RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Fondriest P4?(10 posts)

Fondriest P4?VW
May 19, 2003 3:29 PM
I'm in the market for another frame. I'm currently riding a Trek OCLV that seem a little long on the top tube. Fondriest P4 have this weird top tube. Is that diagonal flat spot suppose to fit on your hand so that one can carry the bike in comfort!!?? :)

Anybody know where I can get the geometry of this frame? Anyone ridden on it or know of anybody who have ridden one? Any opinions? How does it compare to say a C40 or Kg381i?

Thanks!

VW
Fondriest website addresslanterne rouge
May 19, 2003 4:29 PM
Their website address is www.fondriest-usa.com. You can find the geometry for the P4 or any other Fondriest there. Sorry but I can't help you with the comparisons as I have ridden neither the Look nor the Colnago. I do have a Top Carbon coming though. I can't wait!
Fondriest website addressVW
May 19, 2003 5:13 PM
Thanks for the website. I originally thought the frame was all carbon, but I guess the main triangle is aluminum (Dedacciai)? I'm now more interested in the TOP CARBON.

Can you tell me how much was it? Where did you ordered it? Why did you choose this frame over others?

Thanks!

VW
I have a friend who just got one.MR_GRUMPY
May 19, 2003 4:42 PM
He hasn't built it up yet. He has an older Look frame that he is going to change the parts over from. Since the Bottom bracket is Italian, he will need a new one of those. About a week after he told me about the frame, I called him to tell him that I was sorry about what happened to his frame. He was all confused until I gave him the line about him smashing the top tube in the patio door. It took him about two seconds to "get it". Of course, he had to respond with a few choice comments about my bike, but he got a good laugh over my joke. He got his from Colorado Cyclist.
I have a friend who just got one.VW
May 19, 2003 5:06 PM
Yeah ... they are on sale at Colorado Cyclist. I just found out the main triangle is not carbon fiber but it's Dedacciai U2. I'm guessing it is aluminum. I'm not so sure about the frame now ... especially with the smashed flat spot on aluminum tube. Not sure it does the top tube any good!

Thanks!

VW
you are mistakencollinsc
May 19, 2003 5:30 PM
Tubes are carbon, lugs are U2.
re: Fondriest P4?Traveller
May 15, 2003 8:06 AM
You may not be able to get this bike, unless CC has your size. The bike has been discontinued by Fondriest, since the P4 carbon tubes were made available to other companies as well and Fondriest wanted exclusive rights to it. Fondriest will be coming out with a P5 soon to replace P4.

Utpal
re: Fondriest P4?VW
May 19, 2003 9:04 PM
Thanks everybody for the info! Sound like it will be a pretty unique ride assuming they haven't been selling this model for too long. Colorado Cyclist have 53cm and 55cm, and 53 to 55 is around my size. Now I need to check the geometry and decide which, if either, will work for me!

I'm still hoping someone can come forward with a ride review on this frame. Thanks!

VW
re: Fondriest P4?Will Ross
May 20, 2003 3:54 AM
I've only had my P4 for a short time, and have been phasing it in, so I can't offer longer-term observations. The geometry is fairly traditional and relaxed. In fact, it's very close to my Moser Leader AX steel frame, which is why I was willing to buy it from Colorado Cyclist without a test ride. I believe the seat tube angle is about 72, and it's typical Italian geometry with the seat tube and top tube lengths being the same (in this case, we're talking virtual top tube length, since it's a sloping tube). The head tube angle is perhaps a bit more agressive than the Moser, but the bike handles very well. I haven't taken it down any long, fast descents yet, however.
I wish I could compare it to other carbon frames, but my other bikes are aluminum (Trek) and steel (the Moser). My P4 is Dura Ace, with Zepp XL bar and stem, Velomax Circuit Comps, Selle Italia Flite, Look 396, Deda carbon post. The bike is very stiff and light, giving the impression of being at least as stiff as my steel frame. It climbs and accelerates with ease -- it gives that oft-discussed sensation of trying to get out from under you when you put the power down. I am about 6 feet tall and 142 in climbing shape, so take those stiffness and lightness observations accordingly. I don't think it's a frame for big sprinter types. Also, the lightness is evident in that the bike doesn't give the same sense of solidity as the steel-frame, steel-fork Moser.
I am very impressed so far with the comfort of the ride -- the first time out, I rode over a covered bridge near my house that has horizontally arranged planks. On the Moser, this makes for a teeth-rattling trip across the Conestoga. I set my jaw accordingly and was very pleased to find that the frame and other components ate up much of the usual jarring sensation. I can see spending hours on this bike comfortably, especially on hillier courses, which is what I mostly ride.
Sorry I can't offer more, but I figured half a review is better than none. Obviously, I have some durability concerns with the carbon-U2 combination and the fact that the model has been discontinued. Two other builders are using the same frameset -- which is good from the standpoint of being able to track how well the frame stands up, not so good from the standpoint of uniqueness. On the other hand, how many Cioccs and Casatis do you see on group rides? As a final note to those who think I haven't already heard the joke about the smashed top tube ... I have. And when I'm floating uphill, the pinched tube is the last thing I'm noticing.
re: Fondriest P4?VW
May 20, 2003 7:17 AM
Great details. My OCLV is too small for me. My daughter, who is ready to move up from her warehouse bought (Motive) mountain bike is itching to take my OCLV. I was thinking about a titanium bike this time around, but I really didn't want to take a chance on getting a bike with flexy and sluggish ride. My friend gave me his old Bianchi with Japanese steel double-butted tubings, but I wasn't too impressed with the ride. Although the ride was solid and comfortable, it just didn't feel like it has the kind of acceleration I'm accustomed to when riding my OCLV. I don't race, but I like that quick feel of the carbon fiber. I like to think I can accelerated quickly to get behind a club ride paceline ... especially since small skinny guys like me are not very good on the flatland.

Thanks for the review!

VW