RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Going to San Fran this weekend, what to see??(33 posts)

Going to San Fran this weekend, what to see??african
May 22, 2003 6:29 AM
sorry this is not cycling related and I won't even have a bike with me, but what is a must to see?
rent a bikeDougSloan
May 22, 2003 6:31 AM
Rent a bike and ride the wharf area and across the Golden Gate up to Marin County, assuming the bridge is not closed due to heightened terrorism status. Take some warm clothes, as it's always sort of damp, cool, and windy.

Golden Gate Park is nice, too.

Catch a baseball game?

Doug
re: Going to San Fran this weekend, what to see??Fender
May 22, 2003 7:03 AM
Is this your first time to S.F.? Coming along or with the wife/spouse and kids?

Renting a bike is a good idea, just make sure you ride over the left side of the bridge and stay on your right to allow other riders to pass you.
You can check out Alcatraz, Golden Gate Park, Union Square if you want to do a little shopping, Mission District (Valencia St), Mt. Tam, North Beach/Columbus St., Castro, Fillmore St and Union St (just don't visit City Cycle)

Don't forget to bring a light jacket because it will be chilly in the evenings, if not during the whole day.

email me for more info. javier underscore mxl at yahoo dot com
WTF???The Human G-Nome
May 22, 2003 7:46 AM
(just don't visit City Cycle) >>>

explain please.
WTF???Fender
May 22, 2003 7:54 AM
Snobby, arrogrant employee's who look down on you because your not riding a Seven, Merlin or Calfee. They have no sense of humor and overcharge for everything they sell.
WTF???The Human G-Nome
May 22, 2003 8:03 AM
sorry, but that's absolute C R A P. i know the people that work at the shop and there's nothing snobby about them. they sell titanium bikes because that's their niche. you could walk in there with a 20 dollar bike rode on 15 year old tires and they'd treat just like everyone else even if you didn't know the difference between Presta and Shrader. everyone in the shop is a wrench and they're contantly working so not paying immediate attention to you is the only thing i can imagine you could be talking about. if you're turned off by their crumby selection then i could understand. they don't sell any low end bikes and as they pay rent in San Francisco (and in the Marina at that), most of their merchanndise is going to be overpriced.
WTF???Fender
May 22, 2003 8:20 AM
My opinion on them being arrogant and snobby is based on personal experience. I have walked in shop (several times), wondered around and when I needed help, they acted as if they where doing me a favor by responding to my questions. Hello.. I'm a potential customer. Whether I'm making a $10 purchase or a $5000. Sure, as an employee I would have more interest in the 5k customer, but the treatment I have received from the employees on my small purchases has not wanted me to return and make a future bike purchase from them.
On the other hand, your opinion/experience with the shop is biased, considering your friends are employeed there. If you happened to walk in not knowing anybody at the shop, would you still have the same opinion or better yet, recieve the same treatment? Most likely not.
As for them focusing on the Marina market segment, I understand that they must pay rent in the Marina and thus have sky high prices on bikes, but $20 for cinelli handlebar tape? Setting appointments to have your bike fixed? That's just plan B.S. It's easier for me to get an appointment with my HMO specialist (without a referral) than to get my bike serviced.

Anyways, just wanted to keep African from a possibly unpleasent experience in S.F.
WTF???The Human G-Nome
May 22, 2003 8:31 AM
i get some of your points, believe me. but just as an observer, i watch people walk into that shop and i watch the way they get helped. it's not as you describe from MY experience. as far as appointment only servicing... what else are they going to do? they have about 10 employees and they're CONSTANTLY repairing and building bikes. i watched as a person tried to get his bike repaired there last Saturday and Clay (the owner) told him he would have to make an appointment, but that there was a newer shop just down the street that would probably be able to help him on the spot and then wished him a "good luck". how else do you handle this situation if you're the wrench? as far as overpriced merchandise.... well, i won't buy components there, but then again i buy everything for as cheap as possible over the internet. and my tire story was accurate as well. i watch these transactions happen - not just making up stories. i challenge you to go on one of their Saturday group rides and then tell me if you have the same opinion. everyone you meet will be cool and friendly.
WTF???Fender
May 22, 2003 8:45 AM
I can understand the Sat. ride, where everybody is cool and friendly, but it's a ride. Being at the shop as a customer is a different story. As for the experience you had where the owner recommened another shop, it's was the owner himself, thus he wants to build a good rep for his shop. My experiences, and those of my riding buddies and other riders I've met have been along similar lines.
Personally, I'm not taking my business to them and would not recommend it to other riders.

Couple of good notes, I'm glad to see a boutique style shop with high end bikes and those hardwood floors are very nice!!! ohh, and the girl that works there is cute.
WTF???The Human G-Nome
May 22, 2003 9:19 AM
well, i don't shop there either if that makes a difference. i've bought a pair of arm warmers there and that's about it. and i can't comment on every one of their sales persons as i don't know all of them. i can only comment on the ones i know and they are good people. it $ucks that you had a bad experience there... you're not the first person who's had that experience unfortunately. all i can say is that i think they can get a little too wrapped up in wrenching to the detriment of helping out new customers. i've been talking to someone who works there and she's told me that their shop is worried about this "rep" they've gotten and that there trying to make the effort to change and improve. it's just too bad they couldn't have concentrated on that element from the get go because once you pi$$ people off, it's hard to win their trust again. ah well. i still highly recomment the group rides. it would be difficult to find a better bunch of folks and i've ridden with A LOT of different groups.
Categorically not true.PseuZQ
May 22, 2003 10:43 AM
I went there despite hearing about the "snobby" reputation and I'll tell you, the service I got there was excellent. The folks there took lots of time to answer my silly emotional questions about wheelsets and didn't try to sell me something I didn't need.
agreeMJ
May 22, 2003 7:12 AM
hire a bike at Fisherman's Wharf (pier 37) and ride one of the routes over the Golden Gate to Marin and get the ferry back - my wife (who's not a cyclist) and I did it and she really liked it - it's on a bike but it's still tourist related - it's got great views of the Bay/Alcatraz/Marin/the city (7x7)/and the Marin Headlands - you don't need cycle clothes but it can be cool and damp...

also head for Stinson Beach and John Muir Park

there's lots of thing in the city to check out

agree Golden State Park is worth a visit

but honestly the best thing you can do as a tourist in SF though is to visit Alcatraz on the tour - call ahead and book now - they sell out a few days in advance
re: Going to San Fran this weekend, what to see??JS Haiku Shop
May 22, 2003 7:19 AM
we visited a few years back. 1999, i think.

* alcatraz was interesting, as was the trip getting there
* palace of fine arts. beautiful. pictured in many movies, including "What Dreams May Come" (Robin Williams).
* while you're there (palace), see the Exploratorium
* golden gate park
* rent bike at the wharf and ride across the bridge
* if you like Starbucks, you're in luck. there's one every 30 feet in SF
regarding Starbucks....Fender
May 22, 2003 7:33 AM
they've expanded.. they are now available every 15ft. So are Noahs Bagels and Jamba Juice.

Also, try getting a City Pass. Available at the Kiosk on Powell and Market. $34 will get you Public Transportation (including unlimited Cable Car rides) and enterance to the Museum of Modern Art, Exploratorium, Legion of Honor, Alcatraz tix, and free chocolate at Ghirardelli Square.

Don't spend too much time in Pier 39 - not much going on there.
re: public busses in SFJS Haiku Shop
May 22, 2003 7:42 AM
i've never been that crowded *anywhere* in my entire life.
try BART during rush hour!Fender
May 22, 2003 8:46 AM
re: Going to San Fran this weekend, what to see??ukiahb
May 22, 2003 7:41 AM
A meal in North Beach (an intersting neighborhood) is a good bet if you like Italian food, and it is walking distance from downtown. Can also check out Coit Tower while there. The Palace of the Legion of Honor is worth a visit if you like art museums, and is in a good area for walking/views too.
Put your walking shoes on.fracisco
May 22, 2003 7:45 AM
I don't know where you are staying, but I recommend walking around the city, and hopping on the public transportation.

If you enjoy art, the SF Museum of Modern Art is a good place to visit.

I'd recommend walking through Chinatown over to North Beach.

There is a pretty big sailboat regatta this weekend, so if you get down to the Marina area, go over to Chrissy field and watch the boats sail up the cityfront. Watch the kite surfers and windsurfers scream across the water at 20 mph+.

Hike up to Coit Tower and view the murals inside and enjoy the view.

Meet chicks at bars in the Marina on Steiner. If you are in decent shape, can carry on a conversation, and are straight, you'll have a great time.
from a localThe Human G-Nome
May 22, 2003 7:58 AM
biking related:

rent a road bike from Blazing Saddles in the Marina for 39 bucks a day. ride across the GGC and either do Paradise Loop (relatively flat for Bay Area, 42 miles) or Stinson Beach out and back (very hilly, extended climbs, 55 miles). contrary to a previous post, DO go to CityCycle on Saturday morning for a terrific all-level group ride. if you're with friends and family, skip the hardcore stuff and go to Stanyan St. at the mouth of Golden Gate Park. rent MTN bikes and bike the Park (7.5 miles round trip).

NON-bicylce related:
it is worth taking a Ferry through the Bay to Tiburon and Sausalito. you could also do Alcatraz if you can get tickets. in SF, walk through the Mission District, especially Valencia St., for shopping, food and nightlife. the Marina is yuppified but fine if you're into that sort of thing. a couple of terrific locals-only dining spots (more upscale) are the MeetingHouse Restaurant on Octavia and Bush (phenomenal "New England" cuisine) and Venticello's Restaurant on the corner of Washinton and Taylor on Russian Hill (quaint, wonderful Italian restaurant with a spectacular view). North Beach and Chinatown are both worth a walkthru. Fisherman's Wharf is just a huge, overpriced tourist trap, but i suppose it might be interesting if you've never visited before.

Good Luck!
Sonoma CountyM_Lou
May 22, 2003 8:00 AM
Sonoma County (north of S.F. across the GG Bridge and through Marin County) is worth a visit - great scenery, great wineries and last time I was there it seemed less tourist infested than Napa County.
Thanks for all input.....african
May 22, 2003 8:01 AM
I am staying with an ex from back when she was 16 (me 20) we have stayed in contact and I last saw her about 8 years ago so this could be interesting. If I get a bike I will post pictures. I appreaciate all the tips on places, and if any of you go to South Africa or come here to Flooorida just post up here and I will return the favour. Cheers.
ok, forget everything; we know where you'll be all weekend nmDougSloan
May 22, 2003 8:03 AM
I wish and if I do I will buy you all a beer.... of course nmafrican
May 22, 2003 10:51 AM
ok; Fresno is only 180 miles away nmDougSloan
May 22, 2003 3:36 PM
Fillmore St !! check out the climbs from the GP race nmclimbo
May 22, 2003 8:17 AM
nm
Thanks for all input.....Poptart
May 22, 2003 8:39 AM
**I am staying with an ex from back when she was 16 (me 20)**

watch out, it could be a sting operation ;)

a couple of new attractions to visit are:
1) the new asian art museum right across from city hall. pretty impressive.
2) the ferry building has been renovated and reopened a couple of weeks ago. hosts a farmers market and many small shops.
San Francisco 40 Mile Outter Limits Ridedariow
May 22, 2003 8:23 AM
Here is a link to a 40 mile San Francisco ride. I did most of it and it was great.

http://www.sfgate.com/cgi-bin/object.cgi?object=/chronicle/pictures/2002/04/11/sp_cycle1.jpg&paper=chronicle&file=SP229802.DTL&directory=/chronicle/archive/2002/04/11&type=sports
Everything north and south of!the bull
May 22, 2003 8:59 AM
Check out Marin Co. Better in my opinion.
Pick up some Camy riders while your in the city!:)
If you have never been to the city then just follow all the other tourists around!
Check out American Cyclery, near GG Park..nmbicyclerepairman
May 22, 2003 12:09 PM
Check out American Cyclery, near GG Park..nmThe Human G-Nome
May 22, 2003 12:23 PM
i second that recommendation... great selection of steel frames. plus, it would be impossible to be more knowledgeable then their staff. i bought my first road bike there.
re: Mitchell Brothers O'Farrell Theater. EOTI_See_Fred_People
May 22, 2003 12:41 PM
EOT
Here are some things to do...-JC-
May 22, 2003 3:44 PM
Have a burrito in the mission
Check out the Beach Chalet at the west end of GG park
Hike up to Coit tower
Browse in City Lights books on columbus (at grant)
Buy those annoying chirping crickets in chinatown
Skip Alcatraz and take the ferry to Angel island instead.
Drive to the top of twin peaks on a clear night (not many of those this time of year).

Bring warm clothes!!!
La Taqueria on Mission at 25th nmgtx
May 22, 2003 9:05 PM