RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Problem with HRM, max HR 238, no way!!!(13 posts)

Problem with HRM, max HR 238, no way!!!toronto-rider
May 15, 2003 10:01 AM
I recently purchases a Polar S210 HRM, my resting HR is 43 and max HR is about 186. Whenever I go on a ride the HRM says that my max HR for the ride is 238 or somewhere in that range. On yesterdays ride 3 of the 4 laps registered a max HR of 230 or above. On one lap I looked at the HRM and saw 230+ for a couple of seconds and then it went back to 166.
I read in a previous post that someone else had a similar problem. This is really frustrating as I would like to see my max HR when I ride up certain hills or do sprints. I know that there can be some interference from power lines, but my bike route is not near any major power lines, I think!

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Smoking meth is not advisable when cycling. (nm)onespeed
May 15, 2003 10:02 AM
most likely electrical interference...joekm
May 15, 2003 10:33 AM
my Vetta V100HR does the same thing, I've taken to only wearing the heart strap on the rollers.
Electric dog "hidden fence"...TFerguson
May 15, 2003 5:39 PM
Ours registers on my monitor at 232.
TF
You may have utilized some previously untapped potential...Fez
May 15, 2003 10:38 AM
I hope you were going about 45mph or climbing a 15% grade when this happened.

Alternatively, you could have encountered some electrical interference. Powerlines, cell towers, whatever will cause that. It screws up the max reading if you like to review data at the end of your workout.
Mine...filtersweep
May 15, 2003 10:50 AM
mine only spikes like that when I am topping out at 250mph... I still don't understand why the speedo defaults to that scale, although I now know how to change it ;)
According to my cyclocomputer once I reached 168 mph :-) nmBruno S
May 15, 2003 11:46 AM
I reached 168 mph :- You aren't the fastest,al0
May 15, 2003 12:29 PM
Yoo aren't the fastest, I have reached 499 km/h, according to MY cycling computer. -) nm.
Poor interface...indymac
May 15, 2003 11:46 AM
between the transmitter and your skin if you have ruled out electrical interference...
Stop using it, Right Now. !!!!!!!MR_GRUMPY
May 15, 2003 12:05 PM
You must have received one of the defective heart rate monitors that actually force your heart to beat 238 BPM. So far, this has caused the death of 453 Finns, and a few Danes. (Who don't count). You should only use the HRM if you are at least 25 miles away from any electrical transmision lines, because the EMP's are the thing that trigger the unit's malfunction.
re: Problem with HRM, max HR 238, no way!!!al0
May 15, 2003 12:33 PM
This heart rate isn't something impossible, I had have it (to be honest not exactly 238, but 236), measured at laboratory on stationary equipment. In 70s :(

But in your case, I guess, you have radiointerference problem.
WindTarball
May 15, 2003 12:40 PM
Mine does that if it's windy. Somehow the transmition broken by the wind & I get temporary readings around 230-240.
re: Problem with HRM, max HR 238, no way!!!Tim37
May 15, 2003 2:00 PM
Two other possible explanations:
A short run of arrythmia. I've read about a guy who discovered he was in atrial fib via his hrm. Also one of the pros has had runs of tachycardia like that.
More likely the hrm was double counting. Ekg machines can do this. In a thin athlete or one with a large heart is more likely to encounter this.