RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Has the "fun" gone out of RBR???(48 posts)

Has the "fun" gone out of RBR???Dave Hickey
May 15, 2003 9:21 AM
Looking at Dougs post below, there are a lot of regulars that don't post anymore. I'm curious as to why. Are there too many newbie frame/fit questions? or is it something else? I remember the good ole days when we'd have free for all Fridays. There where a lot of jokes and funny pictures posted. I don't see them much anymore. I really like Scott Gores idea of them ride pictures(water shots to be posted on 5/19). IMHO, that's a good idea.
same thing as alwaysDougSloan
May 15, 2003 9:28 AM
There always has been lots of turnover and some diehards. Nothing new. There are a lot fewer flame wars than there used to be. Isn't that a good thing? Maybe people really do enjoy watching them, if not participating?

Doug
I agree, I hate flame wars....Dave Hickey
May 15, 2003 9:35 AM
Maybe because I've been here so long, I rarely see original topics. Doug, don't get me wrong, I really enjoy this site. I guess I'm just thinking out loud.....
Why do you hate Flame Wars, are you a Shimano Lover? (nm)onespeed
May 15, 2003 9:39 AM
Flame Wars are the result of those, you know, campy people. (nm)Mike P
May 15, 2003 9:43 AM
And anyone who thinks Ti is the end all of bike materials. (nm)onespeed
May 15, 2003 9:44 AM
are not (nm)JS Haiku Shop
May 15, 2003 9:46 AM
No, I'm actually more of an DeRosa hater:-)... (nm)Dave Hickey
May 15, 2003 9:43 AM
flame options Lawyer rides too much for chance at wrongfulbigrider
May 15, 2003 9:49 AM
injury claim or
middle aged guy spending waaaaaay to much on a fixed gear?

Ha Ha

Which subject would cause the fastest flame war?
Whatever happened to Spirito?mohair_chair
May 15, 2003 9:56 AM
He was usually the instigator of the Friday free for alls. Some of those almost got way out of hand, as I recall, but it was definitely fun.

I'm sure someone can find some cycling-related partial nudes to post tomorrow! Too bad I won't be here.
cheers bro - im still around :-0Spirito
May 15, 2003 11:23 AM
just a little pre-occupied with other things ....

ciao
you are lurking at www.rearendreviews.com eh?? nmafrican
May 15, 2003 11:27 AM
lurk????? ..... more like live at and inspired by ;-) NmSpirito
May 15, 2003 11:31 AM
Ok, all of you thatMel Erickson
May 15, 2003 12:41 PM
actually tried to look up that site, raise your hand. Yep, it doesn't exist.
Oh my achin' eyes!Mel Erickson
May 15, 2003 11:31 AM
hey, is that porn? nmDougSloan
May 15, 2003 11:35 AM
i would never post porn .... im an artist !!!!!!!!! NmSpirito
May 15, 2003 11:38 AM
Cut him some slack Doug :-)Dave Hickey
May 15, 2003 11:38 AM
It's been over a year since he got a warning from Greg. And besides, that mild for Spirto!
i love you ;-) NmSpirito
May 15, 2003 11:39 AM
it's not that I don't like the photo-but that's borderline nmDougSloan
May 15, 2003 11:42 AM
It's not over the line, just titilating.Mel Erickson
May 15, 2003 12:10 PM
Look, he said titilating.
Noo, that would be 'buttilating' nmrwbadley
May 15, 2003 12:18 PM
cheeky. very cheeky. nmJS Haiku Shop
May 15, 2003 12:20 PM
As I recall from recent posts, it's legal bike wear in Florida (nm)Scot_Gore
May 15, 2003 12:42 PM
over the border, I removed it (nm)gregg
May 15, 2003 3:01 PM
Man, Gregg, you spoiled all of our fun!KG 361
May 15, 2003 3:39 PM
I didn't even get to see it =(
I thought so. nmDougSloan
May 15, 2003 4:03 PM
Give me a break!Mel Erickson
May 15, 2003 8:04 PM
You can go to any beach in California and see the same thing. A guy riding in a thong gets plastered all over the papers and the internet, including this site, and you removed that picture?! I give up!
regardlessDougSloan
May 16, 2003 6:20 AM
Let's assume it's not pornographic or obscene for a moment. Is it appropriate content for this site, which IS about road cycling? I can't think of any legitimate reason for it to be here.

Doug
First of allMel Erickson
May 16, 2003 7:03 AM
We don't have to "assume" it's not pornographic or obscene. It is not, by virtually anyone's definition. Titillating (I seem to be stuck on this word), yes, but pornographic? Hardly!

Secondly it is related to this board. It is simply a response and demonstration by Spirito of his personna on this board. Therefore it is related, especially to a "general" discussion board.

Finally, what does it hurt? Are we so prudish here that the mere appearance of a skantily clad womans buttocks sends us into convulsions? Let it go! Take action if it becomes a problem but one picture or one flame war does not a problem make.

I, for one, found the board much more interesting with the occasional flame or off color photo. Certainly we don't want them to take over the board but where's the balance? It seems the line has been drawn like a noose.

I'm beginning to wonder if this is a Consumer Review or a Consumer Reports web site. I hope it doesn't get sterilized to that extent. It's the diversity that makes this board interesting, not the sameness.
photo analysis and forum policiesDougSloan
May 16, 2003 7:17 AM
If we are getting into the nitty gritty here, recall that the photo was not merely of the woman's butt, but graphically revealed the details of her, let's say, "under parts."

Part of the problem also is the "give them an inch" issue. Some of this is allowed, and before you know it people push the envelope and it gets bad enough to run people off who are offended or don't want the site seen by their 12 year olds or at work. Let me ask you this, would you be a little embarrassed if that photo were displayed on your work computer and your boss walked in? Let's say your boss is a woman -- that's a fair standard, isn't it? -- particularly in light of the fact that that is reality for many of us. We shouldn't have to be prepared to switch screens in a panic so that we don't get in trouble at work, or at home.

There is plenty of room for diversity and entertainment here without pushing it too far. I think you are exaggerating the effects of whatever limits there are.

Doug
No, I would not want it displayed at workMel Erickson
May 16, 2003 8:08 AM
but that's not the point. I wear a tie to work and don't allow my employees to wear shorts. It's decorum because it's a work place. Even viewing this site while at work is a no-no in most situations. I'd shut it down if my boss walked in regardless of what's on the screen. Doesn't change the fact that it's not pornographic. BTW, I didn't notice the "parts" you were referring to, no more so than a suit that covered the butt. I don't think I'm exaggerating at all. This site has gotten significantly more prudish in the last six months and I don't like it. Just my humble opinion.
I'm with you Mel.Dave Hickey
May 16, 2003 8:34 AM
You've summed up the whole reason behind my original post. I too believe things have gotten out of hand. I'm not looking for porn on this website but that picture was hardly over the line. Spirito's picture was in response to a question as to where he's been. Granted it was tongue and cheek, but it was relevant to the topic being discussed. When a PG13 picture came up in the past, someone would simply put a simple warning in the header, "Warning, PG13, do not open at work." IMHO, It would be a great loss if people such as Spirito no longer posted.
no!!! according to rio de janeiro's habits, it's good taste.nm..colker
May 15, 2003 1:11 PM
nm
making new friends... congratulations.colker
May 15, 2003 1:05 PM
she is beautifull. wow! i'm inspired.. that picture. did you take it? excellent.
Just that time of yearLC
May 15, 2003 9:56 AM
The beginning of every bike season and time to get that New Years resolution finally underway.

I think it is a shame we put a halt to the old wars like Shimano vs Campy. Some of it was entertaining and as with any subject you always have the option to bypass it if your not interested.

For me, I post when I have time and interest.
nicer weather = more cyclists out ridingtarwheel
May 15, 2003 9:59 AM
I'm spending a lot less time on-line, and more time riding, with the nicer spring weather. I try to stay away from the flame wars and debates over which $2000-3000 frame is better.
I'd be interested to know if the web site's traffice is stilleyebob
May 15, 2003 10:23 AM
the same. I bet that it's multi-factorial, but my sense is that this isn't the same sort of site as it was 2 years ago when I started lurking.

BT
I spend most my time overOldEdScott
May 15, 2003 10:17 AM
in non-cycling discussions these days because so much of what is posted here is repetitive. I scroll down the board and find only two or three threads highlighted in red, showing I've read them.

No criticism at all. People come and go and that's the way it's going to be. But I just can't get it up for the 3000th iteration of fit clinics and the best bike for newby and the steel vs alu vs cf et al.

That said, every once in awhile something comes up and I really learn something, so it's worth it. The Components board is especially valuable in that light.

Oh well, back to bashing those poor hapless conservative Repubs over in non-cycling ...
Hahahaha...and THAT'S not repetitive, you Trotskyite!!! nmJon Billheimer
May 15, 2003 10:20 AM
Sigh. It's our cross to bear, Jon. nmOldEdScott
May 15, 2003 10:42 AM
OK, old feller, and that's different thansn69
May 15, 2003 12:17 PM
you and Steam going at it how?! Granted, the main board has become far less colorful since the lamented departure of our dear Radical Ron and Environmentally Conscious Eugene, and somewhat muted since Lazy put away his flamethrower. Nonetheless, the policitcal bantering over there, while only slightly more intellectually stimulating than this board's repetitive fit/Shimano/Campy/Lance/Litespeed temporal causality loop, is still rather repetitive in and of itself.

That said, I willingly admit that I spend far more time over there, and the mood is less meloncholoy since the bulk of the war ended. I moped perhaps more than anyone.

Still, the other board can be summarized as such:
OlEd: I'm old.
Steam: I'm conservative. ;O)
Doug: Shut up or I'll sue you and remove your post.
SN69: When can I go fly again?
LAV25: You're not really in the Navy.
Jon: Celine is my goddess.
Kristin: Can we discuss the spiritual ramifications of that last statement?
OlEd: You're all daft, except for Jon, except when he talks about Celine.
Mohair: Gawd you people are goofy.
Eyebob: I agree.
Dale: Silly seppos.
JS: Anyone want to see photos of my goatee?
Alp: No, you damned computer nerd.
Czar: That's niether nice nor actualized, you conservative Nazi.
PaulCL: Hey, don't pick on him you doggon tree huggin Bay Area hippie.
Sacheson: Watch it, neo-con, lest we give you more bad bike buying advice.
ColnagoFE: Yeah boyeee.
$$: $$
128: I'm sick of this; I'm going to go listen to old Black Flag vinyl.
Mickey-M: Me too, can I come over? I'll bring the beer.
Ed: I'm still old, you're all still daft, and the only real liquor is bourbon.
Spirito: Lick her, I hardly know her.
...Meanwhile Walrus, Spoke, TJ and Sintesi are out riding....

Sorry if I missed anyone. Now for the real dilema; do I drool over Spirito's picture post or do I drool over MB1's awesome new rig?!
For gawd's sake, wear a bib!The Walrus
May 15, 2003 4:55 PM
Do your drooling over MB1's Rambouillet--that is such a sweet rig (except for the Brooks...)

i Great
characterization of the non-cycling board, BTW.
For gawd's sake, wear a bib!sn69
May 15, 2003 5:34 PM
Made me laugh writing it.

Yeah, that Rambo is terrific. I've been tormenting myself between one of those, a Heron, a Lyon from Gary V or an older B'Stone from Ebay. This might swing the vote.
Want some 'fun'? I know, let's all go...rwbadley
May 15, 2003 12:16 PM
over to the Serotta or Calfee owners forum and rattle their cage. ;-)

It's like anything else really, fun is where you find it.

Now that we have a new moderator, it's a lot tougher to get away with any 'fun' (poke poke nudge nudge wink wink)

RW
Take heart! It must be nearly time for Nick to come home...The Walrus
May 15, 2003 1:46 PM
...and then we'll have all the fun we can stand.
DAMMIT TO HELLfunknuggets
May 16, 2003 10:43 AM
man, I miss one day on this board and I miss a "titilating" pic and MB1's new ride. Oh the humanity...

I think I need to work on some type of application that will automatically page my cell phone or pager when something interesting pops up on the board. Where can one view this picture that is causing all the commotion? I just want to see how far south this board has gone...

so sayeth the funk.
Chris
What's your email, I'll send it to you. nmMel Erickson
May 16, 2003 2:04 PM