RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which Tires - Mich Hi-Lite or Hutchinson Carbon Comp(13 posts)

Which Tires - Mich Hi-Lite or Hutchinson Carbon Comprwebb
May 13, 2003 4:22 PM
Which tire is best all-around for general group rides, etc...??
I like the Hi Lite Prestige...Lon Norder
May 13, 2003 4:32 PM
Performance has them on sale periodically:

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/Profile.cfm?SKU=11968&Store=Bike

They ride alot like the Axial Pros, but are cheaper and don't seem to collect as much glass. Tire life is OK, but not great. Haven't tried the Hutchinsons.
Have about 200 miles on a pair of Hutchinson Carbon CompsTNSquared
May 13, 2003 6:07 PM
Which doesn't let me comment on durability, but so far so good. Definitely like them better than the Bontragers that came on my bike.

If you can stand red stripes, Performance has the Hutchinsons on sale for $19.99, which actually is why I decided to try them. That's a great price considering they are normally around $45. With shipping, basically a two for one price.
m2¢: Panaracer Stradius Procoonass
May 13, 2003 6:23 PM
2nd that. Great tires-and cheap, too. nmKG 361
May 13, 2003 6:30 PM
3rd that. Panaracer= good+cheap nmrwbadley
May 13, 2003 7:44 PM
4th that. Stradius Pro and Stradius Elite. nmMel Erickson
May 14, 2003 6:20 AM
re: Which Tires - Mich Hi-Lite or Hutchinson Carbon Compaliensporebomb
May 13, 2003 8:02 PM
My TCR came with Hutchinson Carbon Comps on it and the rear
one got slashed about 300 miles into them, but it was due to
a failed teenage vandalism attempt.

The other one is at about 1160 miles. No problems, tread
looks good.

The one with the cut in it a friend who works at a LBS looked
at it and said that if I super-glued the cut (it wasn't big
but I guess I was being anal) it would be good to ride on
since it was nearly new when it happened and the cut wasn't
bad enough to stop riding on it.

So I'll probably put that one back on at some point.
Read the reviews on the Carbon CompsMcAndrus
May 14, 2003 4:53 AM
Read the reviews on the Carbon Comps. They don't rate very well.
re: Which Tires - Mich Hi-Lite or Hutchinson Carbon Comptarwheel
May 14, 2003 4:57 AM
I haven't tried any Hutchinson tires, but have had good experiences with the Michi Hi-Lite Prestige. I've been getting about 2000 miles on the rear tires with Hi-Lites, and they seem to handle comparable to Axial Pros. The only negative is the red sidewalls if that bothers you. I would rather just have basic black in my tires, but at $18-20 per tire the Hi-Lites are hard to resist. I also have used Panaracer Stradius Pros with good results, although they don't seem to last quite as long as the Hi-Lites. Nice handling tires though, and they are available in black. I got some recently at REI for $25 and that was the regular retail price.
I like Hutchinson, butjw25
May 14, 2003 5:10 AM
in this case, I'd have to steer you away from the Carbon Comps. Haven't used them, but based on many reviews, they seem too fragile for everyday use.
I have ridden a pair of Reflex Golds, which were billed as fast training tires. The rear got a 15mm cut straight across the tread about 500 miles in. No idea what caused it, and it didn't penetrate the casing, but I could see fabric. Didn't trust it, as a cut like that will pick up debris in a heartbeat, but I still have the front. They were fast and sticky while they lasted, but I wouldn't put them high on the durability scale.
On the other hand, I've taken an older set of Prestiges (the skinwall, not blackwall - talk about an ugly tire) through broken glass, gravel, potholes, and they don't complain. I've gotten a few little nicks in the tread, but they're shallow and small. I did manage to wear one out, on a trainer, but it took me all winter, as well as a years' worth of riding on the road. The front is still going strong, as they tend to.
I've also ridden Stradius Pros, and they're very nice - stickier than the Prestiges, more durable than the Carbons, you can pump them to 150 psi, if you must, but 100 is nice and smooth. I've only got a few hundred miles on the pair, but the rear still has a molding line down the center, so wear should be excellent.
Another good option is the Vittoria Rubino Pro. The pro is 120 tpi, while the wire bead is 60. I prefer the pro model, and it's lighter, to boot. You can usually find them for $40 a pair on the web. They use a hard tread compound, but it sticks in the corners well, and resists cuts very well.
And yes, I am a tire junky.
re: Which Tires - Mich Hi-Lite or Hutchinson Carbon Compclintb
May 14, 2003 5:30 AM
I've had no problems with my Carbon Comp's that came on my TCR zero. In fact, I got another 6 for $15.50/ea some time ago. The only thing you have to watch out for is using too much pressure as it'll prematurely wear the rear. I got about 1000mi on a rear running it at 125psi, but am now at about 1100mi on a *new* one with hardly any wear at 110psi.
Buy whatever is on sale - Most major supplier tires are greatMaartin
May 14, 2003 7:27 AM
Really.the last few years I have bought whatever is on sale from the major suppliers and have been satisfied. The latest products by Michelin, Hutchinson, Continental etc are at such a very high standard that in a blind test I doubt you could tell the difference between them.