That way the tape doesn't unravel as your hands twist the bars while riding. I start at the bottom and wrap from the outside to the inside. Make sure you properly get where your brakes (or shifters) clamp and tape off the end at the top. If you are using cork tape, make sure to stretch it slightly before you wrap it, or stretch as you go, but stretch it a bit as you tape.

Building wheels is a whole different ballpark. If you have never done it, you will most likely need help to build them and tension them properly. The best book you can get to show you how to do this is "The Bicycle Wheel" by Jobst Brant.

I have to ask why you want to build your own wheel? If there is any reason other than just for the sense of accomplishment of doing it yourself, skip it and pay someone to do it right. It is hard, time consuming, and if you don't do it right, the wheel can fail with you riding it. It's just my opinion, but if you want to build one just because, that's one thing, but it's not like it saves you that much money to buy all the parts and build them yourself, so if that is your motivation save yourself the trouble.

Just my opinion,
Russ
re: taping handlebars and wheel buildingMXL02
May 27, 2003 3:08 PM
Sheldon Brown has a nice article on wheel building. Taping handle bars can be found in any bike maintenance book, like Leonard Zinn's, or just go to your LBS and ask them to show you. My LBS puts the tape on for free if I buy it from them, so showing me how to do it myself just saves them the hassle.

http://www.sheldonbrown.com/wheelbuild.html
Since you're new to bar tapingMel Erickson
May 27, 2003 7:35 PM
I suggest this easy to understand and good looking wrap ;-)

http://rivbike.com/html/rr_handlebar.html
re: taping handlebars and wheel buildingmoschika
May 27, 2003 10:31 PM
thanks for all the sites and info.

my main reason in building a wheel is mostly just to try it. i realize the cost for my LBS to build one is not much more in cost for me to try it. even if i do something like this i would have my LBS double check my wheel before i put any weight on it.

but i figure what the hey. i've been learning by T&E to do most other things on my bikes and this is just one more thing.
re: taping handlebars and wheel buildingrussw19
May 28, 2003 11:09 AM
In that case... how good of a relationship do you have with your LBS? The shop I work at, we often have trashed wheels in the back room. We sometimes cut out the spokes and recycle the aluminium rims and see if the cones off the hubs are worth saving. Sometimes we don't have time to go thru all this stuff so it just sits....
See if your shop has an old wheel or two lying around. If so, ask them if you can have it to play with. If you asked me at my shop and I knew you and didn't think you would try to put it on a bike and ride it (safty concerns....) I would surely give it to you.

Anyways, see if you can get hold of an old wheel and take it apart and then relace it. If you screw up, who cares! You are out a junked practice wheel. Tell the shop what you are trying to learn and they may give you 3 or 4 wheels. I would. But learn on a wheel you never plan to ride first... after a few of those, when your confidence is up.. then build one for real.

That's my advice.. see if you shop can help you with that.

Russ