RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


pregnancy and riding ???? .... (not me)(11 posts)

pregnancy and riding ???? .... (not me)Spirito
May 20, 2003 10:02 AM
hey all ....

a friend of mine is having a baby and is just past her first trimester and asked me whether it was safe or wise to ride her bike as a commuter, go-getter and to the park to do yoga (ie no distance or exertion). apart from falling and similar i didnt think it would pose any harm or such but what do i know ....

she is a young, healthy and active woman and she would love to keep her bike for she loves riding and its a perfect way for her to travel round town.

so im asking here - any thoughts?

ciao
Never heard of anyone getting pregnant from riding...,laffeaux
May 20, 2003 10:04 AM
but I guess it's possible.
Re: Never heard of anyone getting pregnant from riding...,analog1
May 20, 2003 11:22 AM
I often refer to my mtn. bike as my surrogate boyfriend. If anything is going to get me knocked up, it's my bike!
Really?? C'mon. You gals have it all: the bike, the pony128
May 20, 2003 12:08 PM
the bannister. There just is no male equivalent. I daresay I'm a trifle jealous. I mean to even possibly lose out to a mtn bike any given day...geesh.
re: pregnancy and riding ???? .... (not me)Serac
May 20, 2003 10:21 AM
So my wife (nurse) and I (med student) have some experience with this...She remained active through most of her pregnancy.

Your friend should be fine given the history you have presented here. HOWEVER, she still needs to check with her doc to be absolutely certain that there are not precipitating factors that would rule out activity.
re: pregnancy and riding ???? .... (not me)TWD
May 20, 2003 10:35 AM
Well,

First things first, she should ask her doctor, who should be aware of any specific concerns regarding her health. There was an article written by a doctor about this topic on velonews recently. Here's the link.
http://www.velonews.com/train/articles/3767.0.html

My wife did ride some during her first pregnancy (including a ride two days before my son was born). She's in her second trimester now with our second child, and she has been riding 3 to 4 times a week.

We cleared it with her doctor, and basically, he said that as long as she keeps the intensity low (i.e. not anaerobic) it shouldn't be a problem and would actually be a benefit.

I've heard anectdotal evidence on numerous ocaisions that women who have better fitness in general deal with labor better. It makes sense to me. Labor is one horrendously difficult physical experience, and it makes sense that if you're strong and healthy you will probably handle it better than if you're a couch potatoe.

I think lower intensity riding is a good thing, provided she takes precautions. Overdoing it when riding can depress your immune system, so that isn't a good thing. I can only imagine that getting dehyrdrated can be really bad for the baby.

Then there is the whole comfort issue. If it's painful and uncomfortable to ride during the final trimester, then riding may not be the best idea. Riding a more upright position would help alot. My wife rode on the back of our tandem during her last trimester which was good, since it has a more upright position, and she could sit up and relax more since she didn't have to worry about steering.

One other consideration is balance. Being pregnant is going to change your center of gravity and may make handling the bike more difficult. I don't know, I've never been pregnant, but if your friend is an experienced rider, I wouldn't worry, but if she's a less experienced rider, the added awkwardness might not be a good thing. You don't want to risk a crash. So riding in safer situations at lower speeds is probably a good idea.

That's my $0.02, take it for what it's worth.
re: pregnancy and riding ???? .... (not me)Hardtail
May 20, 2003 10:43 AM
My wife rode up until the last few weeks. She's an experienced rider so the chance of crashing was low (that was the main thing her Doc worried about) but to make it safer and more comfy I lowered the seat a little and raised the bars some so she didnt have to lean over as much (wasnt like she was gonna be racing anyway) and she only rode her mtn bike (a bit more stable she thought)
m2¢.....and IMHOcoonass
May 20, 2003 11:48 AM
I personally wouldn't allow my preganant wife to ride except on a trainer.....Obviously the big scare would be a miscarrage or damaging the baby due to an accident, and I wouldn't want to take a chance on my unborn child's health or death for the pleasures of riding a bike the gestation period. Experience means very little if we (experienced bikers) wear helmets, shave our legs, concentrate on our lines, etc. acknowledging that an accident is possible and unpreventable in some situations. Of course, I am older and accept that there is a different thinking-process betweeen our generations, but the health of the child far outweighs the issue. Here is a site that does support riding during pregnancy: http://www.bicycling.about.com/library/weekly/aa091797.htm
This is just my opinion and don't have to worry about having to make this decision.
cool. thanks for the input .. ill pass it on. NMSpirito
May 20, 2003 12:00 PM
My wife is a midwife and rode throughout both pregnancies.dzrider
May 20, 2003 12:20 PM
I mean up to the last day with the first boy! The second one was born in September and she was troubled by the heat so didn't ride the last month. She rode more then than she does now.

One of the difficulties of labor is that contractions and pushing are physically strenuous as well as painful. It's not really possible to prepare for the pain, but women who stay in shape are better prepared to deal with the incredible exertion of childbirth. Whenever patients ask her about exercise, she encourages them.
Don't get me wrong...coonass
May 20, 2003 4:12 PM
I absolutely support the theory of staying in condition, pregnant or not, female or male.....I preferred that my wife would walk, or any exercise that wouldn't present a situation that could be disasterous in the event of a bicycle wreck.....as I said, it is just my personal opinion.