RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Say it ain't so, Joe........(13 posts)

Say it ain't so, Joe........MR_GRUMPY
May 16, 2003 7:44 PM
I happened to look at one of the new advertisers that are always on top, or on the side of our discussions. The one that caught me eye was "Biketiresdirect.com" I checked out their website, and thought "wow" really great prices. They say that they are "direct European importers".. That's great, isn't it.............. except, isn't that what they call "Grey Market". Please tell me that I am wrong.....
To tell the truth, I could give a Rat's behind if they are Grey Market. The prices that they charge are close to "Pro-Deal" prices.
If anybody has any more info on this dealer, please let us know..............
re: Say it ain't so, Joe........LactateIntolerant
May 16, 2003 7:57 PM
I ordered Fortezzas on Tuesday and they were delivered on Thursday. No complaints.
re: Say it ain't so, Joe........mickey-mac
May 16, 2003 8:28 PM
I ordered Michelins tires and some tubes on Monday and received them on Wednesday. Almost immediately after submitting the order, I received a reply e-mail telling me that the tires had been shipped the same day.
re: Say it ain't so, Joe........mackgoo
May 16, 2003 9:33 PM
Sounds legit, although I think you can get better prices at www.sdeals.com
re: Say it ain't so, Joe........GEORGIADOG
May 17, 2003 8:05 AM
I just this past week ordered some Kenda tubes from them. I needed some long brass stems to look good with my Race-x-lites. I ordered them on Saturday and presto they were on my doorstep on Wendesday!
I think you mean ...toomanybikes
May 17, 2003 3:03 PM
...... Presta!!!!!, they were on my doorstep.................
re: Say it ain't so, Joe........Horace Greeley
May 17, 2003 3:48 PM
Ordered a pair of GP3000' which came quickly and as advertised. No problems whatsoever. Not sure if he/she still sells on e-bay, but he/she was/is an e-bay powerseller.
Please explain "Grey Market"AllUpHill
May 17, 2003 4:17 PM
The term suggests the goods are somehow "halfway" between stolen ("black market") and "clean." What is meant by this term and why is it so deplorable? In my uneducated, naive opinion, if it ain't illegal and it's cheap, go for it!
Explained.Juanmoretime
May 17, 2003 5:00 PM
Grey market was big for electronics or cameras years ago. Most of the item were intended to sell in other countries and do not have a U.S. warranty. Which is the same item you get here although without a warranty. Also sometimes without instructions in English.
ThanksAllUpHill
May 17, 2003 5:13 PM
So that's all there is to it? No warranty and possibly no retai packaging, instructions, etc? I thought there was some big ethical dillema involved. How boring.
Small ethical dilemma......MR_GRUMPY
May 17, 2003 7:12 PM
But it is still an ethical dilemma. Everybody has to choose where dollar savings start and ethics stop. For some people, this crosses the line. For others, there is no line.
Bike shops are hurt by this because they can't sell their tires this cheap. They can't sell them this cheap because of two things. 1) they pay almost this much for them from the USA distributor of these tires. 2) If they do sell them this cheap, the US distributor will cut them off.
Again, I'm not saying that this place is bad, I'm just saying that "Grey Market" goods are a big problem in the industry.
Small ethical dilemma......russw19
May 17, 2003 7:37 PM
Actually it's a bigger ethical dilemma than that... some "grey market retailers" are selling products that are not approved for sale in the US. Some things don't pass safety tests... things like that. Also if the stuff is marked for export, then the retailer didn't pay taxes on it. They are hurting you, me, and every other honest citizen who pays taxes on these things.

It may not seem like a big deal to you, but these people who are doing this are breaking the law to make an extra buck. And they are doing it at your expense. If you have a problem with a crack dealer trying to make a living on the corner of your block, you should care about "grey market retailers" too.

but that's just my opinion...

Russ
That's one extremeMR_GRUMPY
May 18, 2003 11:46 AM
I tend to put on the same level as cheating on your taxes, or going through a red light three seconds after it changes.