RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody use the Selle Italia ProLink saddles? nm(17 posts)

Anybody use the Selle Italia ProLink saddles? nmMVN
May 22, 2003 8:46 AM
I just put one on 100 miles ago, so no real opinion yet....nmTower
May 22, 2003 8:53 AM
I have 2.KG 361
May 22, 2003 9:48 AM
Best saddle I have ever used. Period. I have yet to become even slightly uncomfortable with mine. I've had one for 3 yrs now-still have it on one of my fixies.
Gel or regular?tazdag
May 22, 2003 10:25 AM
I'm interested in the Prolink, but can't quite get over the idea of the anchor that the gel version is. How does the non-gel version compare in comfort to the gel version?
I have the "Genuine Gel " version.KG 361
May 22, 2003 10:47 AM
Yeah, it is a bit heavy, but if I'm suffering it doesn't really matter. A comfy tush is extremely important to me, besides, you can shave grams elsewhere that won't impact your comfort.
Gel or regular?cdhbrad
May 22, 2003 10:47 AM
I have a Prolink Gel, a Prolink Trans Am, and 2 Prolink Transam Gelflows, I like them all, but like the Transam Gelflows the best of the 3 models. The Prolinks may be a little heavier than some saddles, but they are very comfortable and on 40-60 mile rides, and that means a lot more to me than saving 80-100 grams by using a lighter saddle.
Gel or regular?PMC
May 22, 2003 11:03 AM
I also have both the Prolink TA and TA Gelflow. Both great saddles but the Gelflow is more comfortable right out of the box. The regular TA took a few hundred miles to feel "right".

As for weight... my ass has convinced my legs to deal with the extra 100 grams
What about rider weight limit...I'm 195 currently and I'm...MVN
May 22, 2003 11:23 AM
a little worried about the rails. I read a review that said they were really titanium with a carbon-look covering that eventually peeled off. What's your experience with that? I'm interested in the ProLink TransAm Gelflow particularly. I don't care about the weight. Comfort is top priority.

Thanks,
Mark
Not a problemMootsie
May 22, 2003 11:34 AM
Unless you're adjusting your saddle all the time the faux carbon coating won't come off. One of my saddles is about two years old and the finish looks new.
Not a problemcdhbrad
May 22, 2003 12:03 PM
I agree, the carbon gets a little scuffed from the seatpost clamps, but my experience is that you find the best front/rear position of a saddle on a particular bike after riding it a short while and leave it there.

As far as rider weight goes,I was 225 when I started last year with my first Prolink, now down to around 175, guess that makes up for the extra 100 grams in the saddle.... wouldn't ride nearly as much if the saddle wasn't comfortable.
My early season weight is the same as yours.KG 361
May 22, 2003 5:48 PM
Still have my original saddle from over 3 yrs ago. No problems.
Have 2 as wellMootsie
May 22, 2003 10:49 AM
Both Gel. One with about 3,000 miles on it (road bike) and one with less than 500 (cross bike). Wouldn't leave home without it. Just remember the added weight of this saddle is less than the weight of a Clif bar in your pocket. Now is your rear and back worth that???
Have 2 as wellr-kelley
May 23, 2003 6:10 AM
I had one but just switched it. Felt really good but it is only the second saddle I've had. Decided to try a super skinny racerboy saddle to see how much of a difference it really makes. Initial report, the prolink is much more comfy but the bike looks a lot faster with the new saddle. I'll keep the Aspide FX on for the rest of the summer but I'm not sure after that. The prolink may be moved to the mtb.
HRK
Prolink GelFlow TA is the way to go! Your ....Live Steam
May 22, 2003 1:54 PM
a$$ will thank you after each ride. Best saddle I have ever used. The weight doesn't really concern me. My bike weighs in at 16.1lbs with it. A few ounces won't make a difference. It looks nice too :O)
Prolink GelFlow TA is the way to go! Your ....Ti-Boy
May 22, 2003 4:25 PM
Love my two: one on the mountain bike and a new one with the cutout on the road bike.
Next question...how wide is it?...I've found 2 differentMVN
May 22, 2003 6:05 PM
measurements on the web. One says 139 mm wide and the other says 145 mm wide. The reason I ask is because my Koobi Silver is 155 mm wide and I'm used to the width. Then again, that could be part of my problem with recurring epidydimitis. Anyway, what's the real width?

Thanks,
Mark
re: Anybody use the Selle Italia ProLink saddles? nmaliensporebomb
May 24, 2003 10:10 AM
I'm at 1178 miles on my Prolink that came with my TCR2.

Thoughts:
Comfortable saddle but get the right position and clamp it
there. Yes, the area that gets clamped scuffs the carbon
but since it's under the clamps you won't really see it
unless you take the saddle off and look at it. Unlikely,
right?

I had one episode of numbness that was related to the allen
bolt becoming loose and the position was wrong. Easily fixed.

It's comfortable and works for me. I'd recommend it. I
may consider an SLR at some point just to try it out but
the Prolink works for me.

My version is not the gel version, just the standard version.

One thought - it's very nice that there is a minimum of
embroidery. A friend has a Genuine Gel Selle Italia XO
saddle and the embroidery is painful on the tush on long
rides he says.

Mine is no problem - a very minimum of embroidery.

It's a good all around saddle.