RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?(30 posts)

Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?Fez
May 21, 2003 7:27 AM
Do you have an extra car (or wagon, van, truck) to handle the bike and sports duty?

Or do you make your daily driver also handle the bike duty?

Its new car time, and I'm debating keeping the old wagon (which has little trade-in value but is still reliable) and buying something like an Audi A4.

Or getting rid of the old car and getting a roomy but boring Toyota Highlander. As great as the Outback is, it can't transport 2 bikes inside upright w/ front wheel removed.
Yup...a suburban, so the Tandem can fit inside.MXL02
May 21, 2003 7:38 AM
My own view is buy the SUV, and spend your money for excitement/sports on the bikes.
Yup...a suburban, so the Tandem can fit inside.Fez
May 21, 2003 8:11 AM
the problem is many SUVs/wagons like Pilot and Highlander are not my 1st choice and they often cost as much or more than sports sedans.

I bought the wagon used on the cheap a few years ago and when I moved and could only get one parking space, I sold my nice sports sedan.

So I'm at the point again where I am debating 1 new sedan + a keeping the beater, or 1 new Highlander.
SUV's Wagon, etc.MXL02
May 21, 2003 8:24 AM
My experience with sports sedans is that they are nice, but more expensive in the long run when you look at tires, upkeep, etc., and I am always hauling my bikes around, so having a sedan makes no sense. If you want the best of both worlds, perhaps you should look into one of the new hybrid sports suv's that are now available.
poor guys solutiontxcross
May 21, 2003 7:39 AM
One vehicle does it all...

Beat up 1995 ford ranger, drive it to work daily with bikes in the back, canoe and/or sailboat on top/behind it on nice weekends, sleep in the bed on camping trips, hauls dirt and yard supplies for the hunny-dos. Best of all it's paid for!
If you have to buy a car for the bike, it's riding YOUretro
May 21, 2003 7:40 AM
Driver and multi-use transport vehicle are the same, a mini-pickup with camper shell. I sleep in it at races, too.
I bought my car to fit my roof rack best.MR_GRUMPY
May 21, 2003 8:03 AM
I didn't want a car where I had to clamp the rack clamps on the rubber door molding. I found a few that had built in screws that would hold my Thule rack. Out of the few cars that I found, I chose one that could also carry a bike with the back seats down. I've got two fork mounts on each side, and an upright in the middle for a full car load.
I was in the same situation and here's what happened -TNSquared
May 21, 2003 8:16 AM
I kept my old vehicle (a Nissan Sentra) to be the bike transport when I purchased a Silverado Pickup (new house, new kids, needed new hauling space.) I will not mount my bike on a trailer hitch where some dummy can rear end me and ruin my bike. The Sentra sits very low and a roof mount rack is easily accessible, so I thought it would be a good bike transport.

However, the reality is that with the "niceness" of the new truck, I simply did not drive the Nissan anymore. I bought an inexpensive truck bed mount for the bike, and the Sentra sits in my garage on a fulltime basis, taking up the valuable space that could be my bike workshop. Just FWIW.
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?daCaT_
May 21, 2003 8:20 AM
Have a 98 Dodge Caravan. Both bikes and all camping gear for a week fit inside which improves gas milage and driveability not to mention security.

I have found most SUVs large on the outside and small on the inside. (im 6'3" and dont fit in most of them) But, that new 4-Runner is very nice (and i fit!).
there are so many advantages of riding to the ride!JS Haiku Shop
May 21, 2003 8:25 AM
unless the ride start is 320 miles from home.

at present i cram my bike sans wheels into the backseat of a 2-dr honda civic. i can get a weekend of gear, 2 bikes, and 2 passengers into the car with no room to spare. this will soon change as it's almost time to get a new ride.

however i'll still be of the opinion that pedaling to the ride start whenever remotely possible is the best policy. benefits abound.
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?shoalin
May 21, 2003 8:47 AM
Hoda Prelude. One car take care all purpose, roof rack. single no kid or wife. G-Friend can tag a long when she want to. Work out pretty good.
Not much back seat or trunk room.Fez
May 21, 2003 8:59 AM
Bikes and all wheels would have to go on the roof, right?
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?kjr39
May 21, 2003 8:48 AM
Yep. '00 Jeep Cherokee for daily driver and all purpose sport vehicle.

Last year the wife and I took all of the camping gear for a week and 4 bikes (mtb and road) and didn't have any problems. (even did a little 4x4'ing)
The daily driver is the bike ... But as for cars...PdxMark
May 21, 2003 9:07 AM
I commute by bike, so I can often go a week or so without getting into a car.

We have a minivan and a Toyota Prius hybrid. Both are set up to carry bikes on top, where they travel 100s of miles sometimes. Get a small call, a roof rack, and a bug screen/bra for your bikes. They won't melt outside.
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?johnmyster
May 21, 2003 9:09 AM
Yes. My Mercury Sable is my SUV. 26 mpg daily driver. Pop two wheels off, and throw either bike in the back seat for (daily) after work rides. Long trip to group ride with a friend? No problem, one bike in back seat, one in trunk. Trip to the races with two or three people? No problem, roof rack holds three, and respective front wheels. Trunk is big enough for three people of luggage and a cooler, and throw spare wheelsets in the rest of the back seat. Dirty mtn bikes? Roof rack rules.

Though my family owns a truck (and larger cars) it is of my opinion that the truck is overkill for simply hauling a bike around. If it is an option to borrow a truck when you REALLY need the ability to haul lots of stuff, a midsize/large car will get me around 98% of the time, save gas, and be cheap on parts. As long as you're willing to put some bikes on the roof sometimes and be a bit flexible with items that you carry (unnecessary items that you DON'T carry) then it makes the good old SUV overkill 98% of time.

CAVEAT: I actually feel like my bike is more secure on the roof of my car, locked into the rack. I locked my keys in the car once, and a locksmith opened up the door within ten seconds of getting out of his truck with a simply curved rod, which I have since had to do myself when getting locked out again. My bike in the back seat could be just as easily liberated. Thus, a steel cable now runs up from the trunk, to snake through the frame and wheels.
My daily driver IS the bikeRJF
May 21, 2003 9:16 AM
My daily communter and around town errand vehicle is my beater bike.

My wife and I have one car, a minivan, that we share.

If I were you, I would keep the old wagon. Transporting bikes upright is nice, but overrated.

Oh, and my personal theory is that Volkswagon gave the Audi A4 its name because if you own one you will need to call AAA a bunch, and then some.
SAME HERE!alansutton
May 21, 2003 10:21 AM
My primary vehicle is my bike.

Compared to cars, SUVs are unsafe, have higher insurance and comsume a lot more gasoline. Besides- you'll have people hate you becase you own one.
Caption: "Excursion driver spilled coffee on lap...Fez
May 21, 2003 10:44 AM
while dialing the telephone and lost control of vehicle, narrowly missing 15 Saturday morning group riders."
hate is such a strong word.niteschaos
May 21, 2003 8:47 PM
A great deal of people complain about SUVs, but here in the south where they are (I'll admit) unreasonably popular I have been hit more times by mini-vans (3). Bad drivers are simply that, and independant of the vehicle they are operating. If you can only handle a Geo, then what are you doing in a H1?
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?skvarken
May 21, 2003 9:24 AM
The bikes ride on the back of my MINI. I just got a Saris Bones rack thats easy to take on-off and is very stable. No problems. Believe it or not, you can fit 1 bike inside the MINI with the back seats down...
honda accordDrone 5200
May 21, 2003 9:32 AM
remove the front wheel and my 62 cm fits nicely in the back seat of my honda. One bike only, and be sure to put it in from the passanger side so the chain doesn't rest on the cloth seat. One day, maybe I'll get a roof rack.
honda accordMatt Britter
May 21, 2003 11:07 AM
Same car and same transport when only taking one bike. I put a hitch on and got a sportswork rack (2 bikes). It clamps the front wheel (only touches the tire) and is very stable. 90+ mph and no whistle like a roof rack.
-mb
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?lurpy
May 21, 2003 9:48 AM
I bought my car because it works so well for bike and gear transport; '97 Honda Odyssey. This is before Honda turned the Odyssey into a "true" minivan. With "normal" rear doors and a 4 cyl, it's essentially a tall wagon version of the Accord. 90% of the time I have it set-up as a two seater with lots secure storage.
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?Sean008
May 21, 2003 9:51 AM
My daily driver is a Porsche 911 Coupe with a rack on top. I use a Sports Works Bob Ratchet Upright Rooftop Rack. I think it surprises some to see a rack on a Porsche, but hey, a car's a car.

I previously had a Jeep Cherokee with a rooftop rack and it just didn't make sense to get 14mpg with a "utility" car when I all I really ever did utility-wise was tote bikes.
I can barely afford one car!!Rich_Racer
May 21, 2003 10:32 AM
I have one car - a newish Mercury Cougar which just about takes my bike in the back if I remove the front wheel and put the seats down. For an american car it has really solid sporty feel about it - that's why I bought it - I wasn't really thinking about my bike at the time. It's fuel consumption is close to that of an SUV though!
Yes.Becky
May 21, 2003 10:58 AM
No way I can afford another vehicle just for bikes. My '97 Subaru Legacy wagon more than does the trick when it comes to bike duty. The Yakima roof rack is rock solid and secure (locks for both the rack feet and the bike mount)- works well in nice weather or when the bikes are too dirty to throw inside. My husband and I regularly haul our road bikes inside with the rear seats down and the front wheels off. One bike on top of the other, drivetrain up, with an old blanket between them. I've also gotten 3 months worth of stuff and two bikes inside when moving to my summer internships...
More cargo capacity than I know what to do with most days, good looks and nearly 30 mpg- what more do I need?
re: Poll - Is the daily driver also the bike transport vehicle?yellowspox
May 21, 2003 11:13 AM
I have an 88 Silverado w/ 70K on it that was used mainly to haul my boat. Now my boat sits and cries to be used while I bike. At first, I plugged a new rack into the receiver hitch and hauled everything outside the truck. After a few rainstorms, I sold the rack and started hauling everything inside. The shell provides cover but not serious theft protection so I use a cable lock system inside the truck. I sort of miss the plug-in rack as it doubled as a wash/repair rack sitting in my drive.
daily driver - XTerraScotttheroadie
May 21, 2003 11:55 AM
Yak rack that holds three on top (can add a fourth) and I can put another 3+ inside. Gas mileage isn't too great though, especially with the bikes on top.
Yep, until the other car's running again...The Walrus
May 21, 2003 11:56 AM
...lost the timing belt on my Civic 4wd wagon, so I've gotta get the money together to have the head repaired. For the time being, I'll keep tossing the bike(s) in the back of my Civic hatchback.
Head Gaskets suck on Subarus!shamelessgearwhore
May 21, 2003 1:07 PM
Stay away!!! Everyone keeps saying how they "run forever" and stuff like that. They neglect to mention that you need to spend thousands to accomplish that. I've had three and won't buy another for sure. The last was an Outback that blew the heaqd gasket. No late model car should have these problems, period.