RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Specialized computer junk(7 posts)

Specialized computer junkDougSloan
May 27, 2003 6:49 AM
Here's a review I just did; I was really eager and hopeful about utilizing the inclinometer function to verify Topo maps for some big climbs around here. Wasted my money. fwiw...

http://www.roadbikereview.com/Computers/Specialized,Bicycle,01,Speedzone,Pro/PRD_53982_1624_1293886crx.aspx

Doug
low tech solutionmohair_chair
May 27, 2003 7:07 AM
What about that inclinometer device that clamps on to your bars? It's about as low tech as you can get, but it would seem to be fairly accurate if installed correctly. Have you tried it?

DougSloan "inclinometer available" 4/30/03 2:00pm

I just bought a cheap Specialized computer and I also hate it. It can only display one thing at a time. Every other computer I've ever had can display your current speed AND something else. Not this one. No more Specialized computers for me, either.
thought about itDougSloan
May 27, 2003 7:11 AM
Actually, I was getting ready to buy one of those, but thought the "high tech" solution would be much more elegant. I think I will now, though.

This one does display speed and another function at the same time, though.

Doug
One born every minutefiltersweep
May 27, 2003 10:16 AM
I have a Polar, and I'm constantly amused at how the altitude of my home changes while I'm out on a ride. It usually rises or falls a few hundred feet while I'm away.

I'd be interested to know how an airplane's altimeter works. A plane REALLY needs to know where the ground is. My Polar is largely a barometer, and fluctuates as such. It does however work in a relative manner (like getting in an elevator to test it out, and in general on most rides), but it is not a precise measure. I'm not sure it is possible (sort of like determining speed using GPS rather than a wheel).
AltimetersDCP
May 27, 2003 1:51 PM
An airplane's altimeter is also barometer. The pilot has to set it to the local barometric pressure before taking off. Then you need to reset to local pressure periodically while in flight, and prior to landing. Sophisticated aircraft also have a radar altimeter which measures distance to the ground while landing.

In aircraft the altimeter is pretty accurate, but an aircraft altimeter is pretty heavy. I don't think I would attach one to my bike.

You can get altitude information from a GPS, but at least on my GPS, it is not very accurate.
re: Specialized computer junkGeoCyclist
May 27, 2003 4:19 PM
I've got the same brand of Specialized computer. The altimiter functions no better, or worse, than the two Avocet computers I own. The temperature varation is not surprising; if you put a thermometer in direct sunlight it will measure a higher reading than in the shade.

I just purchased a Sky Mounti Inclinometer for my tandem. After reading your post I'm going to put it on my road bike to do some incline calculation comparisons with my Specialized computer. I have not had a problem with erratic % grade readings. I've been down to about 8 mph on a 15 to 20 percent grade (according to my computer). I'll post the results of my comparision.

Ride On!
re: Specialized computer junkmapei boy
May 27, 2003 4:52 PM
Doug. Like GeoCyclist, I've had pretty steady results with the inclinometer function of my Speedzone Pro. Yes, the machine does have its strangenesses. For one, inclines always measure a degree or two steeper when going up the grade than when I'm going down. Absolute altitude readings do tend to drift. And whenever the sun is out the temperature gauge is hopelessly optimistic. But mostly it's been a trustworthy device. I like it.