RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


why is EVERYTHING associated w/cycling SO $$$$$$$$$$??(30 posts)

why is EVERYTHING associated w/cycling SO $$$$$$$$$$??stik__boy
May 14, 2003 6:10 PM
i mean, come on......$180 + for a work stand?!?!?! $200 bibs???? $$230 "windbreakers" ??? $50 tires?? $200 seats?? sometimes i think its out of line. frame prices!!! jeez. carbon fiber has to be one of the cheapest materials to make a frame out of in the world!!!! (i know, i know--- its in the tooling; but how long do you think it takes to pay for that at $2500 a frame!!!) any opinions on this????
My $35 answer..........african
May 14, 2003 6:24 PM
It is all in economics. Where do I send the bill?
i understand. BUT-stik__boy
May 14, 2003 6:37 PM
look at what you're getting for your dollar. to us, it doesnt seem ridiculous that people have 3-4-or five thousand dollar bikes. many of us more than one. but to the non-cyclist it seems ludicrous. and if you REALLY look at it; it is!!!! i love cycling, but come on. now of course some of us have in bikes and gear what families could live off of for a year in third world countries, so its all a perspective thing.... but are we being treated like well healed european, ferrari owning, f-1 driver wannabes???? is riding a bicycle such an elite activity that you cant be an enthusiast- i.e, your own maintenance, complete gear, etc for under 5 g's? i mean, damn..... (sorry, just ranting- got new excel catalog, and prices sometimes just strike me as absurd.)
Look at other activities....slide13
May 14, 2003 8:42 PM
What about the fisherman who has the nice bass boat. Or the motorcycle rider with the new Harley Davidson Fatboy. Or how about the people who have a good chunk tied up in snowmobiles that use them maybe 3 months a year. Do you know any paintball players? Sure the guns usually cost less then $1500, but they will often spend $100 a day to play!

Comparitivly cycling is fairly inexpensive and offers a lot more benifit to the user then most of those others.
again, it's all relative.Steve_0
May 15, 2003 3:36 AM
The fisherman on that nice bass boat is often fishing across from an 'ol-timer in hip-waders with his 50 year-old fly rod.

Likewise with the grizz'd old rider on his 1970 cb650.

I consider both of these types to be more hardcore than the yupppies with the bassboats and the HDs.

I dont think one can say cycling is comparitively inexpensive. For heavens sake, many people on this board paid more for their bicycle frame than I did for my yamaha xj600.

One CAN say that in any activity, it can be as expensive as you (foolishly?) choose it to be.

As far as paintball, cant comment. I never understood that one.
Exactly-- Why do dogs lick their balls?miposy
May 15, 2003 9:47 AM
Because they can.
Very Simple... because people will pay for it... (nm)MrDan
May 14, 2003 6:47 PM
oh and ...MrDan
May 14, 2003 6:50 PM
I wonder if cyclists are realizing that they are now paying the sam for their bicycle tires as their car tires... which
are engineered and regulated by the DOT. Bike tires... er
pure profit on maybe $1.00 in materials, maybe the same in labor...
THATS what im saying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (NM)stik__boy
May 14, 2003 6:58 PM
Rated Vfiltersweep
May 15, 2003 5:25 AM
My tires for my car are $200+ so that isn't always the case. I needed to purchase a new ONE and wanted them to all match... and had quite a wakeup call. V-rated have virtually no warranty either (which is always ironic, since they are usually the most expensive). These are for a car- not some monster truck...BTW.

We won't even compare what a auto mechanic makes hourly compared to a bike wrench ;)
But what are we going to do?Kristin
May 15, 2003 8:01 AM
Stop buying bike tires? That'll ruin a $200 rim in a hurry. We can only buy what they make and sell. Personally, I get my tires on clearance at Performance. $20/pair.
re: what are we going to do...?MrDan
May 15, 2003 10:08 AM
We have to wait unitl it get's too expensive, and then people stop buying, and then they lower the prices...

The nature of things...
-D
We have met the enemy, and he is us.MR_GRUMPY
May 14, 2003 6:58 PM
As long as there are people who will pay $3500 for a frame, there will be people who make $3500 frames. If you think that you have to have a $5000 bike and you don't have $5000 in disposable income, you have a choise. Compromise, or be a sucker. If you do have the $5000 in disposable income, what better, to spend it on. You're happy, the bike shop is happy, the manufacturer is happy, and the people who work there are happy.
wife is never happy (nm)52-16SS
May 14, 2003 7:19 PM
Can't almost any hobby enthusiast say the same thingScot_Gore
May 14, 2003 7:48 PM
Why is stamp collecting so expensive....they're only 37 cents now
Why is fishing so expensive....my grampa made his own equipment in his basement
Why's my cable TV so expensive....it's operating in the public domain
Why's wine so expensive......after all it really does grow on trees

The list goes on and on. What recreational pursuit can you engage in to the same degree as your interest in cycling and not reach a point where the cost begins to seem unreasonable.

Also, it's not everything in cycling that's expensive. My wife's a cyclist, she's on a 10 year old $299.00 comfort bike, she has no bibs, no workstand, no tools, and is perfectly happy with her place and investment level in her hobby of cycling.

As others have said, it's all about economics. I suspect that your interest (demand) in this hobby has brought you to the outer (upper) eschelon of prices as much as the manufacturers placement of goods for sale (supply).

my two cents

Scot
close. its my interests in many hobbies that hurts the $$$$NMstik__boy
May 14, 2003 7:52 PM
Sure, butMel Erickson
May 14, 2003 8:22 PM
You can pick the extremes and it seems ridiculous. There are many less costly alternatives. $60 stands, $45 bibs, $35 windbreakers, $15 tires, $20 seats, $800 carbon frames (or $150 Al frames).

I've recently (within the last year, most within the last 2 months) bought all these except the stand and frame for those prices. Voler bibs, Canari windbreaker (REI), Panaracer Stradius Pro tires ($60 for 4 @ Cambria), WTB SST saddle with Ti rails (Universal Cycles). Just recently Nashbar had the Minoura RSX workstand for around $60 and Excel Sports has the Look KG361 frame for $800 right now. Just a little bit of looking gets high quality goods at much lower prices than you quoted. All of the items I mentioned are, at the very least, quite serviceable and most of them are top quality, high end stuff. I'm sure better prices can be had for very good stuff that isn't quite the quality but give you 90% of top of the line goods. There's crazy prices in every catagory of goods from gourmet foods to clothes to cars. Cycle goods are no exception but you don't have to buy into it. I just put a very nice one speed together using an old frame and parts lying around for $245 (including new powder coat and a $70 Salsa stem). I'll probably have this bike 10 years from now, considering I originally picked up the frame at a police auction 25 years ago. With the advent of the internet I submit cycling is more affordable now than 10 years ago.
becuz of your 10, or cyclings 10 years......???stik__boy
May 14, 2003 8:45 PM
is it more affordable cuz you make more now 10 years later, or becuz its actually more affordable??? i think (as with any hobby) more is available to us. 10 years ago i dont even think you could get team kit stuff very readily. now if we cant purchase Lances's bike, jersey and helmet a month after it debuts we're like "wtf?"---------my wife, the loving wife that she is..... works for the u.s largest bike mfg---- yes; the monsters-- TREK, so that makes it hurt a little less. but still, looking at some of this stuff its amazing. i agree there are alternatives though.
Nope, better stuff for less moneyMel Erickson
May 15, 2003 5:32 AM
Ebay, online companies, search engines (try www.froogle.com), this site, chat rooms, discussion boards. It's now easier to find out where the best deals are. 10 years ago my only choices would have been LBS, Nashbar and Performance (catalog only, no www). Competition for my dollar was not as fierce. No way would I have gotten a WTB Ti rail saddle for $20 (were Ti rail saddles even available then?). Nope, it's a good time to be alive and bicycling IMHO.
you can buy a complete bike at Target for $125.00...Bruno S
May 14, 2003 9:03 PM
As with any sport that requires equipment road cycling is expensive. Not only starting out can be very expensive but then the equipment has to be maintained (new tires, clothes, cleats, etc.) and fees have to be payed (club, rides, races, etc). In my workout log I write down how much money I spend each month (about $100 on average).

It can get very expensive if you start buying high end stuff that most of the time is produced in very low volumes and imported. There is a diminishing returns relation between price of equipment and performace e.g. a $35 seat will give you 90% of the perfomance, a $100 seat 96% and a $200 seat 100%. You have to decide what you really need. A bicycle that is more expensive than $1700.00 it's very difficult to justify in terms of performance alone (unless you are a high cat racer).
Not EVERYTHING.elviento
May 14, 2003 9:12 PM
If you shop around a little for sales and dont' have your eyes fixed on top end Italian stuff, then it may not cost that much.

A Shimano 105 bike around $900 (Didn't Coloradocyclist have GT Lotto 105 bikes on sale for $750?). Some cheap shorts and jerseys $60 a set. A cheap helmet is $30 and some $60 shoes from Nashbar/Performance, etc. and you are good to go.
I agree. Not EVERYTHINGclintb
May 14, 2003 9:46 PM
Not everything has to be expensive. I look for the sales and jump on the bargains whether or not I need it at the moment. Case in point. I purchased six Hutchinson Carbon Comp 700x23's for $15.50/ea. That was sometime last year and I've only gone through one so far. I also took advantage of the 20% Performance sale and my Team points to save a bunch of money. I got a nice Zoic wind vest for something like <$20 and picked up some Dura-Ace parts that were already on sale. I also used that sale to get some Smartwool socks and LG gloves. I usually do the same for jersey and bibs from Performance at the end of the season.

Just be patient in your purchases and hunt for the deals.
none of which is 'necessary'.Steve_0
May 15, 2003 3:27 AM
Ive been an avid cyclist for about 15 years. I've gotten by just fine without a workstand. or bibs. I own two pair of shorts, which i typically only use for racing. Windbreakers? My running gortex does double-duty. Dont have running gear? Kmart has windbreakers for 20 bucks. The best seats availble (IMO) cost between 65 and 80 bucks (brooks). Tires? comon.

I've probably spent 500 buck in equipment the last 10 years. Cycling is only expensive if you MAKE it expensive.
Most gung-ho racer wannabes WANT to make it expensive.
because most of us are shameless gear whoreslonefrontranger
May 15, 2003 5:15 AM
with apologies to shamelessgearwhore, of course.

People will pay for the latest/greatest/coolest/lightest bits. Face it, there are a lot of gear geeks in the industry and consumer market. They happily keep prices inflated.

You also pay quite a bit for the R&D that goes into this stuff. Sure it's cheap plastic / ti / Al / carbon / whatever bits, but it's how it's put together effectively and aesthetically that matters.

... from a shameless Campag Record user
All sports are getting better, more specialized and expensiveMaartin
May 15, 2003 5:44 AM
Try kayaking, skiing, climbing, golf, tennis, boating, hunting, even running and the gear is better than ever and getting expensive.
re: why is EVERYTHING associated w/cycling SO $$$$$$$$$$??MWM
May 15, 2003 6:09 AM
It doesn't have to be expensive unless you let it. I bought a decent road bike last year for $35. It's an '80s lugged Schwinn with 105 all around. I've seen similar bikes for around $100 at garage sales. I prefer $30 Trek Club shorts to my expensive Louis Garneau's (the pad on the LG's is way too thick). I usually wear a t-shirt - not a jersey. I bought shoes direct from Specialized only after my LBS had none near my size. Closeout price was $19 as I recall. I was shocked at my good fortune there.

On the other hand this year I dropped a lot of money on an expensive hybrid. It was my choice to spend the cash even though I already had 3 other rides. It's up to the buyer as far as how much you want to spend.
BECAUSE THEY CAN!!..............................................davet
May 15, 2003 7:00 AM
Invariant Cosmic LawJon Billheimer
May 15, 2003 7:49 AM
This one's as universal as Newton's Laws of Motion: If it's fun it's expensive. Goes for bikes, sex, drugs, whatever. So pick your poison!

Pulitzer Prize winning phrase of the day: LFR's "shameless bikegearwhore"! Gotta luv it!

And speaking of old, hardcore types riding ancient machines. A friend of mine who raced pro in Europe in the early fifties (w/Bartoli btw) still races occasionally on an old steel frame that he rode on back then. The handlebar is vintage 1952! Can't remember the brand name of the frame, but all the really old guys "ooh" and "ah" when Heinz shows up on it!
re: why is EVERYTHING associated w/cycling SO $$$$$$$$$$??cjwill
May 15, 2003 8:01 AM
You tihnk that cycling is $$$$$$ Try Paintball.
basic equipt.
mask $ 160
jersey $ 65 (just can't have one)
Paints $ 120 (just can have one pair)
gloves $ 65 (you will go through 3 pair in a season)
shoes $ 90-100 (good reliable pair-per season)
Paintball marker $ 900.00 to $2,500 and you will switch markers every other year.

ohhhh yah Paint/Amio from 65 to 85 per box and I use about 2 or more per tourney. (back player)

so cycling is not that $$$$$ in comparison.

CYCLING

jersey $60
shorts $60
shoes $200
bike $2,200
camelback $45
re: why is EVERYTHING associated w/cycling SO $$$$$$$$$$??mackgoo
May 15, 2003 8:30 PM
Because you live in a litigous society gone mad. Check out the price's in Europe.