RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Photo Series – Water(52 posts)

Photo Series – WaterScot_Gore
May 18, 2003 11:24 PM
About a month ago I suggested that we try a new kind of post, a photo series. We pick a theme, RBR members take photos on bike rides, or at bike related events. On a pre-arranged day one of us starts the series off and others post in with their photo contributions to the series. We came to a consensus that the first series would be a "Water Series" and we would begin the post on May 19th.

The technology gods have conspired against me for any original contributions. My camera broke two weeks ago, so no new pictures. To add to that trouble, my hard drive crashed on Tuesday. The repair folks are going to be able to save my data, but I won't get the new PC until later this week. So, I don't have any previously un-posted photos available. I ended up having to search the archives for water photos from previous ride reports of mine. Therefore, regulars have seen my pictures before. Sorry for the re-runs, but I'm sure others will have some original work.

So let the experiment begin.

I'll start with St. Anthony Falls on the Mississippi River – Minneapolis Minnesota
Minnehaha Falls – Minneapolis MinnesotaScot_Gore
May 18, 2003 11:26 PM
Nine Mile Creek – Bloomington MinnesotaScot_Gore
May 18, 2003 11:27 PM
River Wye, UKHereford Flyer
May 19, 2003 12:42 AM
River Wye looking SW from the top of Hereford Cathedral Tower taken in April 2003
beautiful picture (nm)terry b
May 19, 2003 6:24 AM
Lake Grapevine- TexasDave Hickey
May 19, 2003 5:58 AM
I took this on my ride yesterday morning
Puerto Rico..Dave Hickey
May 19, 2003 6:26 AM
Taken on a ride about a month ago
Laguna Beach.Dave Hickey
May 19, 2003 6:27 AM
Taken in March
Desert Water - Albuquerque, NMterry b
May 19, 2003 6:00 AM
My Saturday ride typically uses a city-maintained MUT called the Rio Grande Bosque trail. Unlike most of the urban MUTs I read complaints about here, this one is virtually empty, nearly all the time.

This first pic is of the Corrales Main Canal, part of the irrigation system that borders the Rio Grande. It's .75 miles up the street from my house.
The mighty Rio Grandeterry b
May 19, 2003 6:02 AM
This is taken looking north toward Santa Fe. The islands you see used to be seasonal - getting washed away during the summer monsoons. Now they're permanent, due to this extended drought.
Another shot of the Mighty Rio Grandeterry b
May 19, 2003 6:04 AM
Looking east with the Sandia Mountains in the background, this shot shows a typical section of the Cottonwood bosque (bosque being Catalan for "woods.") The bosque is the largest Cottonwood forest in the world.
Clear Ditchterry b
May 19, 2003 6:06 AM
This is a shot of the Clear Ditch than runs along the length of the MUT. In actuality it's a small canal cut deeper than the water table of the river. The result is that it drains all the land on it's outside, allowing marsh to be used for agriculture and million dollar homes. The flora is mostly Seep Willow, Russian Olive and Siberian Elm.
Geeseterry b
May 19, 2003 6:09 AM
This was taken at Tingley Beach. Not exactly a beach, but a large seep that is fed by groundwater. It's near downtown Albuquerque and is used mainly for fishing and RC boats. These Canada Geese are part of a small year-around population that people like to feed. The area is pretty ratty now but is slated to be fixed up and included in the Albuquerque Bio Park that is nearby.
Tingley againterry b
May 19, 2003 6:12 AM
Here are the guys driving their RC boats.
RGNC pondterry b
May 19, 2003 6:14 AM
This is the main pond at the Rio Grande Nature Center, home to a nice population of Wood Ducks.
Turtlesterry b
May 19, 2003 6:15 AM
Eastern Slider Turtles in the pond.
Further Southterry b
May 19, 2003 6:17 AM
This is my favorite part of the path - the south end, between Bridge and Rio Bravo. You ride through a nice Cottonwood canopy girded by Chile fields and the Clear Ditch. My kind of MUT.
The Old Horse at the Endterry b
May 19, 2003 6:20 AM
This guy is at the end of the path, where I generally turn around. I'm guessing he's in his 20s. In addition to riding bikes, I'm a horseman so I pack 3-5 carrots in my jersey pocket and feed him when I get down there. He's now trained to come when I whistle. Appears to be admiring my Roadie.
Last shot, one more ditchterry b
May 19, 2003 6:22 AM
This is the Corrales Acequia - a mile up the road in the opposite direction from the first picture (my house is hemmed by irrigation projects.) When I can bring myself to do it, I ride my MTB on here. There are about 20 miles of sand to hard-packed adobe dirt roads in my village. Last shot, hope you enjoyed them.
Beautiful part of the counry. Wish I lived there. (nm)TNSquared
May 19, 2003 10:20 AM
argh....country!!! (nm)TNSquared
May 19, 2003 10:27 AM
re: Photo Series – Waterrwbadley
May 19, 2003 6:11 AM
The Truckee River
More Water...rwbadley
May 19, 2003 6:17 AM
So, tell me how great fenders are...rwbadley
May 19, 2003 6:19 AM
We don't need no steenkin' fenders...
Fox RiverKristin
May 19, 2003 7:24 AM
I've been riding lately along the Fox River and hope to have full ride report for you all soon. I lost some images that I wanted to include because I shot over an already exposed roll. Oops.

This is the Fox River Vally Trail. Its an MUT that Goes all the way from Aurora to Crystal Lake, which is about 50 miles. It also connects to the Illinois Prarie Path in 3 locations, which will take you to the Chicago city limits. The entire triangle is over 100 miles long...but with many, many stop signs! (Not good for quality workouts.)

Along the trail itself are many parks and nature preserves. There are three skateboard parks (what are those called?), and lots of kids parks. Several Frank Lloyd Wright homes dot the shore line. I typically enter the trail via the IL Prarie Path, Batavia Branch and follow north past St. Charles to the bluffs.

Fox River Map:



This is the Fox River Trail which runs, obviously, along the Fox River. Its a serene path in the early morning when there aren't too many people out and about.



This is one of the several Dams along the Fox River. There is much battling over whether or not to remove this particular dam in Batavia.


This is Waterford park near St. Charles:


Downtown St. Charles, IL:


Another view of the Fox River. I covet to live in one of those townhomes across the way. Except that the river is prone to flood. Can you say, "Insurance Premium?"
Het Kristin, how'd you do the multiple pic post?KG 361
May 19, 2003 9:53 AM
New digital cam on order-ready to to barrage rbr with pics of central PA =)
Excellent! Here's how...Kristin
May 19, 2003 10:23 AM
You can get instructions from MTBR:
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?13@44.CbWNaEjGkT9^230088@.ef456fc/2
Thanks =) nmKG 361
May 19, 2003 10:42 AM
Salty waterAztec
May 19, 2003 7:57 AM
The Pacific as seen from my office in La Jolla.

Bike content - I ride by here often.
How do you get any work done with that view? nmRay Sachs
May 19, 2003 11:38 AM
re: Photo Series – Waterboyd2
May 19, 2003 8:50 AM
No water + bike pictures, but here is one that includes my other race passion, sailing. I am on the leeward jibsheet. Picture was taken at the mouth of the Patapsco river, Chesapeake Bay, Maryland.
re: Photo Series – Waterboyd2
May 19, 2003 8:51 AM
Here is a picture of me at the helm.
Bahia Concepcion, Baja California bike tour, Jan. '03Lon Norder
May 19, 2003 8:50 AM
In no particular order...Charlie Amerique
May 19, 2003 10:58 AM
The Golden Gate.

Once upon a time I leaved near here. Now I do not.
On the way South...Charlie Amerique
May 19, 2003 11:00 AM
Somewhere along the coast. Pacific Ocean in background, Annie in foreground, seagulls half way 'tween.
Sunset on the beachCharlie Amerique
May 19, 2003 11:04 AM
Somewhere near San Diego. Out of 37 "sunset" pictures on the Consumerreview sites, I think I have contributed 35 of them. I wonder about my facination with sunsets...
Hanging out on the "falls"Charlie Amerique
May 19, 2003 11:08 AM
All the granite, ice and undrinkable water (too damn cold) you could ask for... beautiful place though.
My daughter's face obscured to thwart would-be kidnappers (many evil villians would love to know my secret identity and use my loved ones to further their nefarious schemes).
We were right about...Charlie Amerique
May 19, 2003 11:11 AM
...there!

Yeah, that sopt over there... on the rock.. next to the water. Yeah, that one.
I was told this would be...Charlie Amerique
May 19, 2003 11:13 AM
... an appropriate place for me to live. I can see why, it's beautiful.
About that sunset obsession...Charlie Amerique
May 19, 2003 11:15 AM
How about one more??

Alameda harbour.. just outside one of my favorite dining establishments.
The bike connection...The Walrus
May 19, 2003 12:19 PM
...a small estuarine pool at Emma Wood State Beach, near the Ventura River, a popular stop with migratory birds.
The Ghost ForestThe Walrus
May 19, 2003 12:29 PM
Near the pool above is a stretch of beach populated by gaunt, grey, skeletal trees that died off as the shore eroded over the years and the salt water encroached. This area is especially bizarre when the trees are shrouded by fog.
Some of the locals...The Walrus
May 19, 2003 12:37 PM
...congregating in a bend of the river a short distance from the ocean, taken from the ancient SP railroad trestle as I attempt to get off before the Amtrak train catches up with me... A couple of the Channel Islands are dimly visible offshore.
Zierikzee, NLTrent in WA
May 19, 2003 2:20 PM
This is the old harbor (Haven) in Zierikzee, in the southwestern part of the Netherlands. It's quite possibly my favorite place on earth.
From the Cherohala Challenge Course, E. TennesseeMike P
May 19, 2003 2:46 PM
This is one of the overlooks on the Tail of the Dragon section. Calderwood Dam.
From the Cherohala Challenge Course, E. TennesseeMike P
May 19, 2003 2:51 PM
Cheoah Dam. The road from above the dam is steep! Some scenes from The Fugitive were filmed on this dam.
From the Cherohala Challenge Course, E. TennesseeMike P
May 19, 2003 2:56 PM
A nice calm pool of water near Joyce Kilmer Memorial Forest.
Fast Radio Controlled Boat, Eagan, MNaliensporebomb
May 19, 2003 7:38 PM
Taken on a ride last fall - that boat was going immensely
fast so we stopped and watched it a bit.

All the pics on that ride are at:
http://pod.ath.cx/bike/index.html
Cedar Lake Swimming Beach, Minneapolis, MNaliensporebomb
May 19, 2003 7:40 PM
This was taken just due west of the northern leg of the
Cedar-Lake Kenilworth MUT.

All of the pictures from that 35 mile solo ride at at:
http://pod.ath.cx/35/index.html
Long Meadow Lake, Bloomington, Minnesotaaliensporebomb
May 19, 2003 7:42 PM
This shot was taken last fall on a 24 mile ride with friends.

A cold front had moved in and it gave the lake an introspective look.

The entire ride is at:
http://pod.ath.cx/bike/index.html
Mississippi River, Minneapolis, Minnesotaaliensporebomb
May 19, 2003 7:45 PM
This one was taken on my last ride of last season - ten days
before Christmas with my friends Paul and Todd.

A view of the frigid and partially open waters of the
Mississippi - the entire ride is viewable at:

http://pod.ath.cx/dec15/index.html
Mississippi River, Minneapolis, Minnesotaaliensporebomb
May 19, 2003 7:48 PM
This one was taken on my last ride of last season - ten days
before Christmas with my friends Paul and Todd.

A view of the frigid and partially open waters of the
Mississippi - the entire ride is viewable at:

http://pod.ath.cx/dec15/index.html